Page 1 of 1

elements.mybutton.setRolloverImageURL

PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:44 pm
by Karel Broer
I'm able to set an image by a method, like:
Code: Select all
elements.mybutton.setImageURL('media:///button_blue.gif');

That's awesome!
What I would like to do is also set the Rollover image, like:
Code: Select all
elements.mybutton.setRolloverImageURL('media:///button_blue_over.gif');

Like this nice feature ? I think this would be 8) !

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:23 pm
by ROCLASI
I second that (or I first this?)

http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=4556

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 7:11 pm
by Karel Broer
ROCLASI wrote:I second that (or I first this?)

http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=4556


Hey, haven't noticed your post, but I totally agree with you, Robert ! :wink:

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 7:20 pm
by Jan Aleman
So, apart from, "whoa I really need this feature today, right now" what is the use of setting the URL dynamicly? Should we open a special forum for this kind of features and the link it to ebay so you can bid for really cool but not necessary features?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:05 pm
by ROCLASI
Well here is a real-life example.

I have a column of border-less buttons with images on the left-hand side of my window that I use for navigating my (logical) modules.
These border-less buttons also have a mouseover image.
Now I want to make this column with buttons dynamic so that user x can only access some modules and user y can use some others.
For this I can hide the buttons that they don't have access to but then you have gaps in the nice row of buttons.
Another option would be to disable them but I prefer to simply not show them. Therefore my feature request.

Since it is already possible to set the image of a button/label I thought it would be trivial to make this also possible for the mouseover image.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:57 pm
by Karel Broer
In addition to Robert, got something similar...

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:12 pm
by tweetie
I want it too....
With dynamic buttons which are controlled through methods it would be a nice feature....
The rollover-images just makes the gui more interactive

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:38 pm
by Stef
ROCLASI wrote:Another option would be to disable them but I prefer to simply not show them. Therefore my feature request.


Why don't you use elements.[element].visible = false ?

That's the way we do it!

HTH
Stef

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:58 pm
by ROCLASI
Hi Stef,

I know of that property and I use that too in some cases.
But for the example I mentioned it would mean a nice row of icons would have 'holes' in it. Reason why I don't want to make them invisible but prefer to disable them instead.

Now if we would have a property to set the RolloverImageMedia (since we already can set the ImageMedia you would think this would almost be trivial to implement) then you can make a row of icons that are dynamic.
Then any excess icons can simply be hidden as you mentioned.
Just as an example.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 6:02 pm
by Stef
ROCLASI wrote:I know of that property and I use that too in some cases.
But for the example I mentioned it would mean a nice row of icons would have 'holes' in it. Reason why I don't want to make them invisible but prefer to disable them instead.

Just as an example.


OK, got it, but isn't it a little frustrating for a user to see buttons he cannot click?

For this matter I use a workaround (one of the only!): portals linked to privileges.

HTH
Stef

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 9:29 pm
by david
jaleman wrote:So, apart from, "whoa I really need this feature today, right now" what is the use of setting the URL dynamicly? Should we open a special forum for this kind of features and the link it to ebay so you can bid for really cool but not necessary features?


Throw my vote in for this. Maybe it's not an emergency but having this ability would have made things easier for me on several occasions. I think it is clear that there are Servoy developers who are quite interface conscious and are pushing the envelope in this area beyond what many thought was possible with Servoy. If this feature is eventually implemented, you will get better functioning applications as a result. This is a good thing for Servoy.

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 4:36 pm
by amason
Any chance of seeing this feature in an upcoming version?

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:20 pm
by Jan Aleman
I wouldn't hold my breath.

Any update?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:04 pm
by monetteboy
Hi,

I was wondering if there was any update on this front. I am writing a new app and have come across a need for setting the rollOverImage in a script.

Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:41 am
by gjaaaf
I think it is clear that there are Servoy developers who are quite interface conscious and are pushing the envelope in this area beyond what many thought was possible with Servoy. If this feature is eventually implemented, you will get better functioning applications as a result.


I completely agree with David, if your interface is important to you this feature should be available. Why did Servoy implement setImageURL without the corresponding setRollOverImageURL, as you can set the rolloverimage from Developer?

Again the question to the Servoy people: any progress in this area?