Servoy 2.2.5

Servoy announcements

Servoy 2.2.5

Postby Jan Blok » Mon May 01, 2006 1:18 pm

We announce the immediate availability of Servoy 2.2.5

Make a backup of your current Servoy installation (directory and database) before installing.

This version will also be available through auto update shortly (via help menu -> check for new version)

Changes:
[new]-improved sample solutions
[new]-Sybase iAnywhere database engine (version 9.0.2, not in autoupdate)
[fix]-file plugin http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?p=30337#30337
[fix]-dynamic tab add/remove strange behavior http://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?t=5870&start=15
[fix]-checkbox enabling in findmode
[fix]-tab (sequence) skips disabled components
[enh]-number field editing in tableview (without mouse click)
[enh]-for client disconnect problems in bad network environments
[enh]-in a field format property an i18n key can be used
Last edited by Jan Blok on Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby Jan Aleman » Mon May 01, 2006 1:58 pm

As Jan Blok mentions above iAnywhere 9.0.2 is only available in the full installer as it is an external binary we cannot include it in the automatic update, additionally as the automatic update works very simple we find many people clicking on 'Yes get it' before making a full backup. In particular if there is a new database engine it is key to make a full backup before installing it, although it has been tested in many configurations one never knows if in your particular installation problems could arrive.

If you want to upgrade to iAnywhere 9.0.2 here is the recommended upgrade procedure:

1. Stop Servoy and iAnywhere, rename your servoy directory to servoy_old
2. Run the full 2.2.5 installer, install into a new directory with same name and location as your old servoy install (this is helpful in case you have configured startup scripts/services)
3. copy the following from your old install dir to your new one:
- database directory
- servoy.properties file
- sybase_db/sybase.config file
- if you have any extra beans/plugins/drivers also copy them over
4. start Servoy and test to make sure everything goes OK
5. if problems occur delete directory and copy backup back, file problem with Servoy Support

extra points if you test it first in a test environment before doing it in production.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

new servoy update

Postby mauriegio » Mon May 01, 2006 7:13 pm

Hello jan & jan,

i want to say thank you for the new update, maybe i 'm the first to download.

excellent work !!!
mauriegio
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:22 pm

Postby jim » Mon May 01, 2006 10:53 pm

What advantage is there to upgrading to iAnywhere 9.0.2? I.e., what enhancements/fixes.

So far, at least, 2.2.5 works well with 9.0.1 for me (on OSX 10.4.6).

Thank you!

Jim
jim
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:42 pm
Location: Maine

Postby Jan Aleman » Mon May 01, 2006 11:10 pm

The key reason we move to 9.0.2 is that the default download of the tools on iAnywhere's site is 9.0.2 (and not backwards compatible). Beside that there's a long list of minor improvements in 9.0.2 but if 9.0.1 works for you there is no big hurry to upgrade.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby Thunder » Mon May 01, 2006 11:16 pm

Hey all..

Will updating iAnywhere require in production solutions to be updated? if I continue to develop my solution locally but with new iAnywhere, does my client's 9.0.1 get broken when I try to import the latest solution from my 9.0.2??

Thanks

Bevil
Thunder
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 10:33 am
Location: London

Postby Karel Broer » Tue May 02, 2006 11:39 pm

jaleman wrote:extra points if you test it first in a test environment before doing it in production.

Thanks for the update and appreciate all of your hard work, Servoyians!

Like to sum up some errors that occurred on my demo server:

Server Information
Servoy version R2 2.2.5-build 337, repository version 27
java.vm.version=1.5.0_06-64
os.name=Mac OS X
os.version=10.4.6
os.arch=ppc

(didn't upgrade to iAnywhere 9.0.2)

I get this message in my Java Console after running a query:
Code: Select all
java.net.MalformedURLException: no protocol:
java.net.MalformedURLException: no protocol:
   at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:567)
   at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:464)
   at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:413)
   at com.servoy.j2db.util.Utils.getURLContent(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.dataui.DataImgMediaField$2.run(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.dataui.DataImgMediaField.setValue(Unknown Source)
   at com.servoy.j2db.dataprocessing.ax.getTableCellRendererComponent(Unknown Source)
   at javax.swing.JTable.prepareRenderer(JTable.java:3924)
   at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicTableUI.paintCell(BasicTableUI.java:2070)
   at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicTableUI.paintCells(BasicTableUI.java:1972)
   at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicTableUI.paint(BasicTableUI.java:1895)
   at javax.swing.plaf.ComponentUI.update(ComponentUI.java:154)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintComponent(JComponent.java:742)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1005)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JViewport.paint(JViewport.java:726)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at com.servoy.j2db.dataui.m.paintChildren(Unknown Source)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JViewport.paint(JViewport.java:726)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintChildren(JComponent.java:842)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paint(JComponent.java:1014)
   at javax.swing.JComponent._paintImmediately(JComponent.java:4881)
   at javax.swing.JComponent.paintImmediately(JComponent.java:4667)
   at javax.swing.RepaintManager.paintDirtyRegions(RepaintManager.java:477)
   at javax.swing.SystemEventQueueUtilities$ComponentWorkRequest.run(SystemEventQueueUtilities.java:114)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:461)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:269)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:190)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:184)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:176)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:110)


One solution didn't load completely and gave this message in the console:
Code: Select all
Error occured informing client plugin udp, error: java.lang.NullPointerException

After opening the solution again from the menu,
it did load completely, but the message remains in the console.
Karel Broer
ServoyCamp - http://www.servoycamp.com
User avatar
Karel Broer
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Doetinchem

Postby Jan Blok » Wed May 03, 2006 4:50 pm

you seem to have an invalid url in the dataprovider on the media field.
not sure if there is more to explain as seen in the exception.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby antonio » Thu May 04, 2006 5:08 am

Since loading 2.2.5 developer this morning, I can't see the list of databases/tables in the left panel of the Define Dataproviders window. It just says "Loading..." with a little page icon.

I can see the columns, calcs and aggregations for the current form's table just fine on the right. There's no adverse effect on the solution, it seems to work fine.

I am on a WIN XP box and using iAnywhere 9.0.1.

Is this something to do with 2.2.5, the way I've upgraded or should I be looking at something else in my own setup.
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2021.03
antonio
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Postby Jan Aleman » Thu May 04, 2006 6:19 am

antonio wrote:Since loading 2.2.5 developer this morning, I can't see the list of databases/tables in the left panel of the Define Dataproviders window. It just says "Loading..." with a little page icon.

I can see the columns, calcs and aggregations for the current form's table just fine on the right. There's no adverse effect on the solution, it seems to work fine.

I am on a WIN XP box and using iAnywhere 9.0.1.

Is this something to do with 2.2.5, the way I've upgraded or should I be looking at something else in my own setup.

Are you sure that all your databases are online? You can get the "Loading ..." for quite a while if for one of your database connections is offline.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby antonio » Thu May 04, 2006 6:30 am

Hi Jan,

Yes, I am sure - they are all on the local machine, I can open them all in Developer, edit data, add columns.

I left the Define Dataproviders window open for more than an hour and it still looks like this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by antonio on Thu May 04, 2006 6:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2021.03
antonio
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Postby Jan Aleman » Thu May 04, 2006 6:35 am

Are ALL your database connections to a local iAnywhere? Are you really really sure about that?
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby antonio » Thu May 04, 2006 7:04 am

YEs, I've checked them.

Here's what I did to upgrade.
First time, I followed the directions abonve, (renaming the Servoy folder etc and doing a clean install, then copying over the database folder etc). This was unsuccessful - launching 2.2.5 gave an error - couldn't open the repository. So I deleted the new install, renamed the Servoy 2.2.4 folder back to 'Servoy'. This time I made a copy of the folder (rather than renaming), then launched and updated the original Servoy 2.2.4 via the Manual update option within Servoy. This worked fine, and as you can see from the screen shot, all the DBs appear to be online. If I open Define Dataproviders from forms referencing each of these DBs in turn, I can see that they are there.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2021.03
antonio
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Postby Jan Aleman » Thu May 04, 2006 7:08 am

antonio wrote:YEs, I've checked them.

Here's what I did to upgrade.
First time, I followed the directions abonve, (renaming the Servoy folder etc and doing a clean install, then copying over the database folder etc). This was unsuccessful - launching 2.2.5 gave an error - couldn't open the repository.


Are you sure you stopped iAnywhere before doing this? Sounds like you copied open files.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby antonio » Thu May 04, 2006 7:17 am

Are you sure you stopped iAnywhere before doing this? Sounds like you copied open files.


I'm 99% sure that I did this the forst time, though I take your point, it's a good explanation for the observed problem.

On the second go I closed Servoy, clicked exit on the SQL trayicon to shut down IAnywhere server. Then I rebooted. Then I made a copy of the Servoy folder as a backup, but did the manual update to 2.2.5 within Servoy, on the original 2.2.4 (not the copy)

I mentioned, I have not changed to iAnywhere 9.0.2, still with 9.0.1
Tony
Servoy 8 - 2021.03
antonio
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 2:14 am
Location: Australia

Next

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests