Debugger step over (different documentation)

Questions and answers regarding the use of eclipse environment as seen in Servoy Developer

Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:41 am

this i found in the Servoy developer Help (Java development user guide > Reference > Views > Debug View )
that would be nice if it works like this!
Prtscrn_01.jpg
Prtscrn_01.jpg (93.7 KiB) Viewed 12677 times



this is in the wicki 5.2 (http://wiki.servoy.com/display/SERV5/De ... w+controls)
thats the pity way it works in my developer environment:
Prtscrn_02.jpg
Prtscrn_02.jpg (73.44 KiB) Viewed 12677 times


Ist this a question of how to set the preferences, or is it just a mistake in the documentation ?
Thanke you for a clarifying
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby pbakker » Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:12 pm

Somehow some old pages were incorrectly available in th4e 5.0 documentation, we removed them now.

What exactly is the behavior you are talking about? The Step Over or the Step Return?

Paul
pbakker
 
Posts: 2822
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:04 pm

pbakker wrote:What exactly is the behavior you are talking about? The Step Over or the Step Return?
Paul


Sorry I was not clear:
The Step Over would be very nice (because I miss the Set Next Step ), to jump over statments
wich are troublemakers.

The reality now is, that the debugger ignores the following breakpoint in case of Step Over . This is
not very necessary, because I can turn off the breakpoints with a doubleclick anyway.
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby jcompagner » Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:44 pm

for me it doesnt ignore..
Code: Select all
function a()
{
   var z = 10;
   var x = b(10);
   application.output(x);
}

/**
* @properties={typeid:24,uuid:"8C2A1DC0-B3E1-4B23-9FEA-7FAA23D09F4B"}
*/
function b(y)
{
   application.output(y)
   return y+10;
}


if i place a breakpoint at the first line of both methods
and i start in 'a' and then constantly do step over, it will break in b.

set next step is possible, at least you can select a line below the current one and do CTRL-R (run to line)
(that will also break on exception that it encounters in between)
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8829
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:06 am

jcompagner wrote:if i place a breakpoint at the first line of both methods
and i start in 'a' and then constantly do step over, it will break in b.

Yes it's true. So no one of the dokumentation printscreens are true.

- does not step over the higlighted line, but execute it (screen 1).
- does not "not suspend", but execute it (screen 2).

it seems to make no difference if I "step into" or "step over"

jcompagner wrote:set next step is possible, at least you can select a line below the current one and do CTRL-R (run to line)

"run to a line" ist not same as "set next step"

"set next step" means for me: select any line below, then execute it with the "step into"/F5 , without
having executed the lines between.
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:33 am

stefanoni wrote:
it seems to make no difference if I "step into" or "step over"


step over will step over a call, only if you have a breakpoint in it it will break there.
Step into will really always step into the method no matter what if there is a breakpoint (because you are constantly "breaking")

stefanoni wrote:"run to a line" ist not same as "set next step"

"set next step" means for me: select any line below, then execute it with the "step into"/F5 , without
having executed the lines between.


Thats currently impossible. (i also cant do that in java)

Would be quite weird, because the code flow would be totally different, because you could have a completely different stack of variables when you just jump over stuff.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8829
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:47 pm

Would be quite weird, because the code flow would be totally different, because you could have a completely different stack of variables when you just jump over stuff.

I do this weird things everyday with the VFP and it helps me a lot.... :oops:

But I am quit happy til now with Servoy, an working on releasing old habits.

Thanke you for all your answers
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:38 pm

can i ask why do you do that everyday?
just really jumping over code lines so that those are not executed?
I personally wouldnt even know when i would use that in debug. Because your whole debug session is that just invalid because what you debug is never what clients would get...
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8829
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:02 pm

How comfortable to repeat the last 20 codelines again with manual changed variable values, or use the return(true) insted of return(false), or continue the path of an else insted of an if, or break the actual function by using the next available return and so on.

I dont want to run the code like the users usual do, but check out, with different cases, where are the problems and try to understand the wy my code runs in case of an error.
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby jcompagner » Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:48 pm

but now you are describing something else
Thats drop to frame in java (in eclipse) where you go backward in your code so that you can execute it again.
That i get, But getting forward skipping really code thats is between the current line and the next, that i never have heard of.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8829
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:13 am

jcompagner wrote:but now you are describing something else


Now, its exactly this what i use everyday in Foxpro:
i can jump to any codeline at any time, just by set the cursor to the wished codeline, then press the button SET NEXT STEP.
Only if i want to jump into an other function i need to SET NEXT STEP to any of return of the actual function and execute it.

regards
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby wOOdy » Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:31 pm

Even though this reply is coming a little bit late, but I just want to clarify for the readers:

Even in FoxPro it is NOT possible to jump over some lines of code without executing. That relevant option in the VFP debugger means: If you are in STEP ON mode (i.e. you press F8 repeatedly to go from one line to the next), then that "Jump over" (with F6) just runs the code to that designated location without breaking at every line. It does not mean that this code would not get executed, it's just that the debugger temporarily doesn't stop on each line.
I agree with JCompagner that this would be really a freaking possibility. FoxPro is surely different, but not that strange ;)

wOOdy
wOOdy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:53 pm

wOOdy wrote:Even in FoxPro it is NOT possible to jump over some lines of code without executing.wOOdy

I tell you it is strange 8)
You just set the cursor where ever you want, then press SET NEXT STATEMENT (see printscreen) and
VFP executes exactly this statement next (withou executing 'ARE YOU SHURE', scroll down the printscreen,
to see, value of cTest is still "Hello Woody").

Prtscrn_01.jpg
Prtscrn_01.jpg (167.88 KiB) Viewed 12319 times


You also can go back, do it again, jump anytime with any return out of the current function and so on...
Last edited by stefanoni on Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby wOOdy » Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:23 pm

Hi Alesandro,

hmmm. you really got me with that one... Bingo! ;) I didn't thought about the "Set next Statement" feature. I just was focussed at the STEP OVER button in the toolbar, since that one was mentioned in the discussion here. Or maybe I just don't debug that much anymore ;)

Ok, FoxPro is really strange ;) and with lots of possibilities which other tools cannot reach (refactoring a prominent marketing splash here)

wOOdy
(feeling very embarrased that you beat me)
With kind regards from Bavaria

wOOdy

Servoy and Visual FoxPro Evangelist
Microsoft "Most Valuable Professional" from 1996 to 2009
"Servoy Valued Professional“ 2011
wOOdy
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Debugger step over (different documentation)

Postby stefanoni » Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:29 am

wOOdy wrote:(feeling very embarrased that you beat me)

yes, and I'm shure it's the first time since times of "compuserve". Between there are times I received and watched thousands
of helpfull answers from you... So lets go on for an other 20 Years... hopefully with servoy
best wishes
Alessandro
Alessandro Stefanoni ---- gigdoodle.ch ---- stefanoni.ch ----
Stefanoni Informatik Gmbh, CH-8200 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
stefanoni
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:17 pm
Location: Switzerland


Return to Eclipse Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests