Foxpro DBF record locking

Questions and answers regarding general SQL and backend databases

Foxpro DBF record locking

Postby TonyK » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:26 pm

Hi,

Apologies if this in the wrong section but I couldn't see a anything for non SQL databases. I'm pretty new to Servoy but am trying to create a web-client to work along side a Foxpro application.
Much of what I'm doing will be reporting but I want users to be able to edit and add records to certain tables. With this in mind, I've tried using the following to lock a record, using the onRecordEditStart event.

Code: Select all
var success = databaseManager.acquireLock(foundset,0,'GrpRec');
if(!success)
{
  plugins.dialogs.showWarningDialog('Alert','Failed to get a lock','OK');
}

I can see the record lock in the Server Administration but my Foxpro app is not and so using the separate interfaces it is possible to edit the same record.
Equally if I lock a record through editing in the Foxpro app, the above snippet still thinks it has successfully locked the record and both users can edit.
That said, if I have a record locked from the Foxpro app, when the onRecordEditStop event triggers the databaseManager.saveData() an error is produced in the console.

Cannot save form data
> com.servoy.j2db.dataprocessing.DataException: Record of 2 in Group has been locked by another process

So I guess I'm going about my record locking the wrong way, can someone advise me please...

Kind regards,

Tony
TonyK

Re: Foxpro DBF record locking

Postby Jan Aleman » Sun Dec 05, 2010 10:47 pm

Servoy relies on the driver/database engine for the actual locking and the HXTT driver does not implement that currently. We are currently researching on implementing it ourselves and hope to release that as soon as we get it to work.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman

Postby nromeou » Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:37 pm

Has this problem been solved? Im having the same issue in a similar situation
nromeou

Postby rgansevles » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:35 am