Open letter to the Servoy development team

Share business templates, ideas, experiences, etc with fellow Servoy developers here

Open letter to the Servoy development team

Postby ApeWare » Fri Sep 10, 2004 9:37 pm

I recently was introduced to Servoy and was able to make it out to the training in Phoenix. Before going to Phoenix I spent around 3+ hours talking with Bob C. about the features of Servoy; it sounded too good to be true. I have had a lot of experience with software that promises to cure cancer and solve world peace just to find out that it has problems even launching. For this reason, I was excited but suspicious. Could it be possible that someone actually thought out a piece of software and developed it FOR developers? IMPOSSIBLE!!!

So I went to the class and spoke with those who had some experience as well as spent some of my own time playing with the software. I could not find a single person who had anything bad to say about it, nor could I find any problems myself.

After the first day of training I went to my hotel room and after a quick call to Bob C to figure out how to make the connection to my mySQL database I had developed a simple page to allow me to administer my users and activate and inactivate their accounts. This whole process (including the call to Bob C.) took 10 minutes! It would have taken me 3x that long (or longer) to do it in PHP.

A couple days later I sat down with David W. and we (mostly he) replicated 30%+ of the functionality of our query engine (which was done in FileMaker and took approx 2 weeks to build) in just over 2 hours!!!