Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Using Servoy to administrate the content of your website? Discuss all webrelated Servoy topics on this forum!

Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby bobcusick1332964082 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:06 pm

Hey Network Expert Type Folks!

Is there a way to force Servoy to use https for webclient request?

I have a customer (that doesn't have control over their own router) who wants all traffic coming into http://myDomain:8080/servoy-webclient/* to go to https://myDomain:8443/servoy-weblient/*

Any advice on how to set it up?

Thanks in advance!

Bob
bobcusick1332964082
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby ngervasi » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:20 am

No control over the router? Hmmm... I'd say: install apache, set it up to listen to port 8080 (why not also 80 and 443?) using ssl and use it to proxy the connection to the servoy server using an AJP connector, this way no matter what port the users hit, they are always connecting using ssl. The extra advantage is that it's easier to set up SSL on apache than on servoy's tomcat.
More info on my website: http://www.sintpro.com/downloads/Advanced_WebClient_Dev_&_Deployment.pdf
ngervasi
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Arezzo, Italy

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby bobcusick1332964082 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:49 am

Thanks, Nicola!

I guess I'll have to do some reading on how to *exactly* set everything up... any suggestions?
bobcusick1332964082
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby mboegem » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:40 am

Hi Bob,

forcing Servoy to use https is pretty good documented on the servoy wiki (wiki.servoy.com)
search for SSL.

If you need any help, pls let me know.
_____________________
Marc Boegem
Solutiative / JBS Group, Partner
• Servoy Certified Developer
• Servoy Valued Professional
• Freelance SAN Developer

Image
User avatar
mboegem
 
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Location: Hoofddorp, The Netherlands

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby Harjo » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:39 am

Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4290
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby bobcusick1332964082 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:45 pm

Thanks guys for all your help - it's very much appreciated!
bobcusick1332964082
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby juan.cristobo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:39 am

Hi all,

I also want to force webclients to use https, I read the wiki and the clients can log into servoy using https://myDomain:8443/servoy-weblient/*, but the URL http://myDomain:8080/servoy-webclient/* still works :?:
How can I do disable that URL and force webclients to use https URL?
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby Harjo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:41 am

Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4290
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Force Webclient To Use SSL?

Postby juan.cristobo » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:02 pm

Ops... I had put the security-constraint tag in application_server/server/conf/web.xml instead of application_server/server/webapps/ROOT/web_inf/web.xml :oops:

Now it works right!!

Thanks,
Juan
Madrid (Spain)

Servoy 7.4.x - MySQL / SQL Server 2008-2016
Windows 10 Pro
juan.cristobo
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:12 am


Return to Web Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests