Page 1 of 1

IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution? RESOLVED

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:46 pm
by joe26
IOS seems to be the bottleneck on code with 7.x servoy. I realize it just wasnted designed for it, but IOS appears to be locked down.

Are there working solutions for the Ipad or Iphone?

Thanks!
--Joe.

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:44 pm
by swingman
Hi Joe,

You are right the Servoy Smart Client does not run on iOS. From Servoy 8.0 you can use the NG-Client.

The code-base can stay largely the same, in my case about 5% of the code will need changing.
The big gotcha is that you have to create new CSS style-sheets for your app. Don't get put off if your app looks odd at first, once you have built a new style sheet the NG app will look nicer than the corresponding Smart-Client app.

If you want an app to work well on iPhone you will need to rebuild layouts to make them responsive.

Hope this helps,

Christian

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:13 pm
by joe26
Thanks, Christian!

I was using the web client for the mobile platform, and IOS is unresponsive to most of my efforts. It also appears that there may be a Cross Domain issue going on, even between the client and server when using https. I can get the a ipad mini to show me a javascript alert message, but over https, it remains silent. The addition of a CORS compliant header hasn't been tested yet, and currently installing 8.2.3 and we'll see how that goes.

It does help to know that it works on IOS.

Thanks again!
--Joe.

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2018 11:34 pm
by joe26
IOS does not maintain focus, unless you never leave the Entry Field.

I only needed one field; but to make it work, I needed two fields.

Both fields shared the same function with different local variables as dataproviders.

When input has been processed, reset the OTHER destination field for focus, and then switch focus there.

The next time, it will use the other field's focus and maintains the onscreen keyboard. I'm hoping this doesn't break in 8.2.3.

if (event.getElementName() == 'genericin'){
forms['main_view'].genericInput2 = '';
forms[main_view'].elements['genericin2'].requestFocus();
} else {
forms['main_view'].genericInput = '';
forms['main_view'].elements['genericin'].requestFocus();
}

Not so ugly, but there it is.

--Joe.