High DPI Monitors

Questions and answers for designing and implementing forms in Servoy

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby Mark Voorboom » Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:41 pm

Hi,
With some help from Johan, we have it now working on the latest Windows 10, Java 8 update 111 and the usage of a external manifest file. This manifest file tells windows that the jp2launcher.exe should start with the setting:<dpiAware>false</dpiAware>. If this is configured then the smart client starts up in blown up mode instead of very small with unreadable text.

How to configure a external manifest for jp2launcher.exe is described here: https://appuals.com/best-fix-disable-di ... indows-10/

Attached to this post you find the jp2launcher.exe.manifest file that you need to add in the C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.8.0_111\bin folder.

Johan mentioned in the corresponding jira ticket https://support.servoy.com/browse/SVY-10705 that the usage of a external manifest is deprecated in a the latest slow ring build of Windows 10, in that case only changing the jp2launcher.exe with a tool like resource tuner seems the solution.
Attachments
jp2launcher.zip
Manifest file packed in .zip
(816 Bytes) Downloaded 79 times
Last edited by Mark Voorboom on Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Stb Software Development
SAN Partner
User avatar
Mark Voorboom
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:55 am

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby kwpsd » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:33 pm

Thanks for posting, Mark! This is very good to know. I had to research 'slow ring build', because I did know its meaning. For others, the link below gives some insight to Microsoft's ring releases (beta testing, essentially):

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Insider

Would it be possible to post the JIRA link you referenced?
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:13 pm

i added also something in the wiki: https://wiki.servoy.com/display/DOCS/Hi ... en+support
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby kwpsd » Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:45 pm

Very good, Johan...thank you!
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:50 am

it seems that the next release of windows 10 makes this easier:

highdpionwindows10.PNG
highdpionwindows10.PNG (29.72 KiB) Viewed 1987 times


it seems to me (i didn't test this fully) but if you just say, override the dpi settings and let the system do it instead of what the application says, then the developer at least starts up nicely
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby kwpsd » Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:33 pm

Thanks for posting, Johan.

I do not get the same results. I removed the servoy.exe.manifest file and change the registry setting at 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\SideBySide' PreferExternalManifest REG_WORD to zero. Then, I checked the box in servoy.exe properties, but there is no 'System' to select as in your screen shot (see graphic below):

servoy_exe_properties.png
servoy_exe_properties.png (48 KiB) Viewed 1969 times


With the checkbox ticked, the text in Developer seems to be 'normal' sized, but the icons and other graphics are small.

I was wondering if you are running the same version of Windows (see graphic below). My Windows OS was just updated yesterday.

windows_properties.png
windows_properties.png (7.61 KiB) Viewed 1969 times
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:58 am

didn't i say "the next release of Windows 10" ?

see also my image it is really different then yours, you have to have a combobox instead of just 1 check box.
i am currently on: Version 10.0.15058 thats the insider slow ring build
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Tue May 02, 2017 11:01 am

So with the new windows 10 creators update we have now 3 settings in the compatibility properties (Override scaling behavior)

For the smart client you have to adjust the jp2launcher.exe file in the java/jre installation\bin folder) and you have to use the second option "System"

For the developer (so servoy.exe) you can use the "System (enhanced)" option as far as i can see (the only weird thing i see then is the splash screen, but the rest is then way sharper (then using just "System") and correct (when using "Application"/default)
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Form wiped out

Postby lwjwillemsen » Fri May 05, 2017 4:22 pm

We are getting more and more reports from end users of blank forms in smart client session (Servoy 7 Windows 10) after some time.
Starting the smart client again solves the problem (for a while).
This problem occurs mostly on "new" systems with higher resolutions.

Any ideas / experiences / tips?
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Fri May 05, 2017 4:42 pm

This has not much to do with this case but i guess end users get this in there console log?

java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.sun.java.swing.plaf.windows.WindowsTableHeaderUI$XPDefaultRenderer.paint(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.CellRendererPane.paintComponent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicTableHeaderUI.paintCell(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicTableHeaderUI.paint(Unknown Source)

That is (tried) to be fixed for 7.4.10 and 8.1.3

But we are still not 100% sure but it is very hard to really constantly reproduce.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby lwjwillemsen » Fri May 05, 2017 5:19 pm

Thanks Johan for your response!
Is there a public available issue where I can look for info?

Regards,
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Mon May 08, 2017 11:29 am

Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby lwjwillemsen » Mon May 08, 2017 8:31 pm

Thanks for that info, Johan.
Will the fix for SVY-10621 also be available in 7.4.10 (Sprint 138)?
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby jcompagner » Tue May 09, 2017 9:19 am

yes its also in 7.4.10
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8010
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: High DPI Monitors

Postby lwjwillemsen » Wed May 10, 2017 8:45 am

Ok, thanks!
BTW: I see no SVY-10621 on the 7.4.10 release fix list
http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?p=116624#p116624
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to Forms

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron