Mac Shortcuts

Questions, answers, tips and ideas on Servoy Client

Mac Shortcuts

Postby dharlow » Wed Oct 08, 2003 6:45 am

With the Mac Menu bar issue seemingly fixed on the Client as of 1.2RC5. How about a fix for the keyboard shortcuts as right now they use the control key rather then the command or Apple key as Mac users expect.

Apple seems to have some documentation on this at

http://developer.apple.com/documentatio ... index.html

under Making User Interface Decisions.

Daniel
dharlow
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 2:04 am
Location: Altadena, CA

Postby Jan Blok » Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:20 pm

Will be changed in next release, thanks for pointing out
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby dharlow » Fri Oct 10, 2003 8:55 am

I was showing off the demo.servory.com sample and noticed this was fixed in that build which is great! One small thing that would make it feel more at home on the Mac like would be to conditionally remove the Exit menu item under the File menu as Apple suggests so it will not show up on the Mac in two places as there is already a Quit menu item (same as Exit) under the Application menu on OS X. The sample thing applies to the Preferences menu item under the Edit menu.

Thanks and it is great to see changes so quick!

Daniel
dharlow
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 2:04 am
Location: Altadena, CA

Postby Jan Blok » Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:30 am

I the release after 1.2 final it will be possible to add menu's with own methods and remove existing menus
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby dharlow » Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:57 am

Jan Blok wrote:I the release after 1.2 final it will be possible to add menu's with own methods and remove existing menus


Menu items I hope under existing Menus? If so this will be quite useful and I can already think of a bunch of things i would use this for.

However I do not think this fully applies to having the duplicated Exit and Preferences menu items as this is also an issue under the developer version of Servoy and you would not want to have to use a method there to remove these each time. (Having the wrong key shortcuts was also an issue with the developer version but I hope the change for the client was also rollback into the developer version.)

Daniel
dharlow
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 2:04 am
Location: Altadena, CA

Postby Ron » Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:47 pm

What I (still) hope is that menus will be fully customizable, like in
Foxpro, 4D, Omnis, Revolution, Filemaker + Dacons plugin, and...
Even button aficionados will like this feature, because they can
make a menubar with only very few (or even without) menu-items.
A few months ago I was told this feature would'nt be implemented, because the lack of demand.
Is this still the case?
Ron
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 12:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Jan Aleman » Fri Oct 10, 2003 4:00 pm

Full customization is planned in the release after 1.2
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby Ron » Fri Oct 10, 2003 5:01 pm

Great! :D
Ron
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 12:30 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby mattman » Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:14 am

jaleman wrote:Full customization is planned in the release after 1.2


You guys are creating the killer app! I hope you all make your millions on this. Response to your market and feature addtions are nothing short of spectacular.
Matt Petrowsky
mattman
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:23 am
Location: Murrieta, CA

Postby Bert » Thu Oct 30, 2003 12:20 pm

Got nothing to add on that :wink:

Keep up the good work...

Thanks,
Bert
Bert de Graaff
ATB Software Servoy Developer manage your business anywhere
User avatar
Bert
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:16 am
Location: Stramproy - NL


Return to Servoy Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest