7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Questions and answers regarding the use of eclipse environment as seen in Servoy Developer

7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby CFDaddy » Tue Jun 03, 2014 3:30 pm

Since we upgraded to 7.4 about 3 weeks ago we have had 6 occasions where our workspace gets "corrupted". What I mean by that is Servoy Developer locks up and when we try to restart it it hangs and will not restart. We have tried rebooting the PCs to no avail. The only thing we can do is to C:\Servoy\developer\configuration\.settings\org.eclipse.ui.ide.prefs and modify the RECENT_WORKSPACES line to be empty. Restarting Servoy, we can then create a new workspace. I've tried to then connect back to the old workspace but it just hangs when restarting.

We have tried to identify a pattern when this happens but it is random in that we are doing very different things when the issue occurs. This is happening on Windows 7 x64 and Window 8 x64 machines equally and the most recent occurrence was yesterday when I tried to update to 7.4.1. I had my solution open, but no forms or scripts open in the editor. I ran the Check for updates and selected the 7.4.1 update. It ran fine, restarted and prompted me to update the Server version. I did but upon restart after the install was finished the workspace was once again corrupted.

Has anyone else seen this happen? Like I said, it has only ever happened since the 7.4.0 update we did. 7.3.x never had this problem.


Keith
Keith L. Miller
Director of Technology
ProjecTools
4099 Hwy 36 North, Bellville, Texas 77418
P 713.371.9840 x1601 F 713.371.9841
E [email protected] W www.projectools.com
User avatar
CFDaddy
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Bellville, TX USA

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby patrick » Tue Jun 03, 2014 6:38 pm

Do you have mylyn installed? One flavor of mylyn comes with the full package of subversion for example. You can check that by opening "About Servoy developer" and then "Installation details". If you see some mylyn package and don't use it, uninstall it. (At least) the version that comes with subversion doesn't migrate well to the new eclipse version that ships with 7.4. I have seen that problem only with mylyn installed. You can uninstall it, restart and install it again. Fixed all my issues.
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3610
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby CFDaddy » Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:27 pm

Thanks for the response Patrick. No, I do not have Mylyn installed. We have Subclipse installed but as seen below, we do not install the Mylyn component rather only the items you see checked:

Image
Image

Any other suggestions?
Keith L. Miller
Director of Technology
ProjecTools
4099 Hwy 36 North, Bellville, Texas 77418
P 713.371.9840 x1601 F 713.371.9841
E [email protected] W www.projectools.com
User avatar
CFDaddy
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Bellville, TX USA

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby kwpsd » Wed Jun 04, 2014 12:56 am

Version: 7.4.1 - build 2028

I, too, have a similar problem since 7.4.0, but Servoy Developer does not lock up for me.

servoy_error_1.png
servoy_error_1.png (16.71 KiB) Viewed 2336 times


servoy_error_2.png
servoy_error_2.png (23.58 KiB) Viewed 2336 times


@Patrick: If you would like me to send you my .log file, please let me know (the .log extension is not allowed for attachments).
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby Mccourt.cordingley1372837951 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:16 pm

+1 To this. We are also seeing this error frequently.
User avatar
Mccourt.cordingley1372837951
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:52 am

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby mstokoe0990 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:31 pm

+1 also.

I too am constantly seeing this error.
Michael Stokoe
(Version: 7.4.0 - Windows 8.1 - SQL Server 2008 R2)
mstokoe0990
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:26 am

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby kwpsd » Wed Jun 11, 2014 7:03 pm

Created Support Issue: SVY-6691 (Fixed 07/04/2104)

Related item: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=20460 ?
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby sovanm » Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:39 pm

Hello,

I am still seeing this pop up in my developer regularly. I have installed servoy 7.4.2rc afresh today and checkout the solution from SVN. It started showing the pop up again while building the solution.

Can someone having this problem in 7.4.1 confirm if I am the only one still having the issue after updating?

I am attaching the metadata.log from the workspace. There is nothing registered in servoy.log.

Thanks
Sovan
Attachments
workspace_metadata_log.txt
(192.31 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
sovanm
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:55 pm
Location: Bhubaneswar, India

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby jcompagner » Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:02 am

the only way to fix this is that we have your full workspace (so 7zip it and send it over or make a download options)
so that we can run and test it on your workspace

You have some code construct in a certain javascript file where the parser just bombs out on (it somehow recursive 1 object pointing to another and that points back to the first)

By the way others persons will not just be able to reproduce this, this is very specific to a certain piece of javascript code
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7978
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby sovanm » Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:13 am

Hi Johan,

Sorry, I missed it to post back here.

You are correct Johan, there was actually a code which somehow creating a recursion and using up all the stack space.
Interesting thing is that piece of code was never executed. I mean it was in a If-Else block and always the else block was executed. I know this code should not be there, but it was there from before.

I am sharing the code that was causing the stackoverflow. Hope you can explain,

Code: Select all
/** @type {file} */
var file;
var newFile = plugins.file.convertToJSFile(file.getParentFile().getAbsolutePath()+ "/" + globals['replaceChars'](fileName, " ", "_"));


Either by commenting these line or changing the JSDoc from file to JSFile solves the issue in my developer.

Thanks
sovanm
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:55 pm
Location: Bhubaneswar, India

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby jcompagner » Thu Oct 23, 2014 11:20 am

this has nothing to do with the execution of the code. The error happens in the developer itself (in the code editor) not in a client.

for me that code snippet doesn't cause me any problems if i just past then in in a code editor
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7978
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby sovanm » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:26 pm

Hi Johan,

Thank you very much for spending time on testing the code.

I am able to reproduce it in 7.4.2rc and 7.4.1 as well. I am attaching a test workspace from my environment where I was able to reproduce it. Please help me understand this. Commenting out the code will do it for me but I want to understand why it had happened.

Here is a link to video showing how to reproduce it.

Thanks
Sovan
Attachments
Workspace_test.zip
(89.48 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
sovanm
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:55 pm
Location: Bhubaneswar, India

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby jcompagner » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:44 pm

please make a case with that workspace
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 7978
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: 7.4.x Corrupted Workspace

Postby sovanm » Thu Oct 23, 2014 2:22 pm

Case created : SVY-7395

Thanks
sovanm
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:55 pm
Location: Bhubaneswar, India


Return to Eclipse Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests