How to ask Servoy not to create a table when using a view

Questions and Answers on installation, deployment, management, locking, tranasactions of Servoy Application Server

How to ask Servoy not to create a table when using a view

Postby Bernd.N » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:19 am

In this thread, we talked about using views to minimize DB Selects from Servoy for table forms with a lot of related fields:
https://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=21763

For testing purposes for that thread I created a test view _v_test in my normal solution.
When I installed the new update for my customers today, I noticed that Servoy automatically created a table _v_test on their DB server, which it should not do.

We have a dozen of other views alive for some Jasper reports, where this did not happen.
For _v_test I did set the RowIdent Column to "row ident", because Servoy complained about a missing PK (see other thread at the end), that was the difference to the other views.

Is there a way to avoid this auto-creation of a table when using a view?
Bernd Korthaus
LinkedIn
Servoy 7.4.9 SC postgreSQL 9.4.11 Windows 10 Pro
User avatar
Bernd.N
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Langenhorn, North Friesland, Germany

Re: How to ask Servoy not to create a table when using a vie

Postby patrick » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:30 am

Isn't that what the "Skip database views import" option is for?

If a view doesn't exist, Servoy will create a table instead. Usually, you create a view manually in the target DB before you deploy a solution using that view. Then nothing is created.
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: How to ask Servoy not to create a table when using a vie

Postby Bernd.N » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:01 pm

Thank you, that is easy.

Is "Skip database views import" an option only in Servoy 8 ?
Because I can not find it in Servoy 7 in http://localhost:8080/servoy-admin/solutions/import
Bernd Korthaus
LinkedIn
Servoy 7.4.9 SC postgreSQL 9.4.11 Windows 10 Pro
User avatar
Bernd.N
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:57 pm
Location: Langenhorn, North Friesland, Germany

Re: How to ask Servoy not to create a table when using a vie

Postby patrick » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:30 pm

That could be, yes.
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3586
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany


Return to Servoy Server

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron