Page 2 of 4

WebKit technology

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 3:57 pm
by remon kortman
Could the fact that Apple recently changed something on the WebKit technology be the reason why the webclient won't start?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 4:29 pm
by ROCLASI
Hi Remon,

WebKit has nothing to do with other services like the java webstart or the embedded Tomcat server in Servoy. Unless they of course use WebKit which is not the case with Servoy.

As Rob Gansevles already noted in this thread that they made a change in the embedded Tomcat webserver and that you can fix it (in the mean time) by launching Developer with the following options:
Code: Select all
java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -jar servoy_developer.jar


Hope this clear things up.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:28 am
by gautier
I think the freeze of Safari is due to Safari and not Servoy, we can read all over internet that this version is the worth beta software apple ever done....
Even if you use Safari as a "standard" web browser it freeze all the time.

3.5 RC3 addFoundSetFilterParam

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:35 am
by Michael Mooney
I realize we are somewhat pre-release on documentation. I am trying to use the new addFoundSetFilterParam to filter on a set of tables.

Some of my tables are "global" in nature and in use by several companies - I do not need to have these filtered except through the usual db node or .relation or search techniques.

Others form a set of tables that are shared by several companies. Typically, these will share a common database instance and separate connection string through DB Server (App Preferences) entries.

My shared records need to be filtered on a surrogate foreign key, type integer (INT4).

If I call addFoundSetFilterParam, will I filter the foundset:

a) Permanently, regarding of what is going on elsewhere in Search/Find activities?

b) Permanently, regardless of what else is going on in the DB node (I am less certain about this happening here than question a) ... )

c) Can I call addFoundSetFilterParam with a NULL or other parameter to cancel the "permanent" setting on the foundset filter? In other words, how long is this parameter "permanent"? Session duration? Other?

Thanks,

Michael

ps: I have noted the sample code in the Servoy Method Editor:

//Add a filter parameter to limit the foundset permanently
var success = foundset.addFoundSetFilterParam('customerid', '=', 'BLONP');//possible to add multiple
foundset.loadAllRecords();//to make param(s) effective

Smart client

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:36 am
by DomTom
I can no more start the smart client in development :?:

That was running in rc2.

DomTom.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:47 am
by ROCLASI
Hi DomTom,

To launch Rich client you also need the webservices (Tomcat). So launch Developer with the following line in Terminal:
Code: Select all
java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -jar servoy_developer.jar


Hope this helps.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:18 pm
by dpearce
Webclient,

I have just noticed that some table views with relationships that were working in previous betas and still work in Smart Client are not displaying anything in webclient?

Has anyone else noticed any odd behaviour of this nature? I am certain these were not broken in RC2.

David

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:10 pm
by LOGIsoft
About this line of code:

Code: Select all
java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -jar servoy_developer.jar


Is there some place in one of the properties files where we need to include this to avoid the problem?

Thanks,

Ben

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:03 pm
by ROCLASI
You need to type that in the terminal to start Developer with.
Or you put it a .sh or .bat file.

Hope this helps.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:43 pm
by LOGIsoft
Thanks Robert. What I should have said is 'What about when using Servoy Server' - is there a change in one of the config files that needs to be made?

TIA,

Ben

Unusual appearance of Servoy Sample data in Repository

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:54 pm
by Michael Mooney
We use a Postgres repository. During routine development work under RC3, all of a sudden a Table appeared called Contacts. This is not part of our schema: it definitely appears to have all the earmarks of Servoy sample data ... we looked at the schema and the sample data and it isn't ours.

How could this suddenly appear in our Solution? We did not do any importing and the like. :shock: :?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:31 pm
by ROCLASI
Hi Ben, seems your reply to this issue slipped through.

LOGIsoft wrote:What I should have said is 'What about when using Servoy Server' - is there a change in one of the config files that needs to be made?


I believe you use Windows so I looked it up for you.
In the Servoy directory you have the services directory.
In there you find the wrapper.conf file. Edit this file.
Then you go to the following section:
Code: Select all
# Java Additional Parameters
wrapper.java.additional.1=-Djava.awt.headless=true
wrapper.java.additional.2=-Duser.dir="C:\Program Files\Servoy"
wrapper.java.additional.3=-XX:MaxPermSize=128m

Add this line:
Code: Select all
wrapper.java.additional.4=-Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true

And save the file.
I took this from the 3.1.6 install but I think the 3.5 is about the same.
My educated guess is that this should work :)

EDIT: I just installed 3.5rc3 on my windows box and it simply works or at least I can access the admin pages. So it seems this issue is Mac only (?)
So if you meant how to start Servoy server on Mac then you need to edit the servoy_server.sh file in the Servoy directory. Make sure it looks like this:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh

while true
do
   java -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Djava.awt.headless=true -Xmx256m -Xms64m -XX:MaxPermSize=128m -classpath .:lib/ohj-jewt.jar:lib/MRJAdapter.jar:lib/compat141.jar:lib/commons-codec.jar:lib/commons-httpclient.jar:lib/activation.jar:lib/antlr.jar:lib/commons-collections.jar:lib/commons-dbcp.jar:lib/commons-fileupload-1.0.jar:lib/commons-logging.jar:lib/commons-pool.jar:lib/concurrent.jar:lib/dom4j.jar:lib/help.jar:lib/hibernate3.jar:lib/j2db.jar:lib/j2dbdev.jar:lib/jdbc2_0-stdext.jar:lib/jmx.jar:lib/jndi.jar:lib/js.jar:lib/jta.jar:lib/BrowserLauncher2.jar:lib/jug.jar:lib/log4j.jar:lib/mail.jar:lib/naming-factory.jar:lib/naming-resources.jar:lib/ohj-jewt.jar:lib/oracle_ice.jar:lib/server-bootstrap.jar:lib/servlet-api.jar:lib/wicket-extentions.jar:lib/wicket.jar:lib/wicket-calendar.jar:lib/xerces.jar:lib/concurrent.jar:lib/slf4j-api.jar:lib/slf4j-log4j.jar:lib/joda-time.jar com.servoy.j2db.server.ApplicationServer "$@" 1>> server.log 2>> server.log
   EXITCODE=$?
   if [ "$EXITCODE" != 99 ]; then exit $EXITCODE; fi
done


Hope this helps.

Re: Unusual appearance of Servoy Sample data in Repository

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 11:34 pm
by ROCLASI
Hi Michael,

Do you see the table in the repository db ? Or in your solution data db.
You used this database when running older versions of Servoy as well ?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:26 pm
by LOGIsoft
Thanks Robert for your (always) clear explanations and instructions. Much appreciated. :D

Sincerely,

Ben

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:32 am
by Michael Mooney
Hi Robert,

1. Visible in both the db (8.2.4) and the solution data providers.

2. This is a brand new db instance and new postgres repository. Total of 11 databases (one was from an older 3.1.5/6-->3.5rc2 solution). Older one brought in via a solution clean import (including schema initialization).

Localhost on 5432.

Michael