Wait cursor

Discuss all feature requests you have for a new Servoy versions here. Make sure to be clear about what you want, provide an example and indicate how important the feature is for you

Postby patrick » Wed May 11, 2005 4:28 pm

Paul, I have the impression we are not fully understood here... :?
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby pbakker » Wed May 11, 2005 4:38 pm

Well, partly. The splash option kind of works, but to me it's not a very neat option, since it's static. The HourGlass cursor is neater.

I've tried making a plugin for that, but the cursor is not updated to the hourglass untill you leave the Servoy window and come back into it, or click on the mouse. So, unless I find a way for that, it ain't really working either.

Still, the best way would be for Servoy to control this under the hood...

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby patrick » Wed May 11, 2005 4:59 pm

The splash option kind of works


Only if you know that something will take a while. My problem is more basic. I have related tables with 3 million records. If you hit a tab for example that fishes out 2321 of those it takes longer than if there is only 2 records. How should I know before (how should Servoy??)?

But I think we cut the discussion here. We all know more or less what we mean, do we :roll:

Servoy: is a wait cursor possible for lengthy operations like refreshFromDatabase(), loadRecords(), recalculate()... and maybe simply loading a related foundset?
patrick
 
Posts: 3703
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 10:33 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Postby pbakker » Wed May 11, 2005 5:04 pm

Basically, how it should work is that at the start of process, you start a timer with an initial delay. when the delay has expired (for example after a second) you display the waiting cursor. At the end of the process, you display the regular cursor again.

Marcel could do the same with the Splash Plugin.

this way, it's not shown if the process lenght is less then the initial delay.

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby DFehrenbach » Mon May 16, 2005 6:43 pm

Can someone from Servoy please advise on this request? I have had a similar request in for more than a year
http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t ... light=wait
with no response from the development team. I don't have any idea how difficult of a request this may be to put into effect, but it would be helpful for me, and I suspect others, to know if and/or when such a feature might be expected. Thanks.
Dennis Fehrenbach
DFehrenbach
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 6:48 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH

Postby IT2Be » Tue May 17, 2005 8:38 am

I can't give you guys a waiting /hourglasscursor but you could use the splash Paul refers to.

It will give you the possibility to either set the seconds you want the splash to be shown and/or hide the splash when your process is done. The splash can be as large as you want it to be...

Hope this helps a little :)
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby rafig » Tue May 17, 2005 9:52 am

I had asked Servoy for this as well a long time ago. The problem is that they don't know how long these things take as the system is multi-threaded. If you have ever queried a SQL system directly, you see that the answer to your query may happen in less than a second, BUT, the sending of the records back to you takes a long time.
The only solution I could come up with was to create a couple of global methods that I bracket around a loadRecords or whatever. This displays a message in the status bar at the bottom, and you advise your users to look there to see if soemthing is going on, and not to click again if they see a message there.
The first one is called 'pleaseWait'
Code: Select all
application.setStatusText('Please Wait! Loading data...') ;
application.updateUI() ;

The second one is called 'ready'
Code: Select all
application.setStatusText('Ready') ;
application.updateUI() ;

Then I do something like
Code: Select all
globals.pleaseWait();
forms.companyDetails.controller.showRecords(foundset)
globals.ready();

You can add this either to a button that calls that or in an onShow method (because I don't know of a way other than that of attaching a method to a click on a tab).
Hope this helps a bit. :D
rafig
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Postby Harjo » Tue May 17, 2005 10:07 am

Marcel, can you make an extra option in your plugin?
for example a delay option: 3 seconds.

than the splash only shows after 3 seconds.
Than we've got what we want!
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Postby IT2Be » Tue May 17, 2005 10:12 am

So, you start the plugin and after 3 seconds it will show?

Why not an application.sleep?
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby pbakker » Tue May 17, 2005 10:14 am

You would want to initiate the splash at the start of your method that might take long

But, if the method doesn't take long, you do not want the splash to show

Therefor, when you initialize the plugin, you give it a delay. When the delay has passed, the splash ought to be shown, except when a "stop/hide" command is given before that.

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Postby Harjo » Tue May 17, 2005 10:15 am

.
Why not an application.sleep?


No because, you don't know how long an action will take.

Some actions take about 2seconds with fast connections.
the same action can take about 10 seconds with slower connections
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Postby IT2Be » Tue May 17, 2005 10:22 am

hmm, should be possible. will give it a try later this week (when my planning allows me)...
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby olivier melet » Tue May 17, 2005 1:04 pm

For now this is the only native method we get but not all users are satisfied with.

rafig wrote:The only solution I could come up with was to create a couple of global methods that I bracket around a loadRecords or whatever. This displays a message in the status bar at the bottom, and you advise your users to look there to see if soemthing is going on, and not to click again if they see a message there.


Please servoy team, one 'simple' thing would help us: letting us change the cursor the same way we can change the status bar (having the ability to display a small rotating orange servoy logo would be a must). :D

application.setWaitCursor(true) and application.setWaitCursor(false)
Olivier Melet
Administration et projets
InfoForm SA
olivier melet
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:33 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby rafig » Tue May 17, 2005 2:34 pm

Hi
Please servoy team, one 'simple' thing would help us: letting us change the cursor the same way we can change the status bar (having the ability to display a small rotating orange servoy logo would be a must).


Great idea, let's see if they can do it.
rafig
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Another option

Postby paul » Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:19 pm

See this plugin: http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=7246

Should do everything you need. :)
Paul
Information Technology
DNA Diagnostics Center
paul
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 4:51 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Previous

Return to Discuss Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests