SVN and Servoy Repository

Questions and answers regarding the use of eclipse environment as seen in Servoy Developer

SVN and Servoy Repository

Postby Foobrother » Wed May 06, 2009 4:24 pm

Hi everybody,

I'm totally new with SVN. I have read several topics and tutorials and apparently using an SVN server provides much more useful options. So I have setup ViusalSVN on a development server and tried it with a solution. It works perfectly.

But I have few questions:
- Is it possible to use VisualSVN (or another SVN server) with Servoy repository (from a server as well) and does it automatically updates the solution in use on this last server?
- If you use Servoy repository without SVN server what is the impact on the solution in use on the server?
- Where are stored the files checked in the SVN server? I can see the structure in VisualSVN but I don't find the files in the repository directory. Does it record only changes and not the full files?

Cheers.
Current configuration: Servoy 5.2.6 Build 1011, Java 6u24, PostgreSQL 8.3, Windows Server 2003

Servoy / Java Developer
http://www.assetguardian.com
Foobrother

Re: SVN and Servoy Repository

Postby ROCLASI » Thu May 07, 2009 11:42 am

Hi Foobrother,
Foobrother wrote:- Is it possible to use VisualSVN (or another SVN server) with Servoy repository (from a server as well) and does it automatically updates the solution in use on this last server?

When you checkout a solution from any teamserver Eclipse (and thus Servoy) will keep track of where you got it. So when you commit changes back it will connect to the same teamserver again.
However when you use Servoy Server as a teamserver and you use the same server for deployment (clients connect to it) then you have to restart the Servoy Server to make the clients see the changes.
In general it's a bad idea to work directly on the production server.

Foobrother wrote:- If you use Servoy repository without SVN server what is the impact on the solution in use on the server?