Filemaker vs Servoy

Share business templates, ideas, experiences, etc with fellow Servoy developers here

Filemaker vs Servoy

Postby rochard » Thu Mar 04, 2004 4:01 pm

I have been a FileMaker developer for about 17 years and have always been wildly enthusiastic about it. That hasn't changed one little bit because FM is a great program and will stay that way (unless Microsoft decides to buy it and then it will rapidly go the way of the Dodo bird!) However I have certain clients whose business has grown so fast that their FM solution is now starting to creak at the seams and reporting, among other things, has slowed down to a point where it just takes too damn long. For that reason, I am spending a lot of time learning Servoy, not because I want to (or will) stop using FM but we all have to use the right tool for each job; Servoy is a very good tool for those projects where FM becomes less than an optimum solution or where it is impossible to convince the client that anything other than an SQL application is what they need. It is interesting to see the different reactions that some FM people have to Servoy; you'd think that the plague had arrived! It's really silly; there is a huge world out there and massive amounts of room for both. Servoy is not now nor never will be a FileMaker killer but it is a killer app and well worth investing the time to learn!
Michael Rochard
rochard

Postby Harjo » Thu Mar 04, 2004 5:10 pm

Well said!
I had the same thoughts as you, in the beginning!
When you use Servoy a lot for let's say an half year, would you share your view again?

I am very curious!
Harjo

Filemaker vs Servoy

Postby rochard » Thu Mar 04, 2004 7:35 pm