Servoy developper crashing immediately, PostgreSQL issue?

Questions and answers for all installation-related topics for Servoy products

Servoy developper crashing immediately, PostgreSQL issue?

Postby peter.mair » Fri May 17, 2013 8:24 pm

Hi all,
please excuse, if my problem has an obvious solution, but I am coming from the Foxpro world and I am totally new to Servoy. So I hope somebody has a solution or can at least point me to the right resources
I installed the Servoy Developer Version 7.1.0 under Ubuntu 11.10 into ~/servoy using all default settings incl. the PostgreSQL database. When I start the servoy programm from the developper folder, I get the splash screen, showing a moving progress bar, a very short flash of the developper user interface and finaly an empty message box titled "Servoy". Does not react on trying to close it, have to kill the servoy task.

I have some suspicion that the problem is related to the PostgreSQL DB not being configured properly. In two logfiles I found the following messages:
- From servoy_log.txt:
Code: Select all
ERROR [main] com.servoy.j2db.util.Debug - Cannot start repository:  [ ]
com.servoy.j2db.persistence.RepositoryException: Error checking repository
   at com.servoy.j2db.server.Za.Za.Zb(Za.java:586)
   at com.servoy.j2db.server.Za.Za.<init>(Za.java:1693)
   at com.servoy.j2db.server.Za.Za.<init>(Za.java:738)
   at com.servoy.j2db.server.Za.Zo.Za(Zo.java:332)
   at com.servoy.j2db.server.main.ApplicationServer.main(ApplicationServer.java:562)
Caused by: org.postgresql.util.PSQLException: Verbindung verweigert. Überprüfen Sie die Korrektheit von Hostnamen und der Portnummer und dass der Datenbankserver TCP/IP-Verbindungen annimmt.

- From postgres_log.txt
LOG:  database system was shut down at 2013-05-17 00:09:23 CEST
LOG:  database system is ready to accept connections
LOG:  autovacuum launcher started
FATAL:  role "peter" does not exist
LOG:  received smart shutdown request
LOG:  autovacuum launcher shutting down