Servoy 3.0 Release Candidate 2

Release notes for Servoy betas

Postby bcusick » Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:19 pm

NOTE: This feature is not working ONLY IN DEBUG mode. Should work fine when the debugger is off.

The team is well aware of the problem, and are working to correct it ASAP.
Bob Cusick
bcusick
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 11:27 pm
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA USA

Postby faheemhameed » Thu Aug 24, 2006 5:21 pm

Great!! You are such a good team! Hope to see this fixed soon!
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

onRecordSave problems

Postby amcgilly » Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:42 pm

Servoy Developer
Version 3.0rc2-build 366
Java version 1.5.0_08-b03 (Windows XP)

1. With autoSave set to false, onRecordSave is being called when I first select a record, and again when I leave it. When I first open a form a start nexting through its records this doesn't happen, but from the moment I click in a field on the form, this starts to happen. I expect onRecordSave to fire only when I'm leaving a record I've "touched" either by clicking or tabbing into one of its elements.

2. When I return false from the onRecordSave method, it still saves the record when I select a different record. This is the case with autoSave on or off.

This is in the smart client, on a solution that was created in 2.2.5 and then upgraded through 3.0 betas, RC1, RC2, in case that makes a difference.

Maybe I'm missing something. What I thought we were aiming for in 3.x is an onRecordSave event that

a) will ONLY be called when a user is LEAVING a record that was "clicked into"
b) will let me to PREVENT auto-saving by returning false

I was also expecting that if I turned autoSave off, no changes would be saved until I issue a saveData. In my tests, changes are being saved automatically as I leave the record even with autoSave off.


Thanks.
Last edited by amcgilly on Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:52 am, edited 5 times in total.
Adrian McGilly
Servoy Developer

Image
amcgilly
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:03 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Error msg: I'm not the row manager for row

Postby amcgilly » Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:47 pm

Servoy Developer
Version 3.0rc2-build 366
Java version 1.5.0_08-b03 (Windows XP)

Often, when going in and out of design mode I get this message:

"I'm not the row manager for row"

and then Servoy goes brain-dead on me. I can't get back into run-time mode. I close the solution and it leaves a navigation (aka controller) form onscreen. etc. etc.
Adrian McGilly
Servoy Developer

Image
amcgilly
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:03 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

controls on paged lists

Postby amcgilly » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:34 am

Servoy Developer
Version 3.0rc2-build 366
Java version 1.5.0_08-b03 (Windows XP)

In the web client I see the << < 1 2 > >> controls Servoy is putting below lists that have more rows than can be displayed within the list object.

In FireFox, I often can't click on these controls, even though they are underlined and blue - my cursor doesn't turn into a hand when hovering over these controls. When this happens, the only way I can get them to work is to tab to them and then hit return.

Also I'm wondering if there will be a way for us to customize these controls and put buttons with attractive icons there.
Adrian McGilly
Servoy Developer

Image
amcgilly
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:03 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Valuelist problem in web client

Postby amcgilly » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:46 am

Servoy Developer
Version 3.0rc2-build 366
Java version 1.5.0_08-b03 (Windows XP)
I have a pair of "cascading valuelists" that work fine in the smart client but don't work in the web client. By "cascading valuelist" I mean this:

list 1 is a list of projects
list 2 is a list of phases for the project selected in list 1

In the smart client I am able to make the lists "cascade" without using setValueListItems(), and it works. In the web client, list 2 is showing up empty. I can send sample code if you want. I was going to upload screenshots but I don't seem to have that option on the forum at this time (???)
Last edited by amcgilly on Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
Adrian McGilly
Servoy Developer

Image
amcgilly
 
Posts: 375
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 12:03 am
Location: San Francisco, CA

Postby chartpacs » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:10 am

I have a minor GUI issue to report. This may not even be unexpected behavior, but if you have buttons in list view (whether they be images or built-in buttons) and you've set the rolloverCursor property to HAND, then the hand cursor doesn't appear until *after* you've clicked the button.

I was expecting the cursor to appear before clicking, like it does in record view.
Regards,
Servoy Developer
Version 3.1 beta2-build 401
Java version 1.5.0_06-64, Mac OS X 10.4.8
User avatar
chartpacs
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 6:50 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:40 am

Adrian,

Please make a (or a few) cases of your findings in our support system:

http://crm.servoy.com/servoy-webclient/ ... oy_support
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby pbakker » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:54 pm

Hi,

Got an HTML field with the following HTML:
Code: Select all
<html>
  <head>
   
  </head>
  <body>
    <table>
      <tr>
        <td>
          <a href="javascript:xxx()"><img style="border-right-width: 0px; border-style: solid; border-bottom-width: 0px; border-top-width: 0px; border-left-width: 0px" src="media:///ledyellow.png">
</a>        </td>
      </tr>
    </table>
  </body>
</html>


The Image (src="media:///ledyellow.png") doesn't show in the WebClient.

Got an Label in a tableview with an unstored calculation of type media attached as dataprovider and a onActionMethod attached. Code of the calculation:
Code: Select all
switch(state)
{
case -1:
   return plugins.http.getMediaData("media:///ledyellow.png");
case 0:
   return plugins.http.getMediaData("media:///ledred.png");
case 1:
   return plugins.http.getMediaData("media:///ledgreen.png");
default:
   return plugins.http.getMediaData("media:///ledorange.png");
}


In the WebClient, the Image is not shown. Instead of the image, a button is shown with the follwoing text: "[button]"

Should either of these two situations work inthe WebClient, or not?

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Paul: this is not supported right now
Will look if i can fix that for rc3
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby pbakker » Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:57 pm

In the WebClient:
- forms in TableView with a TitleHeader and a Body: the body is shown inside the TitleHeader area, with a maximum height equal to the height of the TitleHeader area. In other words: the body isn't located under the TitleHeader area, but inside the TitleHeader area and doesn't stretch

- forms in TableView that are shown inside a TabPanel that are too wide to be fully shown inside the tabPanel are not limited in width to the size of the TabPanel, but stretch out beyond the width limitations of the TabPanel, instead of being shown partially and with a horizontal scrollbar to get to the right part of the TableView.

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 25, 2006 3:28 pm

Sean,

hand cursor in listview is a know problem, and can't be really easily fixed.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby pbakker » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:40 pm

Another sizing issue in the WebClient:
- If you have a TabPanel on your form and the form in the Tab is larger than the size of the tabPanel, scrollbar are shown (not in the case of Forms in TableView, see 2 post earlier up this thread).

Teh vertical scrollbar (on the right) is shown within the dimension of the tabpanel, but the horizontal scrollbar is drawn outside the tabpanel.

So, if you set the tabpanel's size in developer to 100*100 (w*h) and you place a tab inside the TabPanel with a form that is larger than 100*100, you will get:
- Smart Client: where needed: a horizontal and/or vertical scrollbar drawn inside the tabpanel dimensions, so the size of the TabPanel remains 100*100
- WebClient: where needed: a horizontal and/or vertical scrollbar. The vertical scrollbar is drwan inside the dimensions of the TabPanel, the horizontal scrollbar is drawn outside the dimensions of the tabpanel, making the size the tabpanel occupies something like 100*120 (the horizontal scrollbar seems to occupy about 16 pixels and above the scrollbar there is some extra space).

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:09 pm

i improved tabpanel layouts a lot today. So hopefully it will work much better in RC3
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:22 pm

Adrian,

i did try to test your issues and all are working fine as far as i can see.

1> onRecordSave only called when the record is really trying to be saved this is called when autosave = false is on, because onRecordSave is a ui stop, so it will still be called even if autosave is false. But then the record will still nto be saved.

2> if you return false on onRecordSave it wil stop the save for everything.

if autosave is off then the data is never saved.

So do you really see the E in the status bar dissappearing when autosave is off and you didn't do a save in javascript?

Please add cases for this in our support system if you still see these things in RC2/RC3
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8454
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

PreviousNext

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest