iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Questions and answers on developing, deploying and using plugins and JavaBeans

iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby jdbruijn » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:46 pm

We have a bunch of reports that were created with iReport 4.0, they continue to work in Servoy client.
But now we want to change one of these reports and because iReport is replaced by JasperSoft Studio, we want to use that to maintain the reports.

So we have installed JasperSoft Studio 5.6.0 (as written in the jasperreport plugin wiki).
But when we want to compile these reports we get a long list of errors:

net.sf.jasperreports.engine.JRException: Errors were encountered when compiling report expressions class file:
org.codehaus.groovy.control.MultipleCompilationErrorsException: startup failed:
calculator_MeldingAfdruk_1436535229687_905685: 18: unable to resolve class net.sf.jasperreports.compilers.GroovyEvaluator
@ line 18, column 1.
calculator_MeldingAfdruk_1436535229687_905685: 28: unable to resolve class JRFillParameter
@ line 28, column 5.
calculator_MeldingAfdruk_1436535229687_905685: 29: unable to resolve class JRFillParameter
@ line 29, column 5.
calculator_MeldingAfdruk_1436535229687_905685: 30: unable to resolve class JRFillParameter
@ line 30, column 5.

This is just a sample of the errorlist.
Do we have to convert the reports to make them compatible with JasperSoft Studio?
Jos de Bruijn
Focus Feedback BV
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
jdbruijn
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby lwjwillemsen » Fri Jul 10, 2015 4:53 pm

Hi Jos,

You can set the Jasper report version in Studio.

Regards,
Attachments
Knipsel.JPG
Knipsel.JPG (55.24 KiB) Viewed 7132 times
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby jdbruijn » Fri Jul 10, 2015 5:11 pm

Hi Lambert,

We've tried that, but the error remain.
Jos de Bruijn
Focus Feedback BV
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
jdbruijn
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby kwpsd » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:09 pm

Hi, Jos.

When you upgraded to Jasper Studio 5.6.0, did you also upgrade the Servoy JasperReports Plugin to 5.0.0a2 per the Servoy Forge wiki?

We are pleased to announce that a new version of the Servoy JasperReports Plugin, version 5.0.0 alpha 1, is ready and available for download.
The current version (which is now trunk/head in the source repository) is based on the 5.5.1 version of the JasperReports engine.


Although Jasper recommends using the Groovy language for reports, we found that it causes problems with the Plugin. Consider switching your report language to Java for better compatibility with the Plugin. Be warned, things that were permissible in Groovy will generate errors when you switch to Java (ask me how I know this). Sometimes, a report will not run, and no errors are generated. Other times, the error message may be misleading. Below are some differences we encountered:

With the 5.5.1 and up engine, we discovered that the Jasper Report SQL dialect has changed somewhat in the WHERE clause usage. For example:

WHERE item IN ( 'A', 'B' )


which worked in engine 4.0, failed and had to be changed to:

WHERE item = 'A' OR item = 'B'


in version 5.5.x. Read about the $X parameter usage in the Studio User Guide for more information on WHERE clause modification.

We also found differences using single and double quotes with Studio. For Java strings, always use double quotes. For SQL strings, always use single quotes.

I hope this helps you with the migration to Studio 5.6.0!
Kim W. Premuda
San Diego, CA USA
User avatar
kwpsd
 
Posts: 687
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA

Re: iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby jdbruijn » Sat Jul 11, 2015 11:03 pm

Hi Kim,

kwpsd wrote:When you upgraded to Jasper Studio 5.6.0, did you also upgrade the Servoy JasperReports Plugin to 5.0.0a2 per the Servoy Forge wiki?


Yes we did.

kwpsd wrote:Although Jasper recommends using the Groovy language for reports, we found that it causes problems with the Plugin. Consider switching your report language to Java for better compatibility with the Plugin. Be warned, things that were permissible in Groovy will generate errors when you switch to Java (ask me how I know this). Sometimes, a report will not run, and no errors are generated. Other times, the error message may be misleading.


Thanks for the tips, we will have a look at that.
Jos de Bruijn
Focus Feedback BV
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
jdbruijn
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:34 pm

Re: iReport -> JasperSoft Studio

Postby lwjwillemsen » Mon Jul 13, 2015 8:30 am

Although Jasper recommends using the Groovy language for reports, we found that it causes problems with the Plugin.


We don't see any Groovy related problems when running Jasper reports from the plugin...

Better file an issue on ServoyForge.
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Plugins and Beans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest