Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Forum to discuss the Web client version of Servoy.

Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby alan.bourke » Mon May 18, 2015 12:04 pm

Shown here is an existing PDF report created on demand with iReport 4.0 and Servoy 6.1.6 as part of a webclient solution.

I intend to upgrade this installation to 7.4.4 and am concerned at the state of play with iReport/JasperSoft Studio and the JasperSoft plugin.

Is this type of layout possible to acheive in VelocityReport ? What are people using with Servoy 7.x to produce reports?

Thanks


Image
alan.bourke
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby rvanderburg » Mon May 18, 2015 12:14 pm

Jasper reports works fine in Servoy 7.x. Why are you considering to move away from it?
rvanderburg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:28 am

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby alan.bourke » Mon May 18, 2015 12:46 pm

I'm not necessarily, however I'm not clear from reading these forums what currently works and what doesn't in terms of the JasperReports/JasperReports plugin route.

For example what versions of iReport/JasperSoft Studio/plugin are people using?
alan.bourke
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby mboegem » Mon May 18, 2015 5:02 pm

alan.bourke wrote:For example what versions of iReport/JasperSoft Studio/plugin are people using?


@rvanderburg: I've asked a while ago what the status is on version 5.0.0 in terms of development.
It's about a year now that it was first released in alpha status and hardly anything has changed since.

Jasper is a very valuable tool for creating pixel perfect reports, so I think development should keep up with the versions of the jasperengine.

In case more input is needed from the community please let us know, because we can't guess...
_____________________
Marc Boegem
Solutiative / JBS Group, Partner
• Servoy Certified Developer
• Servoy Valued Professional
• Freelance SAN Developer

Image
User avatar
mboegem
 
Posts: 1382
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Location: Hoofddorp, The Netherlands

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby alan.bourke » Mon May 18, 2015 5:14 pm

Well, I just tried out this report on Jaspersoft Studio and the 4.0.x version of the plugin and it seems to work fine. Which is encouraging because when I tried it on iReport 4.6 the layout wouldn't load due to a deprecated tag in the JRXML.

Yes it would be nice if the plugin offered some future proofing. Since I'm on Windows I suppose I could also try to use SSRS.
alan.bourke
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby ptalbot » Mon May 18, 2015 5:59 pm

To answer your initial question, such a report would be easy to do in VelocityReport.
Patrick Talbot
Freelance - Open Source - Servoy Valued Professional
http://www.servoy-stuff.net
https://www.servoyforge.net
--------------------------------------------
Servoy 5.2.16 / 6.0.9 / 6.1.6 / 7.3.1
All OSes / Java 5 & 6 & 7
User avatar
ptalbot
 
Posts: 1612
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:13 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby kwpsd » Tue May 19, 2015 6:01 pm

...so I think development should keep up with the versions of the jasperengine.


+1

I totally agree with Marc!
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby lwjwillemsen » Tue May 19, 2015 6:41 pm

@rvanderburg : And what about Jasperreport-plugin issue follow-up / response time ?
(Yes, I know it's open sourced => dark(er) times support wise).
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby ROCLASI » Tue May 19, 2015 7:06 pm

lwjwillemsen wrote:(Yes, I know it's open sourced => dark(er) times support wise).


Not sure how that computes.
Python, AngularJS, PostgreSQL, Tomcat, Apache, etc. etc. are all Open Source and incredible well supported. Some are not even owned by a single company.

The fact that it's Open Source doesn't denote that support is worse.
Open Source is just a way of licensing the code, that some people think that this means that 'others' will take care of any bugs and new features is the reason that those projects die. The ones that thrive have strong leadership, not so much a larger community (PostgreSQL started with 6 core developers when it became Open Source).
Robert Ivens
ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer
Twitter: @roclasi / @servoyforge
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5205
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby ptalbot » Tue May 19, 2015 7:25 pm

lwjwillemsen wrote:(Yes, I know it's open sourced => dark(er) times support wise).


Agreeing with Robert above: VelocityReport is Open Source but you will get a high level of support on it, I've logged thousands of hours on that project, I use it all the time and support a lot of clients/partners using it. It's regularly updated with bug fixes and new functionalities.
Patrick Talbot
Freelance - Open Source - Servoy Valued Professional
http://www.servoy-stuff.net
https://www.servoyforge.net
--------------------------------------------
Servoy 5.2.16 / 6.0.9 / 6.1.6 / 7.3.1
All OSes / Java 5 & 6 & 7
User avatar
ptalbot
 
Posts: 1612
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 5:13 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby lwjwillemsen » Tue May 19, 2015 7:48 pm

Fact : Issue follow-up / support on the jasper report plugin dropped significantly after the move from Servoy to Servoy Forge.
I know how Open Source works, no need to repeat the discussion we had earlier on this one.

Regards,
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby madimane » Tue May 19, 2015 7:53 pm

ptalbot wrote :
VelocityReport is Open Source but you will get a high level of support on it, I've logged thousands of hours on that project, I use it all the time and support a lot of clients/partners using it


Thank you very much Patrick for your effort and support. I'm using VelocityReport and Velocity services and they are just powerful.
Othmane himadi
Analyst / Developper
Freelancer
---------------------
Whether we want it or not, being a developer means documenting our code is a necessity
User avatar
madimane
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:16 am
Location: Montréal,QC,Canada

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby Gordon McLean » Wed May 20, 2015 9:38 am

alan.bourke wrote:Is this type of layout possible to acheive in VelocityReport ? What are people using with Servoy 7.x to produce reports?


1) Yes Velocity is more than capable of producing this report and I have personally used it for a project almost exactly the same in Servoy 7

2) As a tool in Servoy Velocity is so much more than just reports; incredibly versatile at display level, super fast and flexible, not to mention adaptable so build once and with simple switches deliver in many formats. Try using the charts in your servoy solution they make fantastic dashboards

3) Support from Patrick is outstanding and because of the open source community there is a vast array of documentation and resources available online

HTH
Gordon McLean
clickdigital.com
Gordon McLean
Clickdigital.com
Gordon McLean
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:24 pm
Location: UK

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby alan.bourke » Wed May 20, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi, I realise that there is a lot more to Velocity than just the reports. However there would be a learning curve to reimplement that report which I'd rather avoid unless I have to take it on.
alan.bourke
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Is this possible in VelocityReport?

Postby lwjwillemsen » Wed May 20, 2015 2:36 pm

Yes, and what about end user report design ?
We have lots of end users working with JasperSoft Studio to define (complex) Jasper Report files...
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Next

Return to Servoy Web Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests