application.showURL problem

Questions, answers, tips and ideas on Servoy Client

application.showURL problem

Postby logicimpresa » Mon Sep 09, 2013 12:30 pm

Hi to all,
I have this problem: in some smart client this function run correctly:

Code: Select all
function openURL(urlWebSite) {
   if (urlWebSite) {
      var url = urlWebSite
      //not empty - check for http
      if (url.indexOf('http://') < 0) url = 'http://' + url
      application.showURL(url, '_blank')
   }
}


In other PC instead of the call is not executed: Application Server does not detect any error, the same JVM.
What could be the problem?

I use Servoy 7.2 on Windows Server, the clients run Windows 7/XP.

Thanks.
Gianluca Zanini
Logic Impresa - Italy
SAN Partner
Best BAP development 2014
Eager Beaver 2013
Servoy Valued Professional 2012
User avatar
logicimpresa
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: Bernate Ticino (MI) - Italy

Re: application.showURL problem

Postby Andrei Costescu » Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:12 pm

When it doesn't work:

  • is the used URL valid?
  • what does the application.showURL(...) method return? True or false?
  • does anything appear in Java Console window (if you enable it from Control panel)?
  • does something appear in the smart client's status bar (something like "URL was copied to clipboard")?
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: application.showURL problem

Postby Adelo Herrero » Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:28 pm

Hello:

If urlWebSite begins by "https://"; url will value "http://https:// ..." Is this correct?

Best regards.
Adelo Herrero
Adelo Herrero
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:24 pm
Location: Requena (Valencia) España

Re: application.showURL problem

Postby Andrei Costescu » Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:32 pm

No. Only one protocol should be part of the URL.
In this case "https://". You could search for existence of "://" instead of "http://" for example.
Andrei Costescu
Servoy
Andrei Costescu
 
Posts: 1018
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:14 pm

Re: application.showURL problem

Postby logicimpresa » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:51 pm

Hello to all,
the problem has been resolved by reformatting the PC.
I just wanted to know what could be the problem.
No errors in Jvm, no errors in console, url's correct, work in webclient but not in smartclient.

Thanks
Gianluca Zanini
Logic Impresa - Italy
SAN Partner
Best BAP development 2014
Eager Beaver 2013
Servoy Valued Professional 2012
User avatar
logicimpresa
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 3:58 pm
Location: Bernate Ticino (MI) - Italy


Return to Servoy Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests