Unable to Launch Client

Questions, answers, tips and ideas on Servoy Client

Unable to Launch Client

Postby mit » Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:23 pm

I'm running Mac OS X 10.3.9 Server for the server and client (and Mac OS X client for the client). I'm running a solution that works fine in Servoy Developer. I'm running Application Server, and I can access Server admin pages. I can download servoy_client.jnlp, but it aborts with the following:

An error occurred while launching/running the application.

Title: Servoy Client
Vendor: Servoy
Category: Download Error

Unable to load resource: (http://hostname:port/plugins/pdf_output/itext.jar, 1.0)

I'm stumped at the moment.

Ric
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby Jan Aleman » Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:29 pm

Which version of Servoy are you running?
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby mit » Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:58 pm

jaleman wrote:Which version of Servoy are you running?


I'm running R2 2.2.3-build 335
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby IT2Be » Sun Dec 18, 2005 11:56 am

Hmm, looks like you are loading the pdf_output plugin but miss the itext jar in the plugins/pdf_output folder
Unable to load resource: (http://hostname:port/plugins/pdf_output/itext.jar, 1.0)


When you want to use it you need them all. If not just remove all (jar, jnlp and folder) starting with pdf_output...

Hope this helps
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby mit » Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:57 pm

Thanks. Removing three plugins and changing to the standard TCP/IP ports (I was using non-standard RMI and HTTP ports) now has the client working with Servoy Developer running. I can also access the admin pages on Application Server, but I haven't yet gotten standalone Application Server to support the client

Ric
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby Jan Aleman » Sun Dec 18, 2005 7:17 pm

Did you make sure developer was stopped before you started server? The server bit of developer is the same server bit as server so in theory they should behave exactly the same; if however you launched server before quitting developer it might pick up the previous version of your properties file as developer writes that to disk upon existing.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby mit » Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:33 pm

Current status:

Solution runs in Developer.

Solution runs client while Developer is running.

Application server fails to start correctly and won't support client:


    Welcome to Darwin!
    server2:~ user1$ cd /Applications/Servoy
    server2:/Applications/Servoy user1$ ./servoy_server.sh &
    [1] 504
    server2:/Applications/Servoy user1$ Loading servoy.properties from /Applications/Servoy/servoy.properties
    Loading - Done
    Exception in thread "main" org.apache.commons.dbcp.DbcpException: java.sql.SQLException: JZ006: Caught IOException: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
    at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DriverConnectionFactory.createConnection(DriverConnectionFactory.java:85)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.datasource.n.createConnection(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.datasource.r.makeObject(Unknown Source)
    at org.apache.commons.pool.impl.GenericObjectPool.borrowObject(GenericObjectPool.java:816)
    at org.apache.commons.dbcp.PoolingDataSource.getConnection(PoolingDataSource.java:110)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.datasource.i.getConnection(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Server.getConnection(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Server.checkIfTableExistsInDatabase(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Repository.int(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Repository.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Repository.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.persistence.Server.getRepository(Unknown Source)
    at com.servoy.j2db.server.ApplicationServer.main(Unknown Source)
    Caused by: java.sql.SQLException: JZ006: Caught IOException: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.ErrorMessage.raiseError(ErrorMessage.java:487)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.ErrorMessage.raiseErrorCheckDead(ErrorMessage.java:723)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.tds.Tds.handleIOE(Tds.java:3071)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.tds.Tds.login(Tds.java:394)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybConnection.tryLogin(SybConnection.java:218)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybConnection.regularConnect(SybConnection.java:195)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybConnection.<init>(SybConnection.java:174)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybConnection.<init>(SybConnection.java:126)
    at com.sybase.jdbc2.jdbc.SybDriver.connect(SybDriver.java:179)
    at org.apache.commons.dbcp.DriverConnectionFactory.createConnection(DriverConnectionFactory.java:83)
    ... 12 more
    server2:/Applications/Servoy user1$
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby IT2Be » Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:51 pm

Ah, this looks like your database is not up yet.

The application server doesn't start up the database server automatically. Makes sense since Servoy doesn't know 'up front' what database you want to use...

If so, the easies way to test is :
1. start your developer.
2. close your developer.
3. make sure the developer is really 'gone'.
4. start the application server.

Cheers
Marcel J.G. Trapman (IT2BE)
SAN partner - Freelance Java and Servoy
Servoy Components - IT2BE Plug-ins and Beans for Servoy
ServoyForge - Open Source Components for Servoy
User avatar
IT2Be
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 4766
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: Germany

Postby mit » Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:26 am

OK, starting Developer, then quitting, then starting Application Server seems to have worked - I can now run the client with Application Server, while Developer is not running.

But it seems very strange to have to start Developer as part of the initialization process on a deployment server. Is there no way to fully initialize the Application Server without Developer?

Ric
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby Jan Aleman » Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:44 am

Servoy itself is not a database, for ease of use we ship with sybase ASA but this doesn't mean that at deployment time it has to or will be used. Additionally in many cases the database server is ran on a different server than the application server. Our server documentation describes how to make sybase ASA launch at startup by installing it as a service.
Jan Aleman
Servoy
Jan Aleman
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 9:49 pm
Location: Planet Earth

Postby mit » Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:09 pm

jaleman wrote:Servoy itself is not a database, for ease of use we ship with sybase ASA but this doesn't mean that at deployment time it has to or will be used. Additionally in many cases the database server is ran on a different server than the application server. Our server documentation describes how to make sybase ASA launch at startup by installing it as a service.


That's completely understandable, but the database (MySQL) was already up and running - that's not the problem. The exact problem sequence was:

- restart server
- launch MySQL
- launch Servoy Application Server [problems here]
- use Servoy web admin interface [works OK]
- launch client [doesn't run]
- launch Developer (don't bother to open solution)
- launch client [works fine]
- quit Developer
- relaunch Application Server
- relaunch client [works fine]

The problem isn't getting MySQL launched; the problem is getting Application Server (and client) running *after* MySQL is launched.

I hope that's clearer.
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Postby ngervasi » Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:45 pm

mit wrote:The problem isn't getting MySQL launched; the problem is getting Application Server (and client) running *after* MySQL is launched.


Are you sure your Repository is in MySQL and not in Sybase?
If MySQL is up and running and all the DBs you need, Repository INCLUDED, are available you only need to launch Servoy Server by using it's script (servoy_server.sh).
Nicola Gervasi
sintpro.com
SAN Partner
ngervasi
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Arezzo, Italy

Postby mit » Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:15 pm

Are you sure your Repository is in MySQL and not in Sybase?
If MySQL is up and running and all the DBs you need, Repository INCLUDED, are available you only need to launch Servoy Server by using it's script (servoy_server.sh).


Ah, that's it, of course!

Thanks!

Ric
mit
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:13 pm

Re: Unable to Launch Client

Postby eliza81 » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:14 pm

(moderated)
Cheers,
Eliza

Mindfire: India's Only Company to be both Apple Premier & Microsoft Gold certified.
eliza81
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:14 am
Location: Bhubaneswar

Re: Unable to Launch Client

Postby Harjo » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:37 pm

Eliza, I dont understand why you are posting this! (also two times!) :?

this is totally off-topic, and from a post back in 2005!
and the other post is in the section: webclient, also off-topic.
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands


Return to Servoy Client

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests