Servoy 3.1 Beta 2

Release notes for Servoy betas

Servoy 3.1 Beta 2

Postby Jan Blok » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:03 pm

We announce the immediate availability of Servoy 3.1 Beta 2 (Multi Developer Release)

NOTE: this is PRE-RELEASE SOFTWARE, use with caution and make BACKUPS before you start.

This version is available through auto update and download page on Servoy website (developer section)

Changes:
[fix]-Listview form with no body produces errors
[fix]-HTML areas don't accept uppercase tags like <HTML> and </HTML>
[fix]-field of type PASSWORD attached to dataprovider does not keep data changes
[fix]-value lost in find mode when multiple records are created
[fix]-SQL generation problem when having many omitted records
[new]-controller.setPageFormat(...)
[new]-databaseManager.createEmptyDataSet(...)
[new]-utils.stringEscapeMarkup(...)
[new]-elements have a function getElementType(), returns a text string, like "TEXT_FIELD"
[enh]-multidev:modules editable (edit/remove/delete methods or edit valuelist/relations or modules)
[enh]-multidev:styles are synced over developers
[enh]-multidev:Audit support: In the LOG_SERVER connection a developer_audit table will be created and all changes/saves will be recorded: who,when and what.
[enh]-tabpanel addTab(...) function, has optional index argument where the tabpanel must be inserted

Previous releases:
http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=7387
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby Harjo » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:17 pm

Hi Jan,

[new]-databaseManager.createEmptyDataSet(...)


what can we do with this function? practical example?
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Postby Jan Blok » Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:36 pm

Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby patrick » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:38 pm

And I would love to have that available in a plugin (being able to return a dataset)! Is that possible?
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby pbakker » Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:38 pm

Returning a dataset in from a plugin function is allready possible for a long time:

Code: Select all
   public    JSDataSet          js_xxx()
   {
       Object[] oa = null;
       Vector v = new Vector();
       String[] s = new String["row1","row2","row3"]
      
       BufferedDataSet bds = new BufferedDataSet(new String[]{"columnName"},v);
      
          for (int i = 0; i < s.length; i++)
      {
         oa = new Object[1];
         oa[0] = s[i];
         bds.addRow(oa);
         oa = null;
      }
      JSDataSet jsds = new JSDataSet(bds);
      return jsds;


Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby patrick » Tue Nov 28, 2006 9:03 pm

Thanks Paul! I will try that tomorrow.
Patrick Ruhsert
Servoy DACH
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby chartpacs » Sun Dec 03, 2006 5:07 am

Hello,

I've been away from Servoy for a tiny bit, and I just noticed that the TAB key now exits a textarea instead of inserting a tab. Bravo! :D :D :D

When exactly was this enhancement added?
Regards,
Servoy Developer
Version 3.1 beta2-build 401
Java version 1.5.0_06-64, Mac OS X 10.4.8
User avatar
chartpacs
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 6:50 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH

Postby Jan Blok » Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:55 am

We did not change this, it must be an Java update, the userinterface guidelines are implemented but the Look And Feels and not by Servoy.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Servoy 3.1 Beta 2

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:19 pm

Hi Jan and all others

We installed this Version - thanks a lot for it! It's great to be able to access and edit all modules now from within the main module (for example). What is a bit strange is if two or more developers are going to work on the same forms, no warning/blocking occurs!? We think there should be a warning for that situation, shouldn't it? Or do we miss something or is it because of the beta status?

An enhancement suggestion: It would (now) be very nice to have in the Choose form window (menu Window more...) the forms grouped by modules and the More... menu on the very top of the Window menu for easy access (currently one has every time opening the Window More... menu first scroll (a long way) down to the menu.

Thanks for a reply and best regards, Robert


Jan Blok wrote:We announce the immediate availability of Servoy 3.1 Beta 2 (Multi Developer Release)

NOTE: this is PRE-RELEASE SOFTWARE, use with caution and make BACKUPS before you start.

This version is available through auto update and download page on Servoy website (developer section)

Changes:
[fix]-Listview form with no body produces errors
[fix]-HTML areas don't accept uppercase tags like <HTML> and </HTML>
[fix]-field of type PASSWORD attached to dataprovider does not keep data changes
[fix]-value lost in find mode when multiple records are created
[fix]-SQL generation problem when having many omitted records
[new]-controller.setPageFormat(...)
[new]-databaseManager.createEmptyDataSet(...)
[new]-utils.stringEscapeMarkup(...)
[new]-elements have a function getElementType(), returns a text string, like "TEXT_FIELD"
[enh]-multidev:modules editable (edit/remove/delete methods or edit valuelist/relations or modules)
[enh]-multidev:styles are synced over developers
[enh]-multidev:Audit support: In the LOG_SERVER connection a developer_audit table will be created and all changes/saves will be recorded: who,when and what.
[enh]-tabpanel addTab(...) function, has optional index argument where the tabpanel must be inserted

Previous releases:
http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=7387
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Postby jcompagner » Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:31 pm

Robert,

Do both developers get a dialog that you need to login before you see the open solution dialog?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby jcompagner » Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:05 pm

Robert,

More... menu item is now on top instead of at the bottom.

Please add a feature request for the other request for the window menu/dialog.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:42 pm

Hi Johann

jcompagner wrote:Robert,

Do both developers get a dialog that you need to login before you see the open solution dialog?


No, unfortunatly none of the developers get a dialog to login. I have read the Beta1 threat but don't see what I'm doing wrong.

- I have set up an admin user on the server
- In the Network Settings, I have set:
java.rmi.server.hostname: 127.0.0.1
SocketFactory.useTwoWaySocket: unchecked
SocketFactory.useSSL: unchecked
servoy.multideveloper.address: 10.0.1.2 (Server IP)
servoy.multideveloper.audit: checked
I have the same settings on the clients and the server - is that correct? Or is it only needed on the client side?
- I don't see a blue m in the status bar
- clients get their IP address by a DHCP server on an Airport network

Best regards, Robert
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Postby jcompagner » Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:02 pm

and do the developers connect to the same repository database as the application server does?

So the 3 instances: 1 ApplicationServer and 2 Developers should all connect to the exact same database server.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:31 pm

Hello Johann

jcompagner wrote:and do the developers connect to the same repository database as the application server does?

So the 3 instances: 1 ApplicationServer and 2 Developers should all connect to the exact same database server.


I am a step further. Application Server ist startet manually with servoy_server.sh, is it? Is this always to be done after starting the db (iAnwhere) server process? I assume so.

Now I get the dialog to login which works now, I have set java.rmi.server.hostname: 10.0.1.2 (Repository machine, i. e. Mac OS X Server). But when leaving Servoy Developer, I get this message:

error window

Cannot save solution

com.servoy.j2db.persistence.RepositoryException: com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybSQLException: ASA Error -193: Primary key for table 'servoy_elements' is not unique
com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybSQLException: ASA Error -193: Primary key for table 'servoy_elements' is not unique

I have no idea where this comes from.

Best regards, Robert

PS: BTW, In this Servoy Talk Forum, I do not get the button anymore to be able to send you an attachment (used to be there .-)
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Postby jcompagner » Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:21 pm

We will investigate the sequence out of sync problem (and how to fix that for you)
Also we would like to know how you got that and if you can reproduce it somehow.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Next

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests