Servoy Advanced Programming Guide For FileMaker Developers

Release notes for Servoy betas

Postby Morley » Wed Aug 20, 2003 3:08 am

Introduction to a series of postings

Greetings from the Lake of Bays in the Muskoka lakes district on Ontario, where I'm reading the excellent document Servoy Advanced Programming Guide For FileMaker? Developers User's Guide.

I've been making notes on points needing clarification, at least for me. I'm an experienced FMP developer and programmer, but have almost no background in any other programming environment. I find SQL as described in this document liberating. I look forward to putting the power of SQL to work with Servoy. This is exciting.

Because my notes have become so lengthy (so is the document I'm reading) I've chosen to break it up and post in a series of topics in this forum, each beginning with a page number from the source document in question.

I welcome comments and instruction. I don't imply the document is inadequate in any way. It's well written, well thought out, very worth reading. Think of this as questions from the student at the back of the class.

Two general comments. The first half of the document reviews SQL and JavaScript concepts, occasionally but hardly ever discussing FMP equivalents, thus making for very hard reading and understanding for the neophyte to these environments. The second half reverses itself, running down all the FMP script steps and functions, the Servoy equivalents, one by one.