Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Release notes for Servoy betas

Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby Jan Blok » Mon Jul 11, 2011 2:57 pm

We are pleased to announce the immediate availability of Servoy 6.0 release candidate 3.

This version is available through the download option on the Servoy website and auto update.
Always make a backup of your current Servoy installation (directory and database) before installing/upgrading.
To update a Servoy eclipse open Check for updates via help menu.

For all the highlights read the wiki and also read rc3 specific.

Client Changes
[fix] 395862 setI18NMessagesFilter filters all i18n-records away that don't apply to the filter, also the default values.
[fix] 396017 Custom valuelist isn't filled correctly on RC2
[fix] 396556 Multiple windows limit
[fix] 396169 onRender event not working well in Smart Client

WebClient Changes
[fix] 397976 CSS stly for form and portal 'selected' not working
[fix] 398323 controller.getWindow() behaves differently in WebClient and SmartClient
[fix] 398183 for attribute of labels in WebClient markup uses long UUID identifiers when all other markup uses short ID's
[fix] 398184 mnemonic property of labels are not set as the accesskey attribute on labels in the webclient
[fix] 395269 controller.readOnly = true doesn't work in WebClient
[fix] 395535 controller.getFormwidth (in a dialog window) in WebClient
[fix] 396558 concurrent exception in the log
[fix] 395182 stylesheet on table headers put border around text instead of around label
[fix] 396355 < br > tags in HTMLAREA in webclient are shown to big since Servoy 6
[fix] 382438 The image on labels is aligned always to the left
[fix] 399343 WebClient labels with images alignment issues
[fix] 396356 html editor in webclient does not create html and head tags
[fix] 398804 Border width set through CSS not properly applied anymore to TableView cells in the WebClient
[fix] 399643 WebClient tabpanel header label text not completely shown on click

Developer Changes
[fix] 389277 BuildPath Source Excluded modifications lost after restarting developer
[fix] 394076 Shortcut method and form element data value
[fix] 395157 utils.stringReplaceTags doesn't work on form variables
[fix] 354317 Quitting developer hangs when stopped in a breakpoint
[fix] 396101 Export using Runtime builder gives out of memory error
[fix] 395675 Form editor: Label and button should be on top of elements in palette, they are not visible by default.
[fix] 199503 Table editor, create/save column with sql reserved word name results in the creation of a 'type_here' column
[fix] 396335 part <not Init> (OVERRIDE) coming up, where you cannot get rid of
[fix] 395596 Group option in Form Editor is available on a single selection of a Group object, both the Group option in the Tollbar as well as in the Context menu
[fix] 389108 Hide the 'Run as' and 'Debug as' menuitems in the Context menu of the Script Editor, as they are not functional
[fix] 142850 Using Eclipse's Project References to link modules to the solutions, so it becomes possible to search within a solution, including it's modules
[fix] 399794 Cannot use object in inline xml
[fix] 395991 Form Editor: Link with editor doesn't work on element selection
[fix] 398159 Corrupted medias.obj file causes empty solution explorer

Application Server Changes
[fix] 396334 Minimal java version as property on config page
[fix] 396344 Wrong before_import sequence for sample data
[fix] 397451 import create wrong column type in ms-sql 2005
[fix] 398034 Slow data access with compound PK
[fix] 398934 createDataSource causes error if there are dates in the dataset

Plugins Changes
[fix] 396286 plugins.file.showFileOpenDialog displays strange label
[fix] 377022 Rename the 'Re-open Form Editors at startup' preference
[fix] 397928 Inconsistency in file plugin: .getDesktopFolder() and .getHomeDirectory()
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby Jan Blok » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:58 am

We disovered a problem with vertical text alignment on buttons, this will be addressed in RC4
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby studiomiazzo » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:01 pm

hi we got a lot of problems while displaying our forms in webclient.
in particular we have problems with labels, tabpanel and buttons.
we hope rc4 will be out soon cause application is almost unusable.
User avatar
studiomiazzo
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:48 am
Location: Novara (IT)

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jasantana » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:17 pm

After upgrading RC3 I have many errors because two modules in one solution have some duplicated medias. It did not happen in RC2.
Best regards,
Juan Antonio Santana Medina
[email protected]
EAGER BEAVER 2011
EAGER BEAVER 2012
Servoy 6.x - Servoy 7.x - Servoy 8.x - MySQL - PostgreSQL - Visual Foxpro 9
User avatar
jasantana
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Leeds - West Yorkshire - United Kingdom

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jcompagner » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:58 pm

jasantana wrote:After upgrading RC3 I have many errors because two modules in one solution have some duplicated medias. It did not happen in RC2.


yes and you just need to fix that. Because those are what it say they are, duplicates so 1 name could point to different images, so which one you think you will have?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7974
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby Jan Blok » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:02 pm

studiomiazzo wrote:hi we got a lot of problems while displaying our forms in webclient.
in particular we have problems with labels, tabpanel and buttons.
we hope rc4 will be out soon cause application is almost unusable.

