Wait cursor

Discuss all feature requests you have for a new Servoy versions here. Make sure to be clear about what you want, provide an example and indicate how important the feature is for you

Wait cursor

Postby patrick » Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:58 pm

Hello,

my customers complain that they don't notice if Servoy is working. For example you hit a tab that fires a complex query that will take a few seconds. Now it'd be really nice if the cursor could change to a watin cursor (stop watch or something similar).

Is that possible?

Thanks
Patrick
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby Morley » Mon May 02, 2005 10:32 pm

I'd also like something along this line.

Some processes in my solution are not instant. Visually there's no user feedback a process has begun. I want to guard against impatient users who click a button a second or third time unnecessarily.

Possible?
Morley Chalmers
7Office Inc.
User avatar
Morley
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby Harjo » Mon May 02, 2005 10:36 pm

Would be nice feature!

For now, you could use the splash-plugin from it2be, and control it this way.
Works for me.
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Postby Morley » Thu May 05, 2005 3:20 pm

HJK wrote:For now, you could use the splash-plugin from it2be, and control it this way.
Works for me.

Code: Select all
var image = plugins.http.getMediaData('media:///7OfficeProcessing.gif');
plugins.it2be_splash.showImage(image, 5, true, 0);
// initiate the complex routine
A large grey blob is drawn on the current screen. When processing is complete the splash finally appears.

Any idea why?
Morley Chalmers
7Office Inc.
User avatar
Morley
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Postby patrick » Thu May 05, 2005 4:00 pm

For now, you could use the splash-plugin from it2be, and control it this way.


I am not really sure we are talking about the same thing. If I have complicated code that needs time to execute (usually a loop) I can notify users myself in various ways. What I am talking about is a single action that might take a while (like accessing a form that uses a complicated query or something like that). In this case I cannot do much, I don't even know if it takes long or not (might depend on a specific record).
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby ebrandt » Thu May 05, 2005 7:51 pm

I remember some where on the forum I saw something regarding a progess bar bean or plugin. Sounds like what you might be looking for, I will use it for some reporting, and maybe even solution startup.
ebrandt
 
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: largo, fl

Postby patrick » Thu May 05, 2005 8:05 pm

Yes, I know. I am using that bean quite a bit. But it only works if the "progress" is in your hands (e.g. in a loop). But if a simple loadRecords() or something like that takes 30 seconds, how should I show a progress? I can show it before I do loadRecords() and hide it afterwards. So first you see a blank bar and after 30 seconds on that is completely filled. That's no so great...
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby ebrandt » Thu May 05, 2005 8:07 pm

well, I have not played with it yet, but sounds like that would not work for a record load scenario
ebrandt
 
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: largo, fl

Postby airmark » Fri May 06, 2005 11:32 pm

Please count my vote for some type of automatic indicator. It could be a hourglass/stopwatch cursor or a dialog (Processing...Please Wait, etc.).
Greg Dendy
Airmark Industries, Inc.
325-641-1999 x.207
airmark
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 10:06 pm

Postby faheemhameed » Wed May 11, 2005 10:47 am

So first you see a blank bar and after 30 seconds on that is completely filled. That's no so great...


You can use application.updateUI() within the loop to see the actual progression
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

Postby pbakker » Wed May 11, 2005 11:05 am

If you're in a loop where you have the ability to update the progress percentage, this works, but if you have one command (for example LoadAllRecords or something like that) this is not an option.

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby faheemhameed » Wed May 11, 2005 11:22 am

that's true...
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

Postby patrick » Wed May 11, 2005 11:30 am

So after 25 comments we are back to my original request :wink:

my customers complain that they don't notice if Servoy is working. For example you hit a tab that fires a complex query that will take a few seconds. Now it'd be really nice if the cursor could change to a watin cursor (stop watch or something similar).
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby pbakker » Wed May 11, 2005 2:21 pm

So, should we start another thread with comments that in the end will result in the same question being unanswered? :D
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby Morley » Wed May 11, 2005 3:30 pm

Until Servoy comes up with something native, the following does work.
Code: Select all
var image = plugins.http.getMediaData('media:///7OfficeProcessing.gif');
plugins.it2be_splash.showImage(image, 1, true, 0);
application.updateUI();
// initiate the complex routine
Requires the splash-plugin from it2be. Puts up a large in-your-face graphic of your own design which hangs in there until the screen redraws at which point it disappears. My graphic says "Processing... Please wait until the screen redraws."

Hope this helps.
Morley Chalmers
7Office Inc.
User avatar
Morley
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 4:54 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Next

Return to Discuss Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests