Servoy 3.1 Beta 1 (Multi Developer Release)

Release notes for Servoy betas

Servoy 3.1 Beta 1 (Multi Developer Release)

Postby Jan Blok » Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:51 pm

We announce the immediate availability of Servoy 3.1 Beta 1 (Multi Developer Release)

NOTE: this is PRE-RELEASE SOFTWARE, use with caution and make BACKUPS before you start.

This version is available at the download page on Servoy website (developer section)

Changes:
[fix]-for onAction and tooltip on mediafield
[fix]-user pageformat is stored in the servoy.properties
[fix]-several bug fixes in the pagedialog
[chg]-default L&F set to system default in stead of hardcoded kunststoff L&F
[enh]-webclient supports now loginform
[enh]-application.closeSolution(...) accepts solutionname and method+params (to start another solution after close)
[enh]-optimized socket handling in 2way socket package (faster accept)
[enh]-rawSQL plugin now uses the same transaction as the current client
[enh]-adminpage will show clients sorted by last usage
[enh]-adminpage will show rawSQL statements in performance data
[enh]-in adminpage added 'update all servoy sequences on all servers' button
[enh]-multi developer:
For multi-dev you have to start an Servoy Server (called multi-dev-server), in the admin-page network settings, you have to fill in the external ip or dns name in the property called"servoy.multideveloper.address", this will enable the multi developer part. (after server restart)
When connecting with a developer on the repository database managed by that multi-dev-server you have to log in (user has to be admin-user on the multi-dev-server), if you now try to touch a repository object like a form you will be informed if someone else is working on that object.

Note: In this beta you have to disable SSL en 2Way sockets in all the Developers connecting and multi-dev-server itself.
Last edited by Jan Blok on Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby patrick » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:45 pm

Take it easy guys! We are still busy converting to 3.0 :lol:
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby Westy » Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:44 pm

Wow! I ask for two features on Thursday and they are in the product on Monday. You guys are great!

Dean
Westy
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 5:27 am
Location: Lynnfield, Massachusetts USA

Postby ROCLASI » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:24 pm

Hey Jan,

[enh]-adminpage will show clients sorted by last usage
[enh]-adminpage will show rawSQL statements in performance data
[enh]-in adminpage added 'update all servoy sequences on all servers' button

While you're at it. ;)
Make the Database Servers page so that the connection panes are collapsable/expandable. Make it collapsed by default so the list will be much shorter and when we need to see the details of one connection we could expand that section.

I guess I should send this also to the bug/request base...
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5225
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Postby jcompagner » Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:31 pm

Robert, even better would be if you give us the html/css for that page ;)
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7987
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Questions

Postby monetteboy » Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:36 pm

Hello!

We have tried setting up the new 3.1 beta and have appeared to log into the multi developer server. We are not seeing any error messages when we try to edit the same form.

I have turned off the ssl/2 way sockets and entered the ip address of the server into the field in the servoy-admin page. I also added our user names as admins. Logging into the solution works fine.

Any tips on what else we should check? I assume that when one developer has a form in design mode that developer 2 would get a notification when they open the same form?

Thanks!
monetteboy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Postby jcompagner » Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:05 pm

do you get the inlog dialog when you start the developer?
So do you need to logon? And does the logon work?

Then if you open the same solution and then one opens a form in designer the other shouldn't be able to get into that form in the designer.

Do both developer get the blue M icon in the status bar?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7987
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby monetteboy » Tue Nov 14, 2006 10:38 pm

yes after we we changed the repository to point towards the server (which I hope was the right thing to do). We were then presented with a login form, which we entered our user name/password that we setup in the servoy admin.

After that we were able to log into our solution. Dev 1 then went into design mode on a form and then dev 2 went into design mode of the same form. No dialog popped up and we were both able to make changes which the other person couldn't see.


Both show the blue icon and it says

"Multi-Developer (connected to 'null' with user 'bryant')"

The other developer has the same thing except with his user name.

we did have some issues getting it to work at the start but after changing the java.rmi.server.hostname from 127.0.0.1 to 129.102.6.2(our server ip) it connected. I don't know if that was the right thing to do or not.

The "servoy.multideveloper.address:" is set to 129.102.6.2

What we are trying to do is store the database on our main server (129.102.6.2) then connect to it from our workstations that are our local network here in the office.

Most likely its just a setting that we probably haven't got right.

Thanks for the help!
monetteboy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Postby jcompagner » Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:32 pm

all 3 server and the 2 developers should connect to the same repository database.

But if you setup your users on the servers admin pages and you can login afterwards with them then that should be ok.

rmi hostname should be blank or the ip adress of the multi dev server (the same yes), rmi hostname of 127.0.0.1 can only be done when 2 way is enabled which can't be enabled at the moment.

that connected to "null" message is a bug i fixed this, this will contain the servoy servers name in the further.

if you start Servoy application server in a console what kind of output do you see when the developer switches from browse to design mode?
you should see things like:

UUID xxxxx locked by yyyyy

do you see those?

what is the exact output when you switch both developers to the same form?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7987
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby monetteboy » Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:47 pm

in the servoy server console window i can see it get a lock when we go to a form.

It doesn't say a user is locking it though.

Here is an example minus the actual uuid:

lock: "UUID"

So it never shows a "lock: UUID by username"

I can see in the console it doing the locks and release when both of us are going to forms, when we both go to the same form it shows that both of us have it locked.

So user 1 goes to customers it shows locked.

user 2 goes to customers from products it shows user 2 releasing products and locking customers. The UUIDs are the same.

Thanks!
monetteboy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Postby jcompagner » Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:03 am

thats very odd.
lock: "uuid" means that it tries to lock that uuid.
And then you should get a message that it succeeded.

IS there maybe a log file generated where that is logged (because it could be that one goes into error log and the other into standard out)

But not seeing the locked by statement is consistent with what can do (open 2 the same forms in design)
I have currently no idea how that can happen. Need to reproduce that here.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7987
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby monetteboy » Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:17 am

I will look and see if I can find anything in the log files. I will let you know what i find.

-Bryant Robinson
monetteboy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Postby jim » Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:10 pm

[fix]-user pageformat is stored in the servoy.properties
[fix]-several bug fixes in the pagedialog

Does this mean that custom defaultPageFormat properties will now be retained, rather than reverting to the default setting?

Jim
jim
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:42 pm
Location: Maine

Postby rgansevles » Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:46 pm

Jim,

Does this mean that custom defaultPageFormat properties will now be retained, rather than reverting to the default setting?


Yes, the selected page format in the developer, either custom size or predefined will be saved in the servoy.properties file and loaded upon startup.

Rob
Rob Gansevles
Servoy
User avatar
rgansevles
 
Posts: 1848
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Postby monetteboy » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:42 pm

Johan,

I didn't see anything in the log files but I may not be looking in the right place.

If there is a certian directory I need to look in let me know.

Thanks!
-Bryant
monetteboy
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:47 pm
Location: USA

Next

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron