How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Find out how to get things done with Servoy. Post how YOU get things done with Servoy

How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Postby olesea.cojocari » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:12 pm

Hello,
We are stating a project with Servoy 8.0.0 b2 and I want to use the framework.If I import the framework in our solution it works. Sharing it with the team, I face some problems.
I imported the framework, then created a new solution and added the framework modules.
Until now, everything is ok. The problem is that if I put the solution on Git (I've also put the framework modules on Git) and somebody else pulls it together with framework modules, the solution will not "see" the framework modules (in Solution Explorer).If we activate svy_framework as a solution it doesn't see the modules too,I think we are doing something wrong.But still if we want to access the svy_nav_navigation it generates an error . Also I attached the error.If somebody could help us.
Thank you:)
Attachments
Capture.PNG
svy_nav_navigation
Capture.PNG (33.46 KiB) Viewed 799 times
olesea.cojocari
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:09 pm

Re: How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Postby ROCLASI » Tue Jul 14, 2015 5:29 pm

Hi,

First of all welcome to the forum, I see this is your first post.

What Git client are you using ? Are you use the Eclipse plugin Egit? Or do you use an external client like Git (command line) or SourceTree/Tower/etc.
If it's the later then you need to tell Eclipse to update it's metadata that it keeps in the workspace. You can simply do that by going to the Menubar > File > Import.
Here you select General > Existing Projects into workspace. Click on Next and here you can select your current workspace as the Root directory.
When you do this the list will show all projects you can select to import.
Now before you hit the Finish button make sure you UNSELECT the Copy projects into workspace checkbox.
After pressing the Finish button you should see all modules in the Solution Explorer.

As for the error, are you checking these modules out in Servoy 7 or 8 ?
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Postby Ruben79 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:38 am

Also check your (global) .gitignore for file extenstions that may prevent pushing important files.
I noticed that SourceTree creates a global .gitignore with *.obj in it (for .NET projects). This prevents pushing the mandatory rootmetadata.obj and solution_settings.obj in your module.
When you pull on another location and don't have these files, it will give the error you posted.

You could check if these files exist in your remote.
Ruben de Jong
Stb Software Development
SAN Partner

Stb Software Development - http://www.stb.nl
User avatar
Ruben79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:43 pm

Re: How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Postby ROCLASI » Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:02 pm

Hi Ruben,

This is because you also do .NET development? Because I don't see this in my Mac/Windows environment.
SourceTree usually asks you if you want to add an ignored file/pattern in you local workspace or in your global file.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: How to push svy_framework in Git ?

Postby Ruben79 » Wed Jul 15, 2015 3:08 pm

Indeed SourceTree asks you to create a default gitignore_global.txt upon installation but if I recall correctly it does not tell you what's in it.
These are the default contents:
Code: Select all
#ignore thumbnails created by windows
Thumbs.db
#Ignore files build by Visual Studio
*.obj
*.exe
*.pdb
*.user
*.aps
*.pch
*.vspscc
*_i.c
*_p.c
*.ncb
*.suo
*.tlb
*.tlh
*.bak
*.cache
*.ilk
*.log
*.dll
*.lib
*.sbr

I don't do .NET development by the way.
Ruben de Jong
Stb Software Development
SAN Partner

Stb Software Development - http://www.stb.nl
User avatar
Ruben79
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:43 pm


Return to How To

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests