frustration over date handling

Questions and answers on designing your Servoy solutions, database modelling and other 'how do I do this' that don't fit in any of the other categories

frustration over date handling

Postby DFehrenbach » Tue Apr 06, 2004 4:58 pm

I have been using Servoy now for about 3 months and I feel I am still "in the dark" with regard to date handling issues. I have poured over the Developer and Advanced Filemaker documentation on the subject and end up even more frustrated because the information is scattered and the examples I find are less than complete.
I guess what I am looking for are fundamentals of how to represent dates and a "best practices" form of advice on how date and time issues should be handled, how to use and format calculated dates, when to use JS Lib Date routines and when to use utils date routines, when dates "need" to be formatted as text and when they need to be in DATETIME format.
If someone has a bit of spare time (yeah! right! :lol: ) could they please tell me how they handle such issues? I would be most appreciative.
DFehrenbach

Postby bcusick » Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:17 am

Where are you confused? What better examples can we provide?

Here's some guidelines that I use (personally - I'm sure there are better ways - but this is what I do):

1) REMEMBER - "dates" in SQL are dates AND TIMES - and not separate (although if you use a backend database manager - you can set the default datatype of datetime to date [only]). This means that when you search for a single date - you must include the TIME increment or use the "#" before your query.

Example: searching for today's date in a column called "order_date":

//this populates the variable today with the current date AND TIME:
var today = new Date()

controller.find()

//we just want to search the DATE - so strip off the "time"
order_date = "#" + utilities.formatDate(today, 'M/d/YYYY') + "|M/d/YYYY"

controller.search()