Splash plugin 1.0 (yeah does what it says)

Questions and answers on developing, deploying and using plugins and JavaBeans

Splash plugin 1.0 (yeah does what it says)

Postby IT2Be » Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:26 pm

My second plugin again adds a function that is not a real need-to-have but for me it sure is a nice-to-haveM-^E

I didnM-^Rt like to show a splashscreen with a normal window behaviour (borders, buttons etc.).

So I played a little to make a splash screen in Java. In fact this was not much fun because there are some good examples floating around on the internet.

Second I had to implement this as a plugin. This was a little harder to do. But, with the help of Johan to show me how to M-^QchainM-^R this window to a Servoy solution I got it going.

So here it is my Splash plugin. You can implement it like:

Code: Select all
plugins.it2be_splash.show(M-^Simage/foo.jpgM-^T, 5, true)


M-^Simage/foo.jpgM-^T = image path string (window resizes to the image Size);
5 = the number of seconds before the screen disappears;
true = allow the user to click the screen away;

The result is attached. Just drop it in your plugins folder and restart Servoy.

Feel free to use it and distribute it but give me credit for it.
The plugin is free, provided M-^Qas isM-^R and I can not take any responsibility for the way it behaves or works.

This plugin gives the taste for more and could be much more. If you have any suggestions or questions please contact me...

Cheers
Last edited by IT2Be on Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Ron » Sat Feb 07, 2004 6:12 pm

Great plugin, well done Marcel!
Ron
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 12:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby pbakker » Sat Feb 07, 2004 6:38 pm

Marcel,

I didn't get this plugin to work with images stored in the repository (using code: media:///logo.gif). Should it work, or is the plugin not aware of this code?

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Re: Splash plugin 1.0 (yeah does what it says)

Postby Riccardino » Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:03 pm

IT2BE wrote:My second plugin again adds a function that is not a real need-to-have but for me it sure is a nice-to-haveM-^E
snip

This plugin gives the taste for more and could be much more. If you have any suggestions or questions please contact me...

Cheers


Great tool, bravo :)

Suggestions: do you think it's possible to add the support for some basic transition (it could be very useful in credit's windows and stuff like that).
User avatar
Riccardino
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:42 am
Location: Ferrara, Italy

Postby IT2Be » Sat Feb 07, 2004 7:14 pm

Paul, sorry but I don't have a solution for that (yet) :cry:
I will see if I can correct this or make a workaround...

Riccardino, NOT SO FAST MAN :wink:
This is exactly what I am playing with now but I can't promise anything... If I do this I want to do it right!
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby Riccardino » Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:42 pm

IT2BE wrote:Riccardino, NOT SO FAST MAN :wink:
This is exactly what I am playing with now but I can't promise anything... If I do this I want to do it right!


Take your time, Marcel :D

And thanks again
User avatar
Riccardino
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:42 am
Location: Ferrara, Italy

Splash plugin 1.1

Postby IT2Be » Sun Feb 08, 2004 11:18 pm

My second plugin (second build) again adds a function that is not a real need-to-have but for me it sure is a nice-to-haveM-^E

The plugin adds the possibility to show a real Splash screen from within a servoy application.

I now added the possibility to show text with and without an image...

Little backdrop is that you canM-^Rt read from the media database directly like M-^Qmedia:///image.pngM-^R. You can however read an image instead of an imagepathM-^E DonM-^Rt know how to do that but you can do it :?

So here it is my Splash plugin.

There are three ways to show a splash:

Image Only
- showImage(): Show the splash at the size of the image

Text Only
- showText(): Show the splash with the size of the text

Image and Text
- show(): Show an image with the text relative to the position of the image

For version 1.0 users: show() is now showImage();

In case of text you have the option to define the background and in both cases you can use html...

For more info see the examples include in the plugin...

The result is attached. Just drop it in your plugins folder and restart Servoy.

Feel free to use it and distribute it but give me credit for it.
The plugin is free, provided M-^Qas isM-^R and I can not take any responsibility for the way it behaves or works.

This plugin gives the taste for more and could be much more. If you have any suggestions or questions please contact me...

Cheers
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby IT2Be » Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:15 pm

HJK: The new version will have the possibility to also read from the media database like:

Code: Select all
'plugins.it2be_splash.showImage(plugins.http.getMediaData("media:///IT2Be.jpg"), 5, true);'


Hope this is the answer to your question...
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby faheemhameed » Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:29 pm

how can I clear the splash within the script?

Thanks
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

Postby IT2Be » Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:33 pm

Hai Hameed,

I haven't made a way to remove the splash other than clicking on it or setting an x number of seconds to let it disappear. What do you want to archieve?
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby faheemhameed » Thu Oct 21, 2004 5:40 am

I want to show a splash before a long running script is started & hide it after it is completed.

I have a method running in the onRecordSave event that updates the history file records using a foundSetUpdater. I wanted to show a splash saying "please wait ...." when the records are updated in the background. It would much better if I can show an animated gif in the splash.


Thanks
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

Postby faheemhameed » Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:47 am

Hi Marcel,

This is can done with your plugin? It would really a great use for me if you can do that. I would really love that.

Thanks a lot
Hameed
Pilot simple software
Hong Kong
User avatar
faheemhameed
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 7:23 am

Postby IT2Be » Sun Nov 07, 2004 2:58 pm

Hmm, I will have a look at it next week.
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby drookwood » Sun Jan 02, 2005 6:44 pm

Hey Marcel,

I wanted to download this plugin - but I cannot see any link to do so! Am I being dumb or is it somewhere else (also cannot find any link to dowmload your files plugin) :?
David Rookwood

SAN Developer
drookwood
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 7:08 pm
Location: Somerset, UK

Postby IT2Be » Sun Jan 02, 2005 6:49 pm

Hello Drookwood, no your brains don't have a memoryleak or any other mishap. The links are plain and simple gone.

At this moment I am restyling/improving all my plugins so either way they are not available now. Somewhere in the upcoming week I will post an announcement including the link to download them.

Cheers
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Next

Return to Plugins and Beans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests

cron