Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Discuss all feature requests you have for a new Servoy versions here. Make sure to be clear about what you want, provide an example and indicate how important the feature is for you

Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby martinh » Thu Sep 03, 2009 3:57 pm

It would be great to have possibilty to move relations from one solution to another one

Now I have to create new solution and prefix the relation name with _NEW_
Remove the old relation
And rename the _NEW_ relation to the correct relationname (srctable_to_desttable)

By the way, I have to move about > 50 relations :-( , because I'm splitting my modules (1 module with all forms and 1 module with all relations, calculations, global methods)

I added also a request (# 239369)
Martin
------------------------------------------------
Servoy Developer
Version 5.2.10/5.2.13
Java version 1.6 update 31
Database SQL Server 2008 R2
martinh
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby Harjo » Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:16 pm

YES!! you have my vote also.
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4296
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby sanneke » Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:44 pm

You can allready do this in servoy.
If you open the view Project Explorer and select your relations right-click and choose move.
Sanneke
Yield Software Development: Need help on your project?
yieldsd.com
User avatar
sanneke
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Amersfoort

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby martinh » Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:51 pm

Thanks Sanneke,

I didn't know that. I didn't want to move it directly on OS-level in the workspace because Servoy probably needs to change the UUID

Maybe a good idea to make this also possible in the solution explorer ?
Martin
------------------------------------------------
Servoy Developer
Version 5.2.10/5.2.13
Java version 1.6 update 31
Database SQL Server 2008 R2
martinh
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby sanneke » Thu Sep 03, 2009 4:58 pm

Hi Martin,

I just saw that in Tano that is implemented in the solution explorer.
Sanneke
Yield Software Development: Need help on your project?
yieldsd.com
User avatar
sanneke
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Amersfoort

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby martinh » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:01 pm

OK, then request # 239369 can be set to "Done"
Martin
------------------------------------------------
Servoy Developer
Version 5.2.10/5.2.13
Java version 1.6 update 31
Database SQL Server 2008 R2
martinh
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby martinh » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:38 pm

What I was afraid of, did happen.

My solution doesn't import on my application server

So be careful when moving relations in Project Explorer mode

[error] com.servoy.j2db.persistence.RepositoryException: Root object of element _to_sales_invoice has changed (object has been moved), from globis_sales to globis_sales_methods; delete solution globis_sales first or clean import.
Martin
------------------------------------------------
Servoy Developer
Version 5.2.10/5.2.13
Java version 1.6 update 31
Database SQL Server 2008 R2
martinh
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby Harjo » Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:45 am

sanneke wrote:Hi Martin,

I just saw that in Tano that is implemented in the solution explorer.


Sanneke, is this also the case for calculations, aggregations, table events, etc?

I tried the same as Martin, but doing it via the project explorer, generates all kind of errors in the end.. :-(
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4296
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby lvostinar » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:02 am

Harjo wrote:
sanneke wrote:Hi Martin,

I just saw that in Tano that is implemented in the solution explorer.


Sanneke, is this also the case for calculations, aggregations, table events, etc?

I tried the same as Martin, but doing it via the project explorer, generates all kind of errors in the end.. :-(


It's implemented for forms,relations,valuelists,media (move and duplicate) - in Tano.


martinh wrote:What I was afraid of, did happen.

My solution doesn't import on my application server

So be careful when moving relations in Project Explorer mode

[error] com.servoy.j2db.persistence.RepositoryException: Root object of element _to_sales_invoice has changed (object has been moved), from globis_sales to globis_sales_methods; delete solution globis_sales first or clean import.


Please open a case with this scenario.
Laurian Vostinar
Servoy
lvostinar
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:53 am

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby Harjo » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:25 am

lvostinar wrote:
Harjo wrote:It's implemented for forms,relations,valuelists,media (move and duplicate) - in Tano.


so not for calcs, table events, aggregates?

I have created allready a case for this, a while ago: case: 233,423
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4296
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby sanneke » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:30 am

I am sorry I forgot about the error with importing. I created a case about it, because it is the same in Tano.
I only use this solution for moving relations, so I don't know about calculations, aggregations, table events, etc, but the fact that you get errors says enough.
Sanneke
Yield Software Development: Need help on your project?
yieldsd.com
User avatar
sanneke
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Amersfoort

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby martinh » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:31 am

Harjo wrote:
lvostinar wrote:
Harjo wrote:It's implemented for forms,relations,valuelists,media (move and duplicate) - in Tano.


so not for calcs, table events, aggregates?


I agree that for calcs, table events, aggregates this should also be available

Even global methods and variables should be moved to another module in an easy way.
Now copy the method; remove the UUID header and paste it in another method, so that it gets a new UUID
Because moving a method including the UUID-header is giving troubles on import solution where deploying the solution
Martin
------------------------------------------------
Servoy Developer
Version 5.2.10/5.2.13
Java version 1.6 update 31
Database SQL Server 2008 R2
martinh
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby lvostinar » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:32 am

Harjo wrote:
lvostinar wrote:
Harjo wrote:It's implemented for forms,relations,valuelists,media (move and duplicate) - in Tano.


so not for calcs, table events, aggregates?

I have created allready a case for this, a while ago: case: 233,423


I'm afraid not, the case is not started yet.
Laurian Vostinar
Servoy
lvostinar
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:53 am

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby Harjo » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:42 am

oke, I changed this case a bit, so that it includes global methods & variables also...
Harjo Kompagnie
Direct ICT / Servoy Hosting / ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
User avatar
Harjo
 
Posts: 4296
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Move relation from 1 solution to another one

Postby jcompagner » Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:37 am

move table events? How do you want to do that?
Table event by itself is a global method.
The configuration is a certain file yes but that is prety much hidden (thats just the table editor) so what do you want to select to be moved? The complete table node for that solution? But that is way more then just table events.

What we should look at is that a uuid should be able to move around.. That shouldnt be a problem as long as it is not a duplicate.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8212
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Next

Return to Discuss Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron