Page 1 of 1

Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:07 pm
by alasdairs
Dear Forum. Happy New year!! I have recently picked up Servoy, and very keen to learn more .. I have been trying to work on a new project recently and I'm wondering what the best way of setting up git would be in order that I can collaborate with another programmer? We need to be able to sync our Servoy applications as far as the whole project as well as dbi changes. Is that possible? I have been advised that we should use Sourcetree and Unfuddle, but just wanted to check what other people use and what the best practice is..
I tried setting up the files from my servoy workspace manually with git desktop a while ago, but there were a few issues. Is that the way that most people do it when working in teams or is there an easier way?

Thanks!

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:32 pm
by sean
Alasdairs, Welcome to Servoy in 2024!

If you registered recently, you should have received a ServoyCloud account. This includes git hosting and when you sign into Servoy Developer, it will also connect to your project (via a simplified, built-in git client).

However, Servoy works with any repository and git client. If you use another client you can simply choose file > import > general > existing projects into workspace. Select your projects found in your local repo folder.

I hope this helps.

Best,
Sean

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:45 pm
by mboegem
Hi alasdairs,

Happy New year and welcome to the forum!

Servoy and GIT will work nicely together.
By default Servoy will store all its files in the workspace you assigned during install, including DBI files.

GIT is just a versioning control system and it doesn't really matter what GIT provider or client you are using.
If you are not familiar with GIT, I'd just create a free account on GitHub or Bitbucket (not sure about unfuddle having this) and start playing around with some text files.
You can use the GIT client of your choice, this could be Sourcetree (free), but there are many others like GitTower, GitKraken. You could even use command line and not use any client.
Once you know your way around, you can easily start using GIT within Servoy, Eclipse (which Servoy is based on) even has a GIT plugin, so that would be another possibility as a client.

Setup of GIT and Servoy is another step.
Personally I keep my GIT repositories in a central location on my machine.
Then I install Servoy and an empty workspace and import the repository from the central location into my workspace as a reference.
That way Servoy will use the files in the repository.

It's also possible to use your Workspace folder as a GIT repository, but I'll leave that explanation to one of the fellow forum users who is following that practice.

Hope this helps you start exploring

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2024 8:49 pm
by ProRM
Hello, hello and great 2024 for all!

I think there should be a checklist and short video on how to setup git for Servoy, as this is something that most users face and often have problems with.

Best regards,

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:07 pm
by sean
Hi Juan, Happy New Year!

Thanks for your feedback....and did you just volunteer to make a tutorial? ;-)

Seriously though, we'll put it on the list!

Best,
Sean

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2024 10:07 am
by alasdairs
Thank you all!

I wasn't able to figure out how to get servoy cloud up and running, but managed to setup the git repo in a fresh workspace.

I do have one issue though. When pulling from origin after someone has altered database tables or added columns, it doesn't seem to work. I assumed it would, considering that when you import a solution in servoy it updates the database. Is there something I need to do in servoy after pulling from origin to fix this issue?

Thanks,
Alasdair

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2024 10:49 am
by bodnarescu.diana
Hi Alasdair,

After you have your updated dbi files, you need to sync these dbi files with the local database.
You can see how it is done here: https://wiki.servoy.com/display/DOCS/Up ... +DBI+Files, in the section "Syncing DBI Files with the Local Database".

Diana

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2024 11:23 pm
by ProRM
Hi Sean, Happy 2024!

After your super fantastic new tutorial (and video) on git with Servoy, I promise to do one in Spanish.

Best regards,

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2024 9:23 pm
by alk
Hi Juan,

where do I find the video and further information to set up

Github + Sourcetree + Servoy on a existing workspace

Thanks
Ralf

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2024 10:58 am
by robert.edelmann
I didn't see any videos on that subject lately, perhaps this was something intenal because the servoy-cloud integration that integrates better?

So you have an account on github, and want to create a project there, and then upload your project with Sourcetree?

No ServoyCloud or anything?

First step would be to creatre a local repository that you link to the github-project.

Are your modules separate from the workspace, so you don't upload the folder ".metadata" to your repo?

If not, you you should be able to exclude that folder by adding the folder to the .gitignore file in the workspace.

But perhaps you could tell us more on your data.

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2024 3:38 pm
by alk
Hi Robert,
sorry for my late answer.

I guess I found the problem
I dit setup github ( and sourcetree) to use SSH - keys
I think EGIT which asks for name and password does therefor get noch connection
I got the information: Van't connect to any repository - not authorized

I would like to add a picture, but I always get kicked out off the forum software ( writing this message I am logged in)

Thanks and greetings from Berlin to Stuttgart

Ralf

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2024 3:02 pm
by robert.edelmann
Sounds strange, can you check if you have added the correct ssh-keys in Eclipse?

It should look somewhat like this:
CleanShot 2024-10-10 at 14.59.23.png
CleanShot 2024-10-10 at 14.59.23.png (128.55 KiB) Viewed 6104 times