Development server

Questions and answers for all installation-related topics for Servoy products

Development server

Postby m.noel » Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:33 pm

The person supporting a Servoy apps left our company, and I have been tasked with supporting it, and I have no prior knowledge,so please excuse simple questions.

I figured the best starting point was to install a separate "development" server, and duplicate the environment before trying to change anything.

The production system was using version 5.2.10, so I am using it as I do not know what else I may be introducing by installing a newer version. (thoughts welcome)

I have successfully installed the developer and server on a windows 2008 server box. (success being I can use a browser on a different computer to get to the server and I see the "active" solution from the development environment listed) Now I have a couple questions...
The server has 1 developer license key which I was able to use on the dev server, it also has 50 client licenses, which the dev server did not accept (drop down list on License information page on the dev server only lists "Developer").

On the production server we have 5 solutions, when I access the server I get a list of them, and can click on any one to open it.

On the dev server if I go to "servoy-admin" I do not see an import option (I do on the production server) Is this because of the client license issue? Normally, if I wanted to have multiple solutions, would I just import them and they would show up? Is it possible to borrow a couple clients for my development box so it can look as close as the same as possible?

Any other thoughts or suggestions for a beginner are welcome

Mike
m.noel

Re: Development server

Postby pentamsi » Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:43 pm

By default the servoy development enviroment, no have options of server, like import solutions, styles, and so many things, if you want to run as server, you need to run the service in the developer.