TIP: Single Developer Using Multiple Machines

Find out how to get things done with Servoy. Post how YOU get things done with Servoy

TIP: Single Developer Using Multiple Machines

Postby Kahuna » Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:55 pm

Hi Folks

As a stand alone developer I have been struggling with the challenge of needing to develop on multiple PC's. I travel between 3 offices and also use my laptop whilst away from the office and always want my development environment and latest version of my app to hand. I want my data and Servoy solution ready to run without the need to continually export and import etc.

Options I considered / tried:

USB Memory: I've tried using USB sticks (lost 1 and destroyed another over the last year), and have been using 'AlwaySynch' to keep the laptop in synch, then each PC from the laptop. Messy! Also calls for SQL dumps etc to sync the data.

Export / Import: One of the problems with ex/import is data. If using the 'export data too' selection with Servoy, if the table already has data then the import does not add the data - and often times I've added just a little data to an existing table to test certain aspects of the app - so the new data is essential.

SVN / CVS: Using a multi developer environment would offer certain benefits such as staged versioning etc. But the extra complexity and necessity to manually synch changes and check-in/out is not really warranted (recall I'm a single developer and I'll be using only 1 PC at a time). I'd also need my data on an accessible server someplace too - which is not something I have to hand. SVN just feels like 'overkill' for my requirements.

So, long-story-short, what I needed was a means to have the same stuff on each PC without exporting and SQL dumping etc. Something where I could simply fire-up my development PC (which ever one it is) and start developing from where I left off last time.