TYPE_AHEAD freezes in Web Client

Discuss all problems you have with Servoy here. It might help to mention the Servoy version and Operating System version you are using

TYPE_AHEAD freezes in Web Client

Postby sergei.sheinin » Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:03 am

We have a type_ahead field whose values are retrieved from a database table:

Code: Select all
   var qry = "SELECT srch_text FROM search_texts // LIMIT 100"
   var dataset = databaseManager.getDataSetByQuery(globals.db, qry, null, -1)
   application.setValueListItems('searchTexts', dataset)


The table retrieves approx 40.000 rows. It works in Smart Client but when running in Web Client it freezes the browser with "loading..." message in top right corner. Adding LIMIT <small number> resolves the problem but obviously doesn't fetch all records. I changed increased "-Xmx1024m" to 1gb per a suggestion but it didn't fix the problem.

What is the limit of rows with which TYPE_AHEAD can work? Any workarounds?
Sergei Sheinin
JavaScript, RDBMS
http://js2dx.com
sergei.sheinin
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: TYPE_AHEAD freezes in Web Client

Postby sergei.sheinin » Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:36 pm

bump.


Please shed some light on up to how many records can Servoy type_ahead valuelist support?
Sergei Sheinin
JavaScript, RDBMS
http://js2dx.com
sergei.sheinin
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 3:22 pm

Re: TYPE_AHEAD freezes in Web Client

Postby lwjwillemsen » Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:16 pm

Hi Sergei,

Use a valuelist by global method in which you can control how many records are retrieved in the different
data entry situations (look into : realValue and displayValue). You don't need 40.000 rows in one list I suppose.

Regards,
Lambert Willemsen
Vision Development BV
lwjwillemsen
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: TYPE_AHEAD freezes in Web Client

Postby ROCLASI » Fri Jun 27, 2014 5:19 pm

Hi Sergei,

This value list you want to use on the same column you are doing that query on ?
If so then you don't even have to create a value list other then setting the display type to TYPE_AHEAD.

If the field is not the same as your value list data then you could use a value list based on a global method (see valuelist properties window). This global method will then use SQL to dynamically fill the value list based on the typed information.
For a type ahead it shouldn't matter how much data there is in a table, it will only show the first 400 matching records according to the typed data.
Robert Ivens
SAN Developer / Servoy Valued Professional / Servoy Certified Developer

ROCLASI Software Solutions / JBS Group, Partner
Mastodon: @roclasi
--
ServoyForge - Building Open Source Software.
PostgreSQL - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
ROCLASI
Servoy Expert
 
Posts: 5438
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:49 am
Location: Netherlands/Belgium


Return to Discuss possible Issues and Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron