Overriding "Loading" With Spinner - 7.2 Issue?

Discuss all problems you have with Servoy here. It might help to mention the Servoy version and Operating System version you are using

Overriding "Loading" With Spinner - 7.2 Issue?

Postby bobcusick1332964082 » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:26 pm

After setting the servoy.webclient.blockinputonrequest to FALSE and I run this code:

Code: Select all
var js = 'function centerElem(elem) {\
          var parent = window;\
          elem.css({\
             "background-color": "transparent",\
              "position": "absolute",\
              "top": ((($(parent).height() - elem.outerHeight()) / 2) + $(parent).scrollTop() + "px"),\
              "left": ((($(parent).width() - elem.outerWidth()) / 2) + $(parent).scrollLeft() + "px")\
          });\
      }\
      centerElem($("#indicator"));\
      $("#indicator").html("<img src=\'ajax-loader.gif\' />");'
      plugins.WebClientUtils.executeClientSideJS(js)


I get a nice spinner rather than the word "Loading" (EXCEPT ON DIALOGS - using mod_dialog - but that's a different issue).

(This code is THANKS TO SCOTT BUTLER: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19554)

HOWEVER, when I try to change the WebClient template directory using:

Code: Select all
application.putClientProperty('templates.dir', 'custom');


The styles apply just fine - but then the spinner goes away....

So, my question is - is there something in the CSS that is making the "Loading..." invisible (I'm using Harjo's default CSS as a test - from https://www.servoyforge.net/projects/servoy-default-css/files)...

OR is the "Loading" being suppressed when you change the template directory?
bobcusick1332964082
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Overriding "Loading" With Spinner - 7.2 Issue?

Postby Harjo » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:08 pm

hi Bob, what if you try to set the templates dir first and than fire your js injection-code?
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Overriding "Loading" With Spinner - 7.2 Issue?

Postby bobcusick1332964082 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:08 pm

Yep - I tried that as well. :)

It's still no-go.
bobcusick1332964082
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Overriding "Loading" With Spinner - 7.2 Issue?

Postby david » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:36 am

Need to get familiar with Chrome developer tools and some basic browser debugging techniques if you're going to venture into web client beyond the basics. Find elements, see what css is being applied, where the css is coming from, set breakpoints in code, insert and modify code/markup/css at runtime manually to test things out, etc. Your issue is a very easy one to track down with the right tools. Not so easy to tell you what might be the issue.
David Workman, Kabootit

Image
Everything you need to build great apps with Servoy
User avatar
david
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 4:18 pm
Location: Washington, D.C.


Return to Discuss possible Issues and Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron