Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Questions and answers for all installation-related topics for Servoy products

Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby kschuster » Tue May 03, 2011 12:06 am

Servoy version 5.2.7 -build 1013
MySQL 5.5.10 innodb utf8 as default

I setup servoy to run with MySQL (repository) - I never installed the default DB. I manually created the default tables in MYSQL - udm, pdf_forms, log_server, example_data, user_data.

I then tried to bring in some of the default sample solutions via the web server-admin. I continue to get the following error.
com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.MySQLSyntaxErrorException: Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs

I can't for the life of me figure it out. This is the error in the server log after trying to import the solution _Start_here.servoy
Code: Select all
com.servoy.j2db.persistence.RepositoryException: com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.MySQLSyntaxErrorException: Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Zc.Zo.Za(Zo.java:673)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Zc.Zo.syncTableObjWithDB(Zo.java:1092)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Ze.Zk.importDatabaseInfo(Zk.java:78)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Ze.Zeb.Za(Zeb.java:306)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Ze.Zeb.importFromJarFile(Zeb.java:322)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.servlets.ConfigServlet.Zj(ConfigServlet.java:532)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.servlets.ConfigServlet.service(ConfigServlet.java:3717)
     at javax.servlet.http.HttpServlet.service(HttpServlet.java:717)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.internalDoFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:290)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.ApplicationFilterChain.doFilter(ApplicationFilterChain.java:206)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardWrapperValve.invoke(StandardWrapperValve.java:233)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContextValve.invoke(StandardContextValve.java:191)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHostValve.invoke(StandardHostValve.java:128)
     at org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:102)
     at org.apache.catalina.valves.AccessLogValve.invoke(AccessLogValve.java:567)
     at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngineValve.invoke(StandardEngineValve.java:109)
     at org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:293)
     at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Processor.process(Http11Processor.java:849)
     at org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11Protocol$Http11ConnectionHandler.process(Http11Protocol.java:583)
     at org.apache.tomcat.util.net.JIoEndpoint$Worker.run(JIoEndpoint.java:454)
     at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    Caused by: com.mysql.jdbc.exceptions.jdbc4.MySQLSyntaxErrorException: Row size too large. The maximum row size for the used table type, not counting BLOBs, is 65535. You have to change some columns to TEXT or BLOBs
     at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
     at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
     at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
     at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Unknown Source)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.Util.handleNewInstance(Util.java:411)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.Util.getInstance(Util.java:386)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.SQLError.createSQLException(SQLError.java:1052)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.checkErrorPacket(MysqlIO.java:3597)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.checkErrorPacket(MysqlIO.java:3529)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.sendCommand(MysqlIO.java:1990)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.sqlQueryDirect(MysqlIO.java:2151)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.ConnectionImpl.execSQL(ConnectionImpl.java:2619)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.ConnectionImpl.execSQL(ConnectionImpl.java:2569)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.StatementImpl.execute(StatementImpl.java:813)
     at com.mysql.jdbc.StatementImpl.execute(StatementImpl.java:656)
     at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor38.invoke(Unknown Source)
     at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
     at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
     at com.servoy.j2db.Za.Za.Zf.invoke(Zf.java:5)
     at $Proxy0.execute(Unknown Source)
     at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DelegatingStatement.execute(DelegatingStatement.java:264)
     at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DelegatingStatement.execute(DelegatingStatement.java:264)
     at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DelegatingStatement.execute(DelegatingStatement.java:264)
     at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DelegatingStatement.execute(DelegatingStatement.java:264)
     at com.servoy.j2db.server.Zc.Zo.Za(Zo.java:1306)
     ... 20 more
kschuster
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby rgansevles » Wed May 04, 2011 10:23 pm

kschuster,

I just downloaded mysql 5.5.11 and imported the sample crm solution without problems.
Which solution fails for you?

Rob
Rob Gansevles
Servoy
User avatar
rgansevles
 
Posts: 1927
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby kschuster » Wed May 04, 2011 11:02 pm

Most everyone I tried failed. One I can tell you for sure is _Start_Here

Are you using INNODB?
When you created the databases in MySQL what character set did you use?
kschuster
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby rgansevles » Fri May 06, 2011 4:19 pm

When I use default encoding utf8 I get the same error.

I have requested that the samples will be modified to fit in this db.

As a workaround you can create the start_here_info table by hand before import:

Code: Select all
create table start_here_info
(info_id integer not null, sort_order integer, is_webcompatible integer, solution_name varchar(255),
file_name varchar(255), overview varchar(5000), unique_features varchar(8000),
how_to_use varchar(8000), item_name varchar(255), image longblob, thumbnail longblob, primary key (info_id))


Make sure to restart developer before retrying import.

Rob
Rob Gansevles
Servoy
User avatar
rgansevles
 
Posts: 1927
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby kschuster » Fri May 06, 2011 4:37 pm

Thanks for this!
Could it be a matter of changing the default encoding? I don't know much about the encoding...
kschuster
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby rgansevles » Fri May 06, 2011 5:27 pm

You can alter the default encoding (char set) of an existing db:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.5/en/ ... abase.html

Rob
Rob Gansevles
Servoy
User avatar
rgansevles
 
Posts: 1927
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:17 pm
Location: Amersfoort, NL

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby kschuster » Fri May 06, 2011 6:24 pm

I guess a better question is what character set would have made this work from the start?
kschuster
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby jcarlos » Sat May 07, 2011 12:59 am

I am having the same problem because I use default encoding utf8. I’ll change that, it’s not a problem. But, what encoding should I use for the example solutions’ databases?
jcarlos
 
Posts: 578
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Palo Alto, California USA

Re: Importing sample solutions fails with MySQL

Postby kschuster » Sat May 07, 2011 8:51 am

Latin1 worked for me
kschuster
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 4:42 am
Location: Houston, TX


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests