Page 1 of 1

global variables

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:51 pm
by IT2Be
Along the way of developing my solution I clean up things every once and a while.

Now I noticed that it is very easy to delete a global without any issue. But ok, that's my own mistake. I should have paid more attention :D

But, when a global variable is not defined but I try to set it there is no error message.

Also when I try to get the value one gets a null value and outputting it to the debugger with application.output(global.variable) gives the message undefined...

Can we please get an error message if the global variable is not there?

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 2:04 pm
by jcompagner
we can do 2 things.

1> throw an error if you set something in the globalscope that isn't there as a real global..

2> just add it in the globalscope so you can use it further on.


We can't do anything about getting a global that isn't there.
That is just how javascript works.. (returning undefined (null))

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 2:08 pm
by pbakker
Do i understand this correctly: does option 2 give you the option for dynamically create a global variable? Would be a handy option.....

Paul

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 2:08 pm
by IT2Be
If I understand correct something like global.variable = false can throw an error if global.variable it non existing?

If so, I prefer this...

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 2:24 pm
by jcompagner
we discussed this and we prefer also option 2..

so you can say:

globals.XXXX = 'YYYY'

because that is much neater then for example just saying

XXXX = 'YYYY'

and then use XXXX all over the place..

with the globals prefix you know what you doing and is much more structured..