Page 1 of 1

Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:13 am
by maria.kyselova
Hi guys,

I posted a reply in one of the relevant topics but that didn't get much attention, so I reckon I'll start a feature request discussion.

I like the toolbar on the main application window very much and I like how we can customise it with our own stuff.
But because we have a multiple windows environment where every module pops up in a separate window, we need to implement a menu and a toolbar on each of them rather than just on the main (the main window is in the background anyway, a toolbar on it pretty much useless to us).
There is no problem with the menu, works like a charm. But the toolbar seems to only want to live on the main window.

Is it possible to implement a toolbar on any application window?

Cheers,
Maria

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:30 am
by maria.kyselova
No one cares? :)

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:16 pm
by Roberto Blasco
Hi maria.

Have you tried plugins.window.createPopupMenu(); ?

Best regards. Roberto Blasco.

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:17 am
by maria.kyselova
Roberto Blasco wrote:Hi maria.

Have you tried plugins.window.createPopupMenu(); ?

Best regards. Roberto Blasco.


Hi Roberto,

I need a toolbar, not a menu (there is no problem with menus, I have them).

See, how Servoy itself has both in Developer? I want similar setup on any module of my application.
A module is being popped in its own window - customers, employees, jobs, etc.
I want to be able to have a toolbar on each of those, not only on the main window because each module has actions that would be triggered by the toolbar buttons.

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (31.99 KiB) Viewed 3076 times


This is an important feature in my opinion, as Servoy provides capabilities for multiple windows environment, so there is no point to limit toolbars to the main window.
Particularly because there is no way to keep the toolbar part of the main window always visible (the other windows will obstruct it).

Cheers,
Maria

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:21 am
by maria.kyselova
Feature request created. Please vote, this is a nice feature and it's important in terms of functionality.
SVY-3327

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:12 am
by Peter de Groot
Maybe a tabpanel with some generic form to create a toolbar.

Regards,

Peter

Re: Tool bar on any window

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2012 3:09 am
by maria.kyselova
Peter de Groot wrote:Maybe a tabpanel with some generic form to create a toolbar.

Regards,

Peter


Already have that. Very awkward, we need dynamic set of buttons on each window and moving buttons around on the form is not worth the effort.