Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Questions, answers, tips and ideas on Servoy Client

Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby rafig » Fri Jul 24, 2020 6:13 pm

Hi,
I am just trying to set up a new Servoy Application Server for a client, by copying the 'Servoy' folder from current server (on C:) to new PC (C:) [all being done remotely, with an IT company having set up new PC]
I then install the server service (as admin) and it all fires up ok.
Both PC's are running same version of Java (& Windows I think)
Code: Select all
JVM Information
java.vm.name=Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM
java.version=1.7.0_76
java.vm.info=mixed mode
java.vm.vendor=Oracle Corporation

Operating System Information
os.name=Windows 8.1
os.version=6.3
os.arch=amd64


BUT, when a user tries to launch smart client solution using a JNLP URL (& running an older version of Java 7 to stay compatible, with server URL added to security exception list & all plugin 'warnings' that appear when launching being accepted etc.) [& don't blame David Workman who created DataSutra, which is what I am using for 'framework'...]
http://192.168.1.41:8080/servoy-client/__DATASUTRA__.jnlp
when it finally gets to 'opening' the main smart client window for the solution, it appears as a small, grey, 'box'/window that they can't do anything with, maximise, change size, or anything.
I got them to try & clear Java caches and delete the '.servoy' folder in their home directory and try again, but same problem.

If they then go back to the other PC where Servoy is running, it opens correctly and they can log in and use solution without a problem (but they deleted java caches & .servoy folder as well before trying again)
I have vague memories of this issue, but I cannot remember what the 'fix' for it is, or where to find answer here on forums (I tried various searches).

I'm hoping that someone else on here knows exactly what I am talking about and knows the answer, as client was not happy that it's doing this ;-)

Take care, keep safe, have a good weekend
Thanks
Rafi
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
rafig
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby rafig » Wed Jul 29, 2020 6:09 pm

BUMP ^^^
(anyone, please ??)
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
rafig
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby jcompagner » Wed Jul 29, 2020 7:53 pm

Can you run with the Java console at the client? To see if you get anything there?
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8309
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby rafig » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:01 pm

jcompagner wrote:Can you run with the Java console at the client? To see if you get anything there?

Hi Johan, thanks for replying ;-)
I will try & speak to client tomorrow & see if I can set up a remote session on one of their PC's and turn on Java Console...
I will update you
Is there anything special to look for in console??
Thanks

Rafi
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
rafig
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby jcompagner » Wed Jul 29, 2020 8:43 pm

no i was just first wondering what it does say there

you can always try to start the jnlp with ?debug=true at the end of the url.
Then tracing is enabled right from the start.
Johan Compagner
Servoy
User avatar
jcompagner
 
Posts: 8309
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby rafig » Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:01 pm

jcompagner wrote:no i was just first wondering what it does say there

ok, will let you know...
jcompagner wrote:you can always try to start the jnlp with ?debug=true at the end of the url.
Then tracing is enabled right from the start.

Cool, I will try that ;-)
Thanks
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
rafig
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK

Re: Smart Client Window unusable (Servoy 7.4.11)

Postby rafig » Wed Aug 05, 2020 7:29 pm

jcompagner wrote:no i was just first wondering what it does say there

Hi
great suggestion
This showed me that Smart Client was trying to connect to server on port 1100, not 1099 (which along with 8080 was open)
Once we opened that port, it all worked fine.
But then we came across another issue with the PC acting as the server where loads of networking errors kept being generated.
This happened on their Windows server after Microsoft forced some update a few weeks ago, meaning I had to get client to use another PC as Servoy App. Server (SAS)
Thankfully the PC I set up at first after server issue is still working, so we are going to stick with that & I have asked client's IT people to see if they can 'spot the difference' between the Windows setups to work out what exactly it might be that is causing the networking problems with SAS 7.4.11
If I find this out, I will post on forum in case it helps anyone else.
(And just in case, I am going to now look at configuring a Linux box to act as SAS that hopefully won't have same issue... [& happy to get any recommendations of a good Linux distro that can just run SAS 7.4.11, with DB server on another computer]
Thanks
Rafi
Servoy Certified Developer
Image
rafig
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:58 pm
Location: Watford, UK


Return to Servoy Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron