Restrict write access to one method

Questions, tips and tricks and techniques for scripting in Servoy

Restrict write access to one method

Postby BulldogBen » Sat Jul 03, 2010 12:45 am

I'm writing an accounting module for our solution, using the great advice from here: http://homepages.tcp.co.uk/~m-wigley/gc_wp_ded.html

I want to be sure that my PostEntry() module is the ONLY module in the whole solution that has write access to my posting table. Further to this, I would like to ensure that only my EnterJournal() method can call my PostEntry(), and no others.

Apart from remembering not to write any other functions that try and write to this table, is there any other way to restrict write access to this table to just this one method? I'm new to OO programming, is this something to do with inheritance, exposure, etc?

Thanks in advance
Last edited by BulldogBen on Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
27" iMac, MacOS 10.6.4
Servoy 5.2 / SQL Anywhere 11
Java 1.6.0_20
BulldogBen

Re: Restrict write access to one method

Postby BulldogBen » Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:36 am

Either I've asked a really good, or a really stupid question - judging by the lack of response!
27" iMac, MacOS 10.6.4
Java 1.6.0_20
BulldogBen

Postby ptalbot » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:44 am

BulldogBen wrote:Either I've asked a really good, or a really stupid question - judging by the lack of response!

Most probably no one has ever had this kind of requirements, which would only be possible with quite a lot of programming.

One route that I can think of would be to use table events (onRecordInsert, onRecordUpdate, onRecordDelete), where you will have to set a parameter (a global variable for example) stating which method is asking the permission to act on that table, and perform the action or deny it depending on that parameter.

But usually, security is build on roles (groups) and the kind of user logged in, not really the kind of method he is using.
Patrick Talbot