Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Release notes for Servoy betas

Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby svroemisse » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:19 pm

We are pleased to announce the immediate availability of Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3.

Make a backup of your current Servoy installation (directory and database) before installing.

This version is available through the download page on the Servoy website (developer section). This version will also be available through auto update shortly.

Changes
[new] edit container relation support (self join with all siblings = relation to same table without keys) this allows to pass foundsets over tabpanels in a related way
[new] make saving of a single record possible through databaseManager.saveData(...) during autosave disabled, it's possible to save a specific record
[new] databaseManager.nullColumnValidatorEnabled = false or true (disabeld/enabled the default null check, null check could influence business logic in an unwanted way while autosave is disabled)
[new] anchoring works in web client as seen in smart client

[enh] added 'Show Form Designer' pop-up menu to the javascript editor
[enh] case 151921: developer 4 sometimes starts too fast while the database is still initializing. we added a property "waitForNativeStartup" if set to true it will wait for the native startup process to finish execution before continuing to start developer
[enh] case 163057: Serclipse: color and font chooser not available on stylesheet editors
[enh] case 165250: remember the size of the I18N editor window
[enh] case 165822: sequence names are not allowed to be longer than 30 characters, now a warning is given instead

[fix] for blank debug client on mac when globals.js is open at startup and beans are used in scripting
[fix] for headless client running from Eclipse
[fix] case 158737: unwanted beep when selecting tablecolumns
[fix] case 160397: added confirm dialog for 'remove column'
[fix] case 161655: unresolved onDataChange event on a field doesn't result in a warning marker, whereas -unresolved- for the onAction of a field does
[fix] case 164758: Headless Client doesn't work, throws RuntimeExceptions in developer
[fix] case 165117: non-Servoy projects in workspace to which by accident a Servoy nature was assigned keeps generating problems
[fix] case 165623: databaseManager.getServerNames() didn't return all servers in developer
[fix] case 165964: I18N editor button fails silently when no I18N server/table has been defined, dialog added
[fix] case 166184: Serclipse: CodeCompletion improved
[fix] case 166564: checkboxes of selected solutions in modules selection dialog not selected

Known issues
- non-editable date field can be changed via calendar
- switching workspaces occasionally hangs developer

Changes in previous release
Servoy 4.1.0 beta 2
Sandor Vroemisse
Servoy
User avatar
svroemisse
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:10 pm

svroemisse wrote:[new] anchoring works in web client as seen in smart client


Awesome :!:
I can't wait to see this in action :D
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:47 pm

Eh, is it me or does the table editor no longer give us the ability to access the Details/Auto-Enter/Validation/Conversion tab when selecting a column.
Up to version 4.1b2 the column table grid came halfway the tab panel and showed the aforementioned tab panel when a row was selected. Now the table grid fills the whole tab.
Makes it very hard to set db sequence names for instance.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby svroemisse » Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:33 am

ROCLASI wrote:Up to version 4.1b2 the column table grid came halfway the tab panel and showed the aforementioned tab panel when a row was selected. Now the table grid fills the whole tab.[

It works for me. Can you show us the classical first three lines from the smart client Help->About dialog on your machine?
Sandor Vroemisse
Servoy
User avatar
svroemisse
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby Harjo » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:06 am

[new] anchoring works in web client as seen in smart client


Can you explain, what works? I tried a simple label with an background image (reduce & enlarge) but that does not work in webclient! :-(
I tried with fields in tableviews etc.. but also not working.
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby rgansevles » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:35 am

ROCLASI wrote:Eh, is it me or does the table editor no longer give us the ability to access the Details/Auto-Enter/Validation/Conversion tab when selecting a column.
Up to version 4.1b2 the column table grid came halfway the tab panel and showed the aforementioned tab panel when a row was selected. Now the table grid fills the whole tab.
Makes it very hard to set db sequence names for instance.

Robert,

Clicking on a column in the table should make the tabs visible.

Rob
Rob Gansevles
Servoy
User avatar
rgansevles
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:46 am

Hi Rob,

This is my version:
Version 4.1.0 b3-build 642
Java version 1.5.0_16-133 (Mac OS X)

Seems when I select a column and resize the tab in some way (in that specific order) then suddenly the tabs become visible:
Attachments
before_resize.png
Before resizing and column selected
before_resize.png (31.08 KiB) Viewed 4839 times
after_resize.png
After resizing it (and returning to original size)
after_resize.png (41.26 KiB) Viewed 4838 times
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby Harjo » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:20 am

Harjo wrote:
[new] anchoring works in web client as seen in smart client


Can you explain, what works? I tried a simple label with an background image (reduce & enlarge) but that does not work in webclient! :-(
I tried with fields in tableviews etc.. but also not working.


oke, I have created 3 cases, with all kind of issues I have with anchoring in webclient. ;-)
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:20 am

Hi Harjo,

Harjo wrote:
[new] anchoring works in web client as seen in smart client


Can you explain, what works? I tried a simple label with an background image (reduce & enlarge) but that does not work in webclient! :-(
I tried with fields in tableviews etc.. but also not working.


Seems the label does anchor correctly but the image doesn't resize. Just add a border around it and you see what happens.
Also in my brief testing I've noticed that using a header or title header form part wreak havoc in the layout of the header objects. They suddenly are anchored from their position to the bottom of the window (even without having any anchors set :!:).
Again you can witness this behavior by setting the border property (to Line for instance).

Fields do anchor correctly in record view but they don't in table view. But they don't anchor in table view for me in Rich client either (Mac OS X).
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby Harjo » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:41 am

that was exactly what I saw too!
I have filed those cases now.

but I have to say, if they can fix it, it looks VERY promising! :-)
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4269
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby lvostinar » Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:33 pm

I can't reproduce the problem with table editor on mac. When I select a column the tabs show up all the time. Can you give some more details about this problem ?
Laurian Vostinar
Servoy
lvostinar
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:53 am

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:48 pm

Hi Laurian,

I reinstalled 4.1b3 again in a separate directory but using the same workspace and I get the same result.
Then I reinstalled 4.1b3 again in a separate directory but now using a new workspace and see the same thing BUT now resizing doesn't help. So it actually goes from bad to worse :?
Tried the last thing twice with the same result.

This is what I do:
- install 4.1b3 in a new directory using a new workspace
- open developer
- create a new server connection, save it
- restart developer
- select server connection and double click a table to open the table editor.
- grid already uses the whole view which is different from 4.1b2 and below
- select column and nothing happens.
- resize the view and still nothing happens

Mac OS X 10.5.5 (Intel)
Java version 1.5.0_16-133
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:04 pm

Hi Laurian,

Okay I am stupid. I need to view the table in the context of a solution. When I do that then the resize does work.
So the steps are this:
- install 4.1b3 in a new directory using a new workspace
- open developer
- create a new server connection, save it
- restart developer
- create a solution and a new form using a table of the server connection
- jump to the table editor using the form property 'table'
- grid already uses the whole view which is different from 4.1b2 and below
- select column and nothing happens.
- resize the view and the grid resizes and tabpanel appears
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby lvostinar » Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:26 pm

Hi Robert,

ROCLASI wrote:Hi Laurian,

Okay I am stupid. I need to view the table in the context of a solution. When I do that then the resize does work.
So the steps are this:
- install 4.1b3 in a new directory using a new workspace
- open developer
- create a new server connection, save it
- restart developer
- create a solution and a new form using a table of the server connection
- jump to the table editor using the form property 'table'
- grid already uses the whole view which is different from 4.1b2 and below
- select column and nothing happens.
- resize the view and the grid resizes and tabpanel appears


Still could not reproduce this issue. Please add a case and we will further investigate it. The only case when a column is selected and tabs should be invisible is when the column has no column info.

Laurian
Laurian Vostinar
Servoy
lvostinar
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:53 am

Re: Servoy 4.1.0 beta 3

Postby ROCLASI » Wed Oct 22, 2008 5:00 pm

Hi Laurian,

I created case #168452 for this.

I found another thing. When I have the Eclipse window small (default window size) so that the table editor will get scroll bars when the tab panel shows then it works as advertised. Select then column and the tab panel shows.
But I use a 23" screen and maximize Eclipse to use all of that and the tab panel doesn't show when I select a column. It does only when I resize the table editor view.
So perhaps you use a smaller resolution screen and that's the reason you can't reproduce it ?
Try maximizing the view and then select a column.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Next

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest