Servoy 3.5 rc7

Release notes for Servoy betas

Postby Hans Nieuwenhuis » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:37 pm

Would it be oke to install two instances of Servoy on the same Windows box? One as Server and one as Developer.

One "server" in .../Servoy_server

One "developer" in .../Servoy_developer

and start developer only from the developer instance ??
and have the server running from the server instance at the same time ??

If it is allowed, then you have a developer and a server environment on the same server. Mainly for testing purposes.

Tia
Hans Nieuwenhuis
Betagraphics
http://www.deltics.nl
http://www.betagraphics.nl

Servoy Version 7.3.1
Java version 1.7.0.x
Database Oracle 11g
User avatar
Hans Nieuwenhuis
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:36 pm
Location: Hengelo, The Netherlands

Postby IT2Be » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:47 pm

So long as you use these two on different repositories and databases it is something many developers do.
However, when you mix either of these (or both) you are in trouble.
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby jcompagner » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:48 pm

you can't start the services on the the developer or you have to change all the ports (like 8080 and so on).

But it is possible to connect with a developer to the server repository, only be careful with database changes!
And when you alter stuff to the solution the server won't see it and you need to flush the soluton. Also when you change the database you need to restart the server.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Postby pbakker » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:51 pm

You can have as many instances of Servoy running on the same machine, no problem there. The things you have to look out for are the following:
    - Don't share the same properties file between two instances (an instance being Servoy server or Servoy Developer)
    - Make sure you configure different ports for all instances (or disable HTTP Services in Developer instances)
    - When each environment uses their own databases: Make sure they run on different ports and you connect to the proper one.
    - When sharing databases between instances, be aware that changes done through one instance of Servoy are not broadcast to the other instance of Servoy. When you make use of Servoy Sequences in your solutions, you're bound for trouble here, so either use database sequences then, or don't share databases between instances of Servoy.
    - when connecting multiple instances of Servoy to the same Repository Database: ALERT!!! ALERT!!! ALERT!!! know what you're doing.... Plenty of advice on this forum already about the do's and donts in this area.


Regards,

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby pbakker » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:53 pm

So, everyone eager to respond on this one.... :D
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby IT2Be » Tue Jul 31, 2007 12:53 pm

You are correct :)
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby jcompagner » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:14 pm

hmm marcel was even 1 minute quicker then me..
i have to speed up.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8828
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re:

Postby antonio » Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:44 pm

pbakker wrote:
    - Don't share the same properties file between two instances (an instance being Servoy server or Servoy Developer)
    - Make sure you configure different ports for all instances (or disable HTTP Services in Developer instances)
    - When each environment uses their own databases: Make sure they run on different ports and you connect to the proper one.
...
Paul


Hi Paul, I've followed the instructions in the Servoy Server manual. What i did was duplicate the entire Servoy folder, changed the ports in server.xml for one instance, changed the RMI settings in Properties. If I run both at once, it always connects to the first opened database (eg MyData.db, which exists in both Servoy and Copy of Servoy folders), as there is only a single ASA Anywhere server running.

Here's the first server.xml (and RMI set to 1098)
Code: Select all
<Server port="8005" shutdown="SHUTDOWN_NOW">
  <!-- Define the Tomcat Stand-Alone Service -->
  <Service name="Catalina">
    <!-- Define a non-SSL HTTP/1.1 Connector on port 8080 -->
    <Connector port="8080" minProcessors="1" maxProcessors="75"
               enableLookups="true" redirectPort="8443"
               acceptCount="10" connectionTimeout="60000"/>
    <!-- Note : To disable connection timeouts, set connectionTimeout value to -1 -->

    <!-- Define the top level container in our container hierarchy -->
    <Engine name="Catalina" defaultHost="localhost">

      <!-- Because this Realm is here, an instance will be shared globally -->
      <Realm className="org.apache.catalina.realm.MemoryRealm" />

      <!-- Define the default virtual host -->
      <Host name="localhost" appBase="webapps" unpackWARs="true">


        <!-- Access log processes all requests for this virtual host.  By
             default, log files are created in the "logs" directory relative to
             $CATALINA_HOME.  If you wish, you can specify a different
             directory with the "directory" attribute.  Specify either a relative
             (to $CATALINA_HOME) or absolute path to the desired directory.
        -->
        <Valve className="org.apache.catalina.valves.AccessLogValve"
                 directory="logs"  prefix="localhost_access_log." suffix=".txt"
                 pattern="common"/>

        <Context path="/lib" docBase="../../lib"/>
        <Context path="/plugins" docBase="../../plugins"/>
        <Context path="/beans" docBase="../../beans"/>
        <Context path="/lafs" docBase="../../lafs"/>
      </Host>
    </Engine>
  </Service>
</Server>


and here's the other (and RMI set to 1099)

Code: Select all
<Server port="9005" shutdown="SHUTDOWN_NOW">
  <!-- Define the Tomcat Stand-Alone Service -->
  <Service name="Catalina">
    <!-- Define a non-SSL HTTP/1.1 Connector on port 8081 -->
    <Connector port="8081" minProcessors="1" maxProcessors="75"
               enableLookups="true" redirectPort="9443"
               acceptCount="10" connectionTimeout="60000"/>
    <!-- Note : To disable connection timeouts, set connectionTimeout value to -1 -->

    <!-- Define the top level container in our container hierarchy -->
    <Engine name="Catalina" defaultHost="localhost">

      <!-- Because this Realm is here, an instance will be shared globally -->
      <Realm className="org.apache.catalina.realm.MemoryRealm" />

      <!-- Define the default virtual host -->
      <Host name="localhost" appBase="webapps" unpackWARs="true">


        <!-- Access log processes all requests for this virtual host.  By
             default, log files are created in the "logs" directory relative to
             $CATALINA_HOME.  If you wish, you can specify a different
             directory with the "directory" attribute.  Specify either a relative
             (to $CATALINA_HOME) or absolute path to the desired directory.
        -->
        <Valve className="org.apache.catalina.valves.AccessLogValve"
                 directory="logs"  prefix="localhost_access_log." suffix=".txt"
                 pattern="common"/>

        <Context path="/lib" docBase="../../lib"/>
        <Context path="/plugins" docBase="../../plugins"/>
        <Context path="/beans" docBase="../../beans"/>
        <Context path="/lafs" docBase="../../lafs"/>
      </Host>
    </Engine>
  </Service>
</Server>


How should I make sure DBs run on different ports and I'm connecting to the proper one?

Thanks for the help.
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2022.03 LTS
antonio
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Re: Re:

Postby svroemisse » Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:18 am

antonio wrote:How should I make sure DBs run on different ports and I'm connecting to the proper one?


In your Servoy sybase_db/sybase.config file, the port either is or can be configured. In newer installs, the first line looks like this:
Code: Select all
-ti 0 -x tcpip{dobroadcast=no;port=2638} -qs -qw -o sybase_db/sybase_log.txt

The Sybase default port number is 2638, change it to anything you like. Then, in the Servoy database definions, you must alter the port number to match. You'll need to restart both Sybase en Servoy afterwards.
Sandor Vroemisse
Servoy
User avatar
svroemisse
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby antonio » Mon Aug 25, 2008 5:21 pm

Thanks, that's clear (and obvious now that you mention it!). Could I suggest that something (suitably generic for different flavours of SQL) is added to the section of the Servoy Server Admin Guide that deals with running multiple instances of Server on one machine (para 14.7 in the Servoy 3.5 manual).
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2022.03 LTS
antonio
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby antonio » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:30 pm

Clear, but no joy yet. I changed the DB ports in sybase_config and in Servoy Prefs and restarted.
I can start either copy of Servoy alone. However, when I try to run them both, the second opened instance fails with Can't connect to the repository server....
I've got different RMI ports etc in each server.xml, as above.
(Mac OS 10.4, Sybase 9)

This is the servoy log

Code: Select all
2008-08-26 02:21:26,820 ERROR [AWT-EventQueue-0] com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug - Throwable
java.rmi.ConnectException: Connection refused to host: localhost; nested exception is:
   java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:574)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.createConnection(TCPChannel.java:185)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.newConnection(TCPChannel.java:171)
   at sun.rmi.server.UnicastRef.newCall(UnicastRef.java:306)
   at sun.rmi.registry.RegistryImpl_Stub.lookup(Unknown Source)
   at java.rmi.Naming.lookup(Naming.java:84)
   at com.servoy.j2db.plugins.ClientPluginAccessProvider.getServerService(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.q.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.q.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.menubar.b.c(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.y.e(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.fg.b(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.fg.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.menubar.c.unload(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.plugins.PluginManager.flushCachedItems(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.ClientState.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.J2DBClient.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.develop.J2DBDeveloper.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.J2DBClient$7.windowClosing(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Window.java:1203)
   at javax.swing.JFrame.processWindowEvent(JFrame.java:267)
   at java.awt.Window.processEvent(Window.java:1161)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4050)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2068)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:1791)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:3885)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:463)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:190)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:176)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:110)
Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(PlainSocketImpl.java:333)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(PlainSocketImpl.java:195)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(PlainSocketImpl.java:182)
   at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:430)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:520)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:470)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:367)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:180)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIDirectSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIDirectSocketFactory.java:22)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIMasterSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIMasterSocketFactory.java:128)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:569)
   ... 31 more
2008-08-26 02:21:26,822 ERROR [AWT-EventQueue-0] com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug - Throwable
java.rmi.ConnectException: Connection refused to host: localhost; nested exception is:
   java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:574)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.createConnection(TCPChannel.java:185)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPChannel.newConnection(TCPChannel.java:171)
   at sun.rmi.server.UnicastRef.newCall(UnicastRef.java:306)
   at sun.rmi.registry.RegistryImpl_Stub.lookup(Unknown Source)
   at java.rmi.Naming.lookup(Naming.java:84)
   at com.servoy.j2db.plugins.ClientPluginAccessProvider.getServerService(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.q.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.q.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.ftp.b.c(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.y.e(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.fg.b(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.common.fg.a(Unknown Source)
   at com.it2be.servoy.plugin.ftp.c.unload(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.plugins.PluginManager.flushCachedItems(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.ClientState.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.J2DBClient.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.develop.J2DBDeveloper.shutDown(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.J2DBClient$7.windowClosing(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Window.java:1203)
   at javax.swing.JFrame.processWindowEvent(JFrame.java:267)
   at java.awt.Window.processEvent(Window.java:1161)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Component.java:4050)
   at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Container.java:2068)
   at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Window.java:1791)
   at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Component.java:3885)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:463)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:190)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:176)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:110)
Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(PlainSocketImpl.java:333)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(PlainSocketImpl.java:195)
   at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(PlainSocketImpl.java:182)
   at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:430)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:520)
   at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:470)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:367)
   at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:180)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIDirectSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIDirectSocketFactory.java:22)
   at sun.rmi.transport.proxy.RMIMasterSocketFactory.createSocket(RMIMasterSocketFactory.java:128)
   at sun.rmi.transport.tcp.TCPEndpoint.newSocket(TCPEndpoint.java:569)
   ... 31 more
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2022.03 LTS
antonio
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby ROCLASI » Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi Tony,

Did you change/add the port setting for Sybase in the sybase.conf, changed it to another port than 2638? (Also Sandor said it was in sybase_db/servoy.conf but that is sybase_db/sybase.conf)
Also check the sybase_log.txt in that same directory to see WHY the database server won't open (from either installation).
'Can't connect to the repository server' has everything to do with your database server (i.e. Sybase).

Hope this helps.
Robert Ivens
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer

ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
Mastodon: @roclasi
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5438
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby jkipling » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:49 pm

This is probably a stupid question, but how do you upgrade servoy server from 3.5 rc6 to rc7 without using auto-updater? I need to upgrade developer and server. Is there anyway to do it remotely using the Servoy Server admin page?
jkipling
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: Natick, MA

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby IT2Be » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:56 pm

Is there anyway to do it remotely using the Servoy Server admin page?
Nope, not through the admin pages.
You can update the server through servoy_server_updater.jar though.
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Servoy 3.5 rc7

Postby svroemisse » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:56 pm

jkipling wrote:This is probably a stupid question, but how do you upgrade servoy server from 3.5 rc6 to rc7 without using auto-updater? I need to upgrade developer and server. Is there anyway to do it remotely using the Servoy Server admin page?

I assume you mean to upgrade to Servoy 3.5.7 :)

There is no way to do it via the admin page. You can, however, update from the command prompt - whether remote or local - like so:
Code: Select all
java -jar servoy_server_updater.jar

With 3.5, you will need to repeat the process for every version released between your current version and the desired version. This is fixed in 4.0.
Sandor Vroemisse
Servoy
User avatar
svroemisse
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

PreviousNext

Return to Latest Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron