Is

Release notes for Servoy betas

Is

Postby full_noize » Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:33 am

Hello,

Could some kind soul tell me if this what Servoy 4.1 final is supposed to look like? I can't see any debug stuff anywhere... And I have set default perspective


Image

Thank you.
Phil Barnett

Servoy 4.1.3 build 672
Sybase
Windows 2003
North Shore & Hills District Moving and Storage
Removalist Sydney
Storage Sydney
full_noize
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:41 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is

Postby mboegem » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:00 am

Hi,

seems pretty normal to me. What might be confusing is that not all perspectives do have a 'buttoned' entry as default.

If you look into the 'window' menu choose 'open perspective' > 'other' you will see a list with different perspective.
Be aware of your default perspective: 'form design'.
Once you switch to a different perspective there is no 'buttoned' way back by default, so you have to do this the same way.

It is possible to have (and create) different perspectives and store them on a tab panel at the upper right corner of eclipse.

Another way to reach the debugger is to set a breakpoint in the method you want to debug and start the action that will use this method.
Servoy will warn you that it will switch to a different perspective etc. etc.

Good luck!
_____________________
Marc Boegem
Solutiative / JBS Group, Partner
• Servoy Certified Developer
• Servoy Valued Professional
• Freelance SAN Developer

Image
User avatar
mboegem
 
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Is

Postby full_noize » Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:12 am

Thanks Marc, that is now very obvious! In time, I'll get used to Eclipse...
Phil Barnett

Servoy 4.1.3 build 672
Sybase
Windows 2003
North Shore & Hills District Moving and Storage
Removalist Sydney
Storage Sydney
full_noize
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:41 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is

Postby amcgilly » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:43 pm

While on the subject of debugging ...

Under 4.0.1 if I want to run and/or debug a specific method from within Serclipse, I am doing the following:

1 - open the solution that includes that method in a client window
2 - navigate to the method in the solution explorer
2 - right-click on the method in the solution explorer
3 - select 'Debug Method'

I notice that there are a lot of other 'debug as' commands available, such as when you right-click on the method (function) name in the script editor, or in the outline pane. They are often a lot more convenient than what I've described above. Can any of these 'debug as' commands be made to work the same way? When I try to use them I don't get thrown into the debugger, I just get errors and sometimes Serclipse hangs.
Adrian McGilly
Servoy Developer

Image
amcgilly
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:03 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Is

Postby jcompagner » Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:25 pm

those Debug as -> dont work at the moment, maybe we can improve that to have Debug as -> "Servoy method" in the future

But in the outline view you also have "Debug method" that will also work just like in the Solution explorer tree.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8460
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Is

Postby jcompagner » Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:28 pm

mboegem wrote:Once you switch to a different perspective there is no 'buttoned' way back by default, so you have to do this the same way.


what do you mean with this?
Open perspectives can always be "buttoned" back
thats in the top right cornder, just make that place a bit bigger.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8460
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet


Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron