SQL Queries

Release notes for Servoy betas

SQL Queries

Postby Nicolas Daum » Mon Oct 27, 2003 3:22 am

Hello List

I am currently evaluating Servoy. I am a 4D developer. I used to work with FMPro too. I am shopping for an alternate tool with standard languages.

I just read the 'Servoy Developer.pdf' doc. and I have a couple of questions to start with.

* I saw nothing concerning SQL Queries. It is a must-have for me. I managed with lots of work to mimick queries in 4D but it's not the real thing. Is there anything to edit queries spanning more than one table and its related child tables? If so how to view them? If not is there a plan to implement queries in the near future? I read somewhere about temporary tables but it's not clear.

* The portal feature looks pretty much like in FMPro. In case of joins (or so-called Many to Many relationships) how is it possible to display fields from the other Many table? For example in an Order form, how to display the product name, reference, etc. in the portal lines. From page 71 I have the impression it's Calculations that make it possible. If so it's very FMPro like. And it's quite a no-no for me.

TIA
Cheers
Nicolas Daum

Postby maarten » Mon Oct 27, 2003 9:48 pm

Hi Nicolas,

Welcome to Servoy talk!

Is there anything to edit queries spanning more than one table and its related child tables? If so how to view them?

Go into the method editor and check out the Databasemanager tree.
You can do lot's of SQL stuff here, including locking and transaction control.
rightclicking on a method gives you some sample code to figure them out.
Here's an example:
//get a dataset based on query
var maxReturedRows = 10;//usefull to limit number of rows
var query = 'select c1,c2,c3 from test_table';//do not use '.' or special chars in names or aliases if you want to access data by name
var dataset = databaseManager.getDataSetByQuery(controller.getServerName(), query, null, maxReturedRows);