How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Questions and answers for all installation-related topics for Servoy products

How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Postby jcarlos » Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:54 pm

This is the first time I installed Servoy Application Server only.

I followed the instructions at http://wiki.servoy.com/pages/releaseview.action?pageId=4560035.

The problem is that I don’t know how to start the Sybase SQL Anywhere instance so that Servoy can access the repository.

I can’t find this information in the documentation. Does anyone know what to do?

BTW, I just want to start the database used as the Servoy repository. I don’t want to install it as a Service - primarily because I don’t want to install Sybase Central.

Thanks!

JC
jcarlos
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California USA

Re: How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Postby jcarlos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:19 am

Ok, I think I got the database instance working. I went inside the sybase_db directory and click on the database engine file (dbeng11.exe). I had then the option of opening a database. See the image below:

Starting_Servoy_Repository.JPG
Starting_Servoy_Repository.JPG (62.38 KiB) Viewed 2178 times


Then I started the Servoy Service and set it to Start up “automatically.” Then I started Servoy Server by triggering the servoy_server.bat. I also checked port 8080 for HTTP traffic and port 1099 for RMI. They are both open.

The problem, I am still “unable to connect” to http://localhost:8080/servoy-admin/
Last edited by jcarlos on Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
jcarlos
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California USA

Re: How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Postby jcarlos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:39 am

I also noticed that the Servoy server batch file closes abruptly. Is it supposed to stay open?

These are the lines that repeatedly appear in the database log file:

Connection terminated abnormally; client socket shut down
Disconnected TCPIP client's AppInfo: HOST=securities2
Connection terminated abnormally; client socket shut down
Disconnected TCPIP client's AppInfo: HOST=securities2
Connection terminated abnormally; client socket shut down
Disconnected TCPIP client's AppInfo: HOST=securities2
Connection terminated abnormally; client socket shut down

Please help!
jcarlos
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California USA

Re: How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Postby jcarlos » Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:00 am

Ok, I resolved the issue. Still, I do not understand the underline reason of the problem.

This is what did:

1) I noticed that there was a directory named .Servoy into the server user directory. I think that it was taking over port 8080. I think that this was created while I was testing a client application in that machine. I removed this directory
2) I also uninstall Servoy ‘entirely’ – and I remove ServoyService too
3) I perform a clear Servoy Application Server installation but this time I did NOT install the server as a service.
4) Then I got started the database instance as I explained before.
5) I started the Servoy server and everything seems to be working just fine.

Does anybody have an explanation of what happened here?

Could have this been a conflict between the Servoy Server as a Service and just the Servoy Server?

Could have this been a problem originated by the directory downloaded with the client application a couple of days ago?
jcarlos
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California USA

Re: How to start database instance re: Application Server only

Postby pbakker » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:50 am

If you install Servoy as a Service and the service is started, it means that a Servoy Application Server is started, so you don't need to start Servoy Server manually.

So, if you had both the service and an manually started Servoy App Server running, it's quite likely you had port conflicts, unless you changed the port settings yourself.

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron