TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Forum to discuss the Web client version of Servoy.

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby rogel » Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:39 pm

jcompagner wrote:that doesnt matter:

test1|tst1
test2|tst2
test3|tst3
test4|tst4

This is how servoy is designed, that when you have real and display (that means what you see and type is different data then what is in the db) you can't insert just display data.


Hi!

I have a text_field that has a country value list. I already made my real value and display value both mapped to description but it still does not accept value that is not in my list. i am using servoy6.

please advice.

thanks!
rogel
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:09 am

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:48 pm

dont use a real|display valuelist, use if you want to accept other values only a display valuelist
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8049
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby rogel » Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:48 pm

jcompagner wrote:dont use a real|display valuelist, use if you want to accept other values only a display valuelist


I am confused. How do you use a display only value list? In the definition part, I chose countrydescription and tick return to data provider on the first box, and countrydescription and tick show on field/list.

thanks!
rogel
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:09 am

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:04 pm

if "show" and "return" are the same (for example only the first box is selected by both) then you have a display (or real) only valuelist.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8049
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby rogel » Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:26 pm

jcompagner wrote:if "show" and "return" are the same (for example only the first box is selected by both) then you have a display (or real) only valuelist.


wow! its working now. thanks alot!

follow-up question. can we filter the contents of the valuelist at runtime?

i mean, if i enter a country that is in the valuelist, my other textfield with valuelist of states will now be filtered by the entered country.
rogel
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:09 am

Re: TEXT_FIELD with a value list do not accept other values.

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:59 pm

you can do that with related valuelist or a global method valluelist.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8049
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Previous

Return to Servoy Web Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests