Servoy 7.3

Servoy announcements

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:46 pm

This is a very very strange problem... I did this test:

- I've created a label with "hello" text and I put in main form. Changes commited to respository and flushed solution in server.
- I've opened a smart client in computer 1: I see "hello" label in main form. OK.

- In developer I've changed label to "hello 2". Commit and flush.
- I've reopened solution in computer 1: I only see "hello" :?
- I've opened a smart client in computer 2: I see "hello 2" in main form :shock:

- In developer I've changed label to "hello 3". Commit and flush.
- I've reopened solution in computer 1: I only see "hello" :?: :?:
- I've reopened solution in computerr 2: I only see "hello 2" :!: :!:
- I've opened a smart client in computer 3: I see "hello 3" in main form :shock: :shock: :shock:

It has no sense!
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3, double scroll-bar webclient

Postby Peter de Groot » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:03 pm

obuligan wrote:
Peter de Groot wrote:Hi,

It looks like the double scroll-bar is reintroduced in the werbclient with the release of servoy 7.3.0,

2013-11-09_1059.png


I thought it was fixed in 7.2.x

Regards,

Peter


Thank for noticing,
Can you create a case in our jira support system describing your solution ?(attaching a sample solution would greatly help us)


Case created SVY-5464 sample solution included.

Regards,

Peter
Servoy 7.3.x || 7.4.x

NEM ENERGY BV
Peter de Groot
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Not sure...

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Wed Nov 13, 2013 8:11 pm

About my problems committing (see above):

In server machine I've installed a servoy 6.0 server and created a solution. I did the same test I did with servoy 7, successfully: in the 3 computers I can see the same changes I commited with my developer.

Unfortunately, I can't upgrade to v7, perhaps v7.4 will fix it.
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby Andrei Costescu » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:34 am

About STP. You can create a case for that but it's no longer actively supported so I'm not sure what attention it will get for 7.4.

It sounds like the solution is loaded directly from the JNLP & smart client cache - it doesn't get a solution update.
You can clear java cache from control panel & delete the .servoy folder (or just the affected solution file) from your user dir - then it will probably work fine until the next commit at least.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:38 am

Thanks, Andrei... I've deleted the .servoy folder (I didn't know that there is that folder for caching!!) and it works fine... But, as you say, until the next commit :cry:

STP is "Servoy as Team Provider", isn't it? Why is it no longer supported? It's not recommended, but it's a good option when there's only one developer and many changes in a solution. Anyway, STP worked fine in Servoy versions prior to v7.

I'll create a case for it.

Regards,
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:48 am

Case created: SVP-323
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby Andrei Costescu » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:14 pm

Yes, STP = Servoy Team Provider.

It's no longer actively supported because it's backed up by a repository DB that wasn't intended to store file/text formatted data, so it was pretty hard to keep the same text formatting after commit to avoid conflicts (as on the server it would no longer be stored as text files). Also when you use that for deployment you can't nicely use other team providers such as SVN/Git/... (those are useful to use even if you are the only developer working on that solution). Extra column information is read directly from the repository database - not from .dbi files (so some .dbi related functionality is not supported either + you can't have different extra column info in different resources projects). There were I think other smaller reasons as well.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:28 pm

Thanks for the info...

I'm going to move to a other Team Provider (any recommendation?), then.

Regards,
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby Andrei Costescu » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:48 pm

SVN is easy to use and does the job. Git is more complex but can do much more (especially helpful for open source projects). Of course there are many others.

But be aware that none of those will be able to update your running application server directly. (STP was more into deployment then into Source Control Management).
You can use import/export for that.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:57 pm

Andrei Costescu wrote:But be aware that none of those will be able to update your running application server directly. (STP was more into deployment then into Source Control Management).
You can use import/export for that.


So, with SVN, I have to export the solution and then import it to server (usign server admin page), haven't I? Do I have to restart the server after import? Do I have to delete the current solution before import it again?
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby Andrei Costescu » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:13 pm

Yes, admin page. You don't have to delete or restart.
Just export/import when it's ready for deployment.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:24 pm

Ok, thanks!
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:36 pm

Andrei Costescu wrote:Yes, admin page. You don't have to delete or restart.


Perhaps I'm doing something wrong... I've create a solution, exported and then imported in server. Ok. Then, I've changed something in the solution and exported again. But when I've tried to imported to server I've receive this error: "Solution 'MySolution' already exists. Import failed."
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby Andrei Costescu » Fri Nov 15, 2013 9:02 am

Don't check "Clean import". You probably checked that and specified as "New name" the same solution name. That option is useful if you want to import as a different solution name - with release version 1. Just do a normal import that will put a new release version of your solution on the app. server and activate that release.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: Servoy 7.3

Postby juan.cristobo » Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:47 pm

I don't chek "clean import".

I tried to import checking and unchecking "Activate new release of imported solution and modules". Also, I exported the solution without its modules. Unsuccessfully :cry:
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

PreviousNext

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests