Don't Seem to get the svySecurityExamlpeSolution in the Docs

Q&A regarding installation and issues getting started with Servoy

Don't Seem to get the svySecurityExamlpeSolution in the Docs

Postby billing » Fri Nov 10, 2023 12:23 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Servoy and was trying to set up the svySecurity module by following the Getting Started guide https://github.com/Servoy/svySecurity/wiki/Getting-Started. But I'm stuck because I can't find the svySecurityExample solution that's supposed to be part of the tutorial. I saw an old post https://forum.servoy.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=23200&p=122246&hilit=svySecurityExample#p122246 asking about it, but there wasn't a clear answer. Is it a sample project that should be downloaded from github or a solution/module added from the Servoy Package Manager?

Thanks,
Abun
billing

Re: Don't Seem to get the svySecurityExamlpeSolution in the

Postby sean » Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:55 am

Hi Abun,

Welcome to Servoy! I think the sample solution that you mentioned was included in an old release (before Servoy had a package manager). You can install the following from the SPM:
- svySecurity: This is the core module, having only API and base forms
- svySecurityUX: This includes a boiler-plate UI, having some template screens for managing users, roles, etc.
- svySecurityConsole: This is a stand-alone application, which allows you to view/manage security on a deployed system (so not built into your app per se)

What kind of application are you building? Are you a software vendor having a multi-tenant setup? Or do your end users need the ability to also add users and assign roles/permissions. If so, then the svySecurity modules will be helpful.

If you have simple security requirements, then you can use the User/Permission editor in Servoy Developer and the built-in security API. That is more simple, but does not have roles, tenants and other more complex features.

I hope this helps.

Sean
Software Engineer
Servoy USA
sean