You are referring to visual problems as I described for buttons?
Because we are not aware of other problems, if something else please file a support case.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jasantana » Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:15 pm

jcompagner wrote:yes and you just need to fix that. Because those are what it say they are, duplicates so 1 name could point to different images, so which one you think you will have?


OK Johan I understand that, but those modules are both in this solution and at the same time one is a module of another solution and the other is a module of another solution. I need to keep those medias in both modules because of that. I thought that the media name was solutionName.mediaName as it is shown in the property.

Should I create a module just to keep medias that could be used in many solutions? Would that be the best way to get this done?
Best regards,
Juan Antonio Santana Medina
[email protected]
EAGER BEAVER 2011
EAGER BEAVER 2012
Servoy 6.x - Servoy 7.x - Servoy 8.x - MySQL - PostgreSQL - Visual Foxpro 9
User avatar
jasantana
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Leeds - West Yorkshire - United Kingdom

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jcompagner » Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:17 pm

if module1 and module2 both have the same images (as names)
and they are sometimes used together, sometimes used separate then yes you should create module3 that holds there common stuff.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7974
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jasantana » Tue Jul 12, 2011 5:29 pm

I´m getting this error in the server log when lauching Servoy:
2011-07-12 16:17 Thread-3 ERROR com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug Error occured trying to load: D:\Servoy6A\developer\..\application_server\drivers\DBF_JDBC40-6.jar, error: error in opening zip file

Is the jar file corrupted. Could I get a new file?
Best regards,
Juan Antonio Santana Medina
[email protected]
EAGER BEAVER 2011
EAGER BEAVER 2012
Servoy 6.x - Servoy 7.x - Servoy 8.x - MySQL - PostgreSQL - Visual Foxpro 9
User avatar
jasantana
 
Posts: 540
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Leeds - West Yorkshire - United Kingdom

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby rossent » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:23 am

Hi Servoy,

I am seeing a lot of these errors in my Server Log after updating to RC3:

Code: Select all
2011-07-13 10:10    Worker-5    ERROR    com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug    Index found on non-existent column 'null'?
2011-07-13 10:09    main    ERROR    com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug    Index found on non-existent column 'null'?
2011-07-13 10:09    main    ERROR    com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug    Index found on non-existent column 'null'?
2011-07-13 10:09    DLTK indexing    ERROR    com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug    Index found on non-existent column 'null'?


What is causing this and what needs to be done to fix that? The server log is basically flooded with these...
Rossen Totev
Argos Software
rossent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:03 pm

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jcompagner » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:48 am

That is code that ask the table for its pk columns. But it seems that in your case the ResultSet.getString("COLUMN_NAME"); returns a null..
What is your database setup?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7974
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby rossent » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:16 am

jcompagner wrote:That is code that ask the table for its pk columns. But it seems that in your case the ResultSet.getString("COLUMN_NAME"); returns a null..
What is your database setup?


Using for development MS SQL 2008 local server. All tables have PKs. We do use database views as well and for them we need to manually set in Servoy a "fake" PK (this is actually something which Servoy should look at - database views may not have "unique record key" combination so we are forced currently to add "fake" columns to the views just to make them usable in Servoy)

There were no database schema changes between RC2 and RC3
Rossen Totev
Argos Software
rossent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:03 pm

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby jcompagner » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:28 am

no there was a change in this area by servoy, when you have multiply pk's in 1 table, that the order of the pk's is kept.

But i guess we hit against a schema where the resulset data doesn't have a column name right there.
Will see if we can reproduce this.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7974
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby rossent » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:38 pm

jcompagner wrote:no there was a change in this area by servoy, when you have multiply pk's in 1 table, that the order of the pk's is kept.

But i guess we hit against a schema where the resulset data doesn't have a column name right there.
Will see if we can reproduce this.


Not sure if this will help, but looking at the warnings and errors in Servoy Developer, there are no errors and the only warnings displayed are related to missing or incorrect JSDoc comments - nothing related to the dbi files or the database itself.
Rossen Totev
Argos Software
rossent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:03 pm

Re: Servoy 6.0 rc 3

Postby rossent » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:43 pm

One more issue which we are seeing in RC3:

We have a label with an image which used to work fine before both in SC and WC. The text for the label uses HTML and is (this was our workaround to keep the image and text together on the web client):

Code: Select all
<html><body><img src="media:///home.png" height="16px" width="16px"><span style="display: inline;">&nbsp;Home</span></body></html>


After updating to RC3, the Smart Client still shows the image correctly, however in the Web Client it displays the actual HTML code (see attached screen-shots)
Attachments
HomeTab_RC3_Web.PNG
Label with image in RC3 - Web Client
HomeTab_RC3_Web.PNG (10.73 KiB) Viewed 2684 times
HomeTab_OK.PNG
Label with image in RC3 - Smart Client
HomeTab_OK.PNG (6.86 KiB) Viewed 2684 times
Rossen Totev
Argos Software
rossent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:03 pm

Next

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron