Selecting same value in Valuelist

Discuss all feature requests you have for a new Servoy versions here. Make sure to be clear about what you want, provide an example and indicate how important the feature is for you

Selecting same value in Valuelist

Postby pradiptab » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:15 pm

Hello

I have a valuelist attached to a dropdown .
The valuelist is based on database table.
In the valuelist I am displaying a field value and returning its ID.

When there are 2 or more occurances, where the display value is same, the valuelist is selecting the first match of the display value and returns its id.

example:
DISPLAY_VALUE REAL_VALUE
servoy 1
servoy 2
servoy 3

Even you select 2nd or 3rd record always the first record is selected with return value 1.

I dont want to append any other value (like id) to the display value, to distinguish the display value.

So can anybody tell me how to get rid of it?
And is it a bug in Servoy?
Pradipta
Mindfire Solutions
SAN Developer | Servoy Certified Developer
pradiptab
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: India, Orissa, Bhubaneswar

Re: Selecting same value in Valuelist

Postby jcompagner » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:39 pm

this is currently not supported.
We do search the list for the real id based on the display value.
So the first 1 is found before the next. So that one will always be selected
Maybe in the combo case we could fix this somehow, but for example if you would use that same valuelist on a typeahead this is much harder to fix.

But why have 2 display values that are the same? How can a user select 1 or the other? what is the difference for him?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8212
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Selecting same value in Valuelist

Postby pradiptab » Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:46 pm

Thanks Johan

But I have a situation where I am showing list of doctors names.
On selecting any doctor its appointments are displayed in calendar.
And there may be more than one doctors having same name.
But selecting any name it shows the first matching doctor's name with its data.
Pradipta
Mindfire Solutions
SAN Developer | Servoy Certified Developer
pradiptab
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: India, Orissa, Bhubaneswar

Re: Selecting same value in Valuelist

Postby jcompagner » Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:24 pm

but how do users then know what doctor to select??
the first or the second? Where can they base there decision on?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8212
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet


Return to Discuss Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests