rename variable in a loop

Questions, tips and tricks and techniques for scripting in Servoy

rename variable in a loop

Postby irene.meyer » Thu Dec 11, 2014 7:34 pm

Hello,

I have a loop that returns a number of array's
Code: Select all
for(var r = 1; r<=rMax-1; r++)
{
var   P =datasetarray.getRowAsArray(r);
}


[0.998,0.001,0.0005,0.0005,0]
[0,0.995,0.003,0.001,0.001]
[0,0,0.995,0.0025,0.0025]
[0,0,0,0,1]

I need to construct a number of variables each representing one of the arrays

var S1 = [0.998,0.001,0.0005,0.0005,0]
var S2 = [0,0.995,0.003,0.001,0.001]
var S3 = [0,0,0.995,0.0025,0.0025]
var S4 = [0,0,0,0,1]

is there a way to name the variables like:

var S[r] = P[r]?

I would appreciate any help.

Irene
irene.meyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: rename variable in a loop

Postby ROCLASI » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:31 pm

Hi Irene,

Like this?

Code: Select all
var S = new Array();
for (var r = 1; r<=rMax-1; r++) {
    // push the RowAsArray result into the S array
    S.push(datasetarray.getRowAsArray(r));
}


Hope this helps.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: rename variable in a loop

Postby irene.meyer » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:26 am

Hi Robert,

thanks for the reply. In my previous post i messed up the variables, sorry for that.
I try to explain a little bit better what I'm trying to do. I wrote a static code for test and it works.

Code: Select all
var S = new Array(1,0,0,0,0);   
   var state = forms.z_all_objects.obj_state_uncertain
   var SR = new Array(1,0,0,0,0);
   var R = new Array(1,0,0,0,0);
   
   //transition matrix
   var P1= new Array(0.998,0.001,0.0005,0.0005,0.00);
   var P2= new Array(0.00,0.995,0.003,0.001,0.001);
   var P3= new Array(0.00,0.00,0.995,0.0025,0.0025);
   var P4= new Array(0.00,0.00,0.00,0.99,0.01);
   var P5= new Array(0.00,0.00,0.00,0.00,1.00);
   var j = 0
   var noyears =5
   for (var i=1;i<=noyears;i++)
   {
   
   
       R[0] = S[0]*P1[0]+S[1]*P2[0]+S[2]*P3[0]+S[3]*P4[0]+S[4]*P5[0];
       R[1] = S[0]*P1[1]+S[1]*P2[1]+S[2]*P3[1]+S[3]*P4[1]+S[4]*P5[1];
       R[2] = S[0]*P1[2]+S[1]*P2[2]+S[2]*P3[2]+S[3]*P4[2]+S[4]*P5[2];
       R[3] = S[0]*P1[3]+S[1]*P2[3]+S[2]*P3[3]+S[3]*P4[3]+S[4]*P5[3];
       R[4] = S[0]*P1[4]+S[1]*P2[4]+S[2]*P3[4]+S[3]*P4[4]+S[4]*P5[4];
   
      
       S=R........




In the real code S is a text field from table Objects containing eg.: 0.4044216661597251,0.0659004623761775,0.1807015511863892,0.34897632027770825;
P is a dataset from table Probabilities with a number of records, in this case :

[0.998, 0.001, 5.0E-4, 5.0E-4, 0.0]
[0.0, 0.995, 0.003, 0.001, 0.001]
[0.0, 0.0, 0.995, 0.0025, 0.0025]
[0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0

What I need to do is multiply the S with the P array, see the R array;

In the real code I wrote I get the array P[0], P[1] etc. but what I need is P1 = P[0], P2=P[1] etc.

Code: Select all
for(var r = 1; r<=rMax-1; r++)
      {
      var   P =datasetarrayP.getRowAsArray(r);
          P=P.filter(function(item){return item != null});
      }


I hoop I made myself a little bit clearer now.

Thanks
Irene
irene.meyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:38 pm

Re: rename variable in a loop

Postby Rene van Veen » Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:28 pm

Hi Irene,

I don't think its a good idea... but its working:
Here is a quick example:

Code: Select all
var vDataset = databaseManager.createEmptyDataSet()
vDataset.addRow(['data1', 'data2'])
vDataset.addRow(['dataaa1', 'dataaa2'])

for(var i = 1; i <= vDataset.getMaxRowIndex(); i++)
{
   var vRow = vDataset.getRowAsArray(i)
   eval("var row" + i + " = []")
   eval("var row" + i + " = vRow")
}

for(var j = 1; j <= 2; j++)
{
   application.output(eval("row" + j))
}


I hope this is getting the correct result for you :)
Rene van Veen
Distri Data - http://www.distridata.nl
Rene van Veen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:55 pm
Location: Nieuwegein

Re: rename variable in a loop

Postby ROCLASI » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:26 am

Hi Irene,

irene.meyer wrote:In the real code I wrote I get the array P[0], P[1] etc. but what I need is P1 = P[0], P2=P[1] etc.


Why the need for separate variables for this? Why can't you use the array for this?
Anyway, another approach would be to use named properties in an object to get your P1, P2 etc.
Like so:
Code: Select all
var Result = new Object();
for ( var i = 0 ; i < P.length ; i++) {
    Result['P'+i] = P[i];
}

application.output(Result.P0);
application.output(Result.P1);
application.output(Result.P2);
application.output(Result.P3);
application.output(Result.P4);


Hope this helps.
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: rename variable in a loop

Postby irene.meyer » Tue Dec 16, 2014 12:20 pm

Hi Robert and Rene,

eventually I figure it out this weekend. The loop was the answer.

Code: Select all

var serverName = databaseManager.getDataSourceServerName(forms.game_objects1.controller.getDataSource());
var queryS = "SELECT obj_s_array FROM objects Where obj_id =  " + id;
var datasetarrayS = databaseManager.getDataSetByQuery (serverName, queryS, null, 1);
var queryP = "SELECT prob_1,prob_2,prob_3,prob_4,prob_5,prob_6,prob_7,prob_8,prob_9,prob_10 FROM probabilities";
var datasetarrayP = databaseManager.getDataSetByQuery (serverName, queryP, null, 10);
var P = databaseManager.createEmptyDataSet()

for(var i = 0; i<+datasetarrayP.getMaxRowIndex();i++)
   {
   var filter = datasetarrayP[i].filter(function(item){return item != null});
   P.addRow(filter)
   }   
   var R= new Array();
   var S = datasetarrayS.getValue(1,1).split(',');
   var len = S.length-1;
   for(var r=0; r<=len;r++)
   {
      var  sum1 = 0
      for(var p = 0; p<=len; p++)
      {
            var sum = 0 ;
            var index = r

               sum += S[p] * P[p][index];
               sum1 = sum1 + sum
      }
      R[r] = +sum1

   }


Thank you both for helping.

Cheers
Irene
irene.meyer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 3:38 pm


Return to Methods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